We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,friendly staff.”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed on 7th october when going to concert,great location in town centre,reasonable rooms and good breakfast perfect for city centre stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGNORM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

the toilet wasnt clean the shower screen was wobbling all over the place it soaked the floor dirty sheets awful breakfast my husband didnt eat a thing noisy hotel the floor boards everywhere creaked all night long bed was gard and uncomfortable i would never go here again !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Me and a friend stayed in this hotel about a month ago and its was fantastic! We decided to go to Manchester for a night out last minute and found this hotel on late rooms. We did not know what to expect of the hotel but we were stunned!
We were lucky enough to stay in a newly renovated room 33 i think it is, they said it was a bridal suite (beautiful room not quite up to a wedding suite standard only due to the poor shower in the bathroom). The room was decorated beautifully and the exposed brick work gave it a real wow factor.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. excellent location!
The only down fall was the bathroom but i would definatly stay again!
I would reccomend to go and give it a try you will be pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: ask for the bridal suite! stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikewalker315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Having booked months before to attend the Party conference I was horrified to read the reviews just hours before I arrived. What do you expect for £58 a night for a double room including breakfast? Well there was a friendly welcome and the room was clean with decent sized towels, The bathroom was small but clean and the bed comfortable, For the price it was a bargain - other hotels in Manchester were charging at least double even for a 3 star hotel. It's great for the shops and I would stay again - yes it is like a boarding house but at least it was friendly

Room Tip: It seems like pot luck but take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper tell them if you can't mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 898Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here once before in a nicer room. Average accomodation - bit noisey due to location.

Good breakfast and staff ok!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

my partner booked this hotel online ,initially it looked good due to the fact it was within walking distance to m e n arena where we were due to go and see peter kay.,
upon arrival we had to negotiate a flight of stairs to get to reception(not good with suitcases)
reception was well presented with polite staff. we were given our key with directions to room(another flight of stairs couple of sets of steps narrow corridors still struggling with suitcases)
THE ROOM! ....
reminded me of a student bedsit!!! the bed was i think a stone slab masquarading as 1!.it was hard and very uncomfortable
BATHROOM!
was so tiny,after using the loo it was a job to ""turn and adjust your attire"" no vetalation and little room to dry yourself properly after a shower.
THE VIEW
was looking straight at the cathederal which in it self was lovely....however throughout the night it is illuminated likea football pitch so even with the (waferthin) curtains drawn the room was illuminated as well poor nights sleep DID NOT wake up happy or refreshed.
would we go there again??? not realy no.

Room Tip: ask to see a couple of rooms 1st then you decide upon it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinnynsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Given its location, this could be the best hotel in Manchester. What a waste. Not particularly cheap and certainly much more than Travelodge which would have been cleaner - something for me to say!! Breakfast was cheap salty bacon, cheap fatty sausages, rubber egg and over cooked beans - all for about £7.50!! - go to Cafe Rouge for breakfast, it's cheaper and better. I had a single room with an en-suite the size of a broom cupboard. Toilet smelt every time it was flushed suggesting broken pipes or 'Muncher' which kept going off in the night. Strip lights on the outside window sill so constant light though thin curtains.
Towels were clean though and duvet clean.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#33 of 120 in Manchester
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#73 of 120 in Manchester
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £23 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing