We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an experience !!!! FAULTY TOWERS”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 26 November 2011

where do you start, Good points: Great location thats it . bad points :QUEAKIEST FLOOR BOARDS I HAVE EVER HEARD, really shabby hotel worse than some cheap blackpool guest houses, quality of refurb is shocking live cables exposed on entrance , wall lights hanging offf in bedroom, chipped mugs for tea making, you can feel the beds springs in the bed. doors dont shut properly,unable to have shower as bracket hanging off wall, tiling in bathroom looks like it has been done by a monkey in a rush, absolutely freezing windows are the very old sash type so drafty as hell,understand these can not be changed but secondary glazing inside should be fitted,very bad value for money £70 per night with no breakfast rip off, did tell staff they were not bothered, room 23 , FAULTY TOWERS

Room Tip: dont bother with hotel full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

Me and my mother came here this month for a short break. The staff are fantastic and couldnt do enough for us from the minute we walked in the door. We had never been in manchester before and we were given lots of info and tips from the staffon where to go and how to get there. We were put in the front room (33) and was in absolute amazement when we walked in the room and seen how beautiful it was and clean and we had a fantastic sleep every night we were there very comfy. The view was a bonus. It is right in the centre and is extremely close to piccadilly station, the men arena and shudhill bus station whish was great, We thought it might be noisy at night where it is situated and we are used to asmall village with little or no noise but to our suprise it wasnt. The breakfast was very good which you pay extra for however they are so accomodating to your needs and we were always told to eat as much as we could. I plan on returning here again for a trip and would recommend it to anyone as it is a very good price especially in the location it is in. Loved every minute of was sad to go

Room Tip: i would reccommend paying the extra money for the en suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

positive: good place to stop for 1 night as right next to everything. Bar open til 5am :) quite nice for a night cap.

negative: loud at night (especially in room 2) dont know if its the fans outside or what but defo take ear plugs. Dont pay the extra £7.50 for breakfast as you dont get much and it is poor quality.

overall: ok but will not stop again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Don't understand the negative reviews as I stayed there with my sister and we had a great time, the location was excellent for shopping, station, theatre and the M.E.N. The staff were very friendly and our room was beautifully decorated and spotless. The breakfast was first class and we could not fault the service. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordshireToasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

If your thinking of booking a room in this hotel, don't bother, it has to be the worst hotel I've stayed in. The room we cleanish but was very shabbily decorated. Now you can excuse this if the staff make your stay pleasant but they don't. We didn't have one smile from the waitress at breakfast (the cost of which was extra) we were just not made to feel welcome. It cost the same if not more than a Premier Inn and a Premier Inn doesn't feel like a 'workers hotel'. I'm a tradesman but when your with your family you want something better than this. Car parking was an extra £16.60 at a nearby NCP car park. Iwill NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Extremely creaky and uneven floors, but it is an old listed building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

It was situated right in manchester town centre. It was in walking distance of the train station. The rooms was lovely decorated and we had no complaints. We had an on-suite that was large and very clean. All staff was lovely and even though it was situated in the centre it was very quiet and we had a lovely sleep.

Room Tip: We went with a few couples and all had rooms in different areas and had different views but we all s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rostron85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed in a single ensuite room for one night. The staff were very courteous and helpful and the location was ideal. The room was basic, the tv didn't work and the room had not been vacummed. However for a quick stop it was adequate and I would consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#34 of 120 in Manchester
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#74 of 120 in Manchester
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#70 of 120 in Manchester
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £23 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing