We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location!”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night at 39 for the night, double ensuite.

I ised to live in a city centre flat in manc and the mitre is a better location. Bang in the centre, short walk to anywhere.
Staff friendly at check in.
Room was as expected, big tv, nice furniture and view of harvey nicks. Bathroom a bittored but not an issue.
Dnt be put of by other reviews, stayed at a lot worse hotels for a lot more.

Will defo stay again !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddyelf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the 21st August for 1 night, rooms are very spacious beds unbelievably comfy!

Location is great you can walk I the arndale in less than 2 minutes!
Only downside to this hotel was not getting much sleep, we booked on a Wednesday thinking it would be quieter than a weekend, however we were woken up numerous times from drunken idiots slamming doors each hour worst of all was a couple decided to pick an
argument virtually outside our room door!
This was obviously not the staffs fault but something to decrease noise disturbance would be great!

Overall a good stay, would stay again but try a different day next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiLouise17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at the mitre on august bank holiday weekend 2013. Although it was fully booked found it quite quiet which was contrary to what I had read in reviews. The rooms do need updating and the decor is quite random looks as though Lawrence Llewellyn Bowen had been given a free hand and gone completely mad!! Nothing seems to match! Beds were far too soft felt like a water bed. Room was not cleaned the whole three days ..cleaners just left fresh towels and tea/coffee outside room. Noone knocked to see if we wanted the beds made etc. Did not have time to query this at reception on departure. Breakfast is superb and great value could not be faulted. Very central hotel and reasonably priced although drinks in the bar are expensive. Would recommend but there are many areas in which improvements could be made.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It fails to suprise me how some people can expect perfection and not pay the earth for it.
just sent excellent weekend at Mitre Hotel in the center of Manchester. Clean, comfortable, City Center and complementary breakfast.What do some people
want...Excellent value and will def. recommend to all my friends and family ☆☆☆☆ well satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed here last weekend, it was a fab location and overall great accommodation, however were considerably noisey. Saying that what do you expect from a city center location. The staff were great, room was clean and comfortable, great value for what I paid, we could defo stay as again but pack my ear plugs

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just arrived back from our stay at the Mitre, it is in a great location, we had a lovely room with en suite with a lovely comfy bed. We had a cooked breakfast which we really enjoyed. All the Staff were really friendly and helpful, next time we go to Manchester we will be booking a room at the Mitre. Thanks x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Good value for price paid. Not all rooms are en suite. It is up some steep stairs so be aware if you can't do stairs. It is a typical old English BnB, but they do provide tea and coffee and shampoo and soap. There is plenty of cheap parking nearby so don't pay the exorbitant rates of the NCP car parks. It is a lovely location and close to the MEN arena. We were offered complimentary breakfast as we stayed a Saturday night- breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#35 of 120 in Manchester
1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#72 of 120 in Manchester
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £26 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing