We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't just go for the cheap option!! Really bad.”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't just go for the cheap option!! Really bad.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Me and my partner decided to book a room here for one night while we went shopping and a night out. I wish we'd of paid the extra and stayed in the Premier Inn... initial thoughts from reading reviews we were excited to visit the Mitre Hotel.

The room:
We were in room 16. The room was okay, pretty standard. There was no phone, we had to keep going downstairs or ringing from mobile phones, there was no bin in the bedroom, there was no hair dryer. I lifted the rug that was in the bedroom, and it looks like it hasn't been hoovered since the building was built in 1815. The floor really creaks.There was also scuff marks on the wall that would come off with a good sponge, the side tables are grubby and could do with new ones. The kettle had water in it and there were marks on the kettle that I managed to scratch off with my nail. The wardrobe had lots of different hangers in and it just looked a mess. The bed was okay, it wasn't quite a double bed it was more of a 3 quarter bed and it was too small for me and my partner, there was a memory foam pillow on the bed and they were really uncomfortable pillows. There was also a lot of dust and buts of carpet missing next to the wardrobe, there was also a iron burn on the carpet....

The bathroom:
Again, it's okay. As soon as we went into the bathroom in room 16, the window was rattling so I ended up having to wedge the complimentary soap in to stop it rattling, we went in the bathroom in the middle of the night and it was unbearably cold! Absolutely freezing!! The shower was terrible. It was only a tap shower as opposed to a power shower. It was either too warm or too cold. After coming out of the shower the wooden bath panel was soaking wet and the floor was soaking wet. We also had to use a towel for a bath mat as we didn't receive one. The bath was dirty and the tiles really need a good clean.

The food & resident bar:
We had breakfast in the morning of our departure and it was O.K. There wasn't any hot food on so we were told to just order what we wanted, which seemed a bit of a waste as with a buffet we like to choose what we want and get more if you wanted. We went to the resident bar before going to bed after a night out and we had a drink to take to our room... Word of advice to everyone... DON'T BUY FROM THERE... it's so over priced. We paid £9 for 2 bottles of Kopperberg. You can get them for £1.75 from a Co-op down the road.

Trip overall:
The staff were okay. We arranged online to get there at 12, so we got a earlier train. We were told upon arrival that we could only check in at 2pm which was a downer as we were tired from traveling. We checked in and went shopping, when we came back at night we struggled getting to sleep because of the noise from other bars outside. (the windows aren't double glazing, so you hear everything) at 5.45am we were woken up by the fire alarm going off, we weren't very happy! We didn't know what happened, it stopped and I went downstairs and the lady just said she'd been around the hotel 3 times and not seen anything... We thought it was a bit rude not to tell us what was going on, we had to find out. We managed to get back to sleep and as soon as breakfast started downstairs we were woken up by the TV that they've got downstairs, with our room being on top of the area where breakfast is we had to listen to the TV and everyone who was downstairs.

Overall it's a great location, we come to Manchester regularly but I don't think we'd come back to this hotel, we understand that's its an old hotel but there is a lot of work to be done. With a lack of sleep it's not the best hotel choice.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    194
    183
    127
    195
See reviews for
81
271
97
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Svendborg, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very pleasent people working at Mitre Hotel and therefore greate service!
The room are as they should be, but at a very low cost!
Mitre Hotel is located very close to train, bus ect.

So I'll be back Mitre Hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I have to agree the Mitre Hotel is in a superb location for shopping, the theatre, the train station and much more. I have also passed your message on to our friendly staff who are always welcoming to all customers and guests.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with some friends on the weekend. Honestly it is great value for money! It's smack bang in the middle of the city and for £64 pounds on a Saturday night it was perfect! The room was clean and had everything we needed! The staff are all really really friendly! They go out of their way to do whatever they can for you. The breakfast in the morning was amazing! All you can eat! All in all, I had a really good time. And would definately go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amymac1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on the Mitre hotel. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be clean and all our staff to be very friendly. We pride ourselves on our staff always being helpful and courteous and will pass the comments to them.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at this very central hotel for one night sept 30 oct1 it is idealy placed next to Harvey nics just across the road from the arndale centra.On arrivel we were met at reception by Debbie who was very helpful and a very nice person.We were given the keys for room 23 which is up a few flights of steps which we found them no problem at all even with a suit case and I am 71 yes the floor boards creeks (what do people expect for a building of its age.The room quiet nice esp for the price we payed everything nice and clean flat screen tv tea coffee making faciltys. Just the odd sighn of damp on the bathroom wall but nothing to worry about.The breakfast was also very good.We also had a meal in the restrant down stairs which was pervect

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Myself and 2 friends stopped here last weekend for 1 night, we were there for the Warehouse Project and for £64 for a triple room was a bargain. For those unsure of the location its directly to the side of Harvey Nics next to the pub.

On entry staff were friendly, rooms were clean and tidy with a modern flat screen ( Room 10 ). Room looked like had a small refurb, bathroom was very basic and could do with a facelift. ONly negatives were quite a bit of noise early morning with bin men and corridor was quite busy next to door so could hear creaking boards and talking.

Overall tho a good stay and would come again for the money, wouldnt have paid much more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedalziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This listed building in a quiet area next to the Cathedral is a little gem, decor, atmosphere, all staff, rooms and food are great. Close to shops and the heart of Manchester, an ideal place to stay in this vibrant city. The only drawback we could find was that, because it is a listed building, they are not able to install a lift, but we were told that next time we book just ask for a room on the same level as reception. Thank you to all the staff, we were made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
201 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Dropped in to eat dinner and had a lovely meal. My husband ate Mint and Lamb pie and totally loved it. I am going to have to find a recipe to make this at home. Service was great and the eating area nice, secluded and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal. At the Mitre we pride ourselves on the lovely food we offer at a very reasonable price. Our Christmas menu is now available for guests and visitors and I am sure you will be just as pleased with this.
Hope you visit us again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Property: Mitre Hotel
Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing