We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The perfect location”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

just came back from an overnight stay with my sister and cousin to this hotel for the Christmas markets. We had a great time in a comfortable warm room right in the heart of the Christmas action. Our room was on a corner of the hotel with three tall windows overviewing Harvey Nichols and one of the markets and a fourth that overviewed the cathedral. Beds were comfy and clean , bathroom with overhead shower, and heating to melt an iceberg ( we all slept on top of the sheets even though it was December) we found the temperature gauge when we were leaving so we could have lowered it. Breakfast was self service with full English available. We enjoyed our short stay but, we wanted to eat at night in the hotel but we couldn't as it was full of none residents and booking tables is not an option. We would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergranWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    196
    187
    131
    203
See reviews for
81
276
99
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked a twin room for 2 nights at the end of November. (room 14) The hotel is easy to find and is the centre of everything. The room was £180 which was ok for a central location......until we saw the room. Trailing sockets, grubby carpets, awful beds and the bathroom...omg......
Cigarette burns in the bath, mould around the bath, the shower lever had fell off. We did take into account this was a old building but 4 hrs work by a handyman would rectify most of the issues.
I did e-mail the hotel on my return but received no reply's. I notice on trip advisor the manager responds to the good comments!!!!! Back to the Premier Inns I think....
On a positive note the staff where great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNicoCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest.

I am very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your recent stay at The Mitre. Whilst relatively new owners to this hotel, we nevertheless strive for excellence and to give our guests the optimum city-centre experience. It would seem that, in your particular case, we have fallen short of those standards and for this please accept our apologies. I also apologise for our delayed response. Hopefully you will understand that positive reviews are much easier to answer, as they require less investigation.

We are at present attempting extensive (though neither intrusive nor disruptive) renovations to aspects of our hotel though, being a listed building, some are more difficult to execute than others. Whilst we realise this will not rectify the issues experienced during your stay we hope these developments, being carried out with minimal effect to our guests, will encourage you to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I can highly recommend the Mitre for a stay in Manchester. Good value for the price and a great location for the City center. The rooms are clean and warm if a little tired but it didn't matter and the staff are great

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

What a great location for this hotel and at a very good price for a location in the centre of Manchester.
We were there at the end of November so this was right in the centre of the Christmas markets - just fantastic.
The hotel has so much character due to the age of the property. There are a lot of stairs so may be unsuitable for anyone with accessibility issues, however, the staff were more than happy to help carry our suitcases up and down the stairs for us.
The staff were very helpful and more than happy to help.
The hotel was full whilst we were there and its in the centre of Manchester but noise for sleeping was not an issue at all.

There is no parking at the hotel but there are lots of loading zones which can be used to drop off cases. But anyone with a car - look at parking options around gravel lane which is a short walk away. We parked for 48 hours for 6GBP - great value

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeH803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

brilliant location, slightly dated but i like that its called "character " had to plug kettle in on the floor but that didnt bother me at all, lovely staff that will do anything for you and if you do use this hotel take the receptionist a galaxy bar of chocolate

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Travel all over the world and have to say this was one of the nicest stays anywhere. The hotel is in a prime location and has a lot of character---give me a hotel with some character and not the bland ones like Hilton etc. They are doing a lot to the hotel but in general the rooms were nice and beds very comfortable and all very clean. very good breakfast and a very good price. The highlight is the staff------what a great bunch of people and so by the end of the 4 days there, we felt we knew them all---great people that make Northern Hospitality so extra special. Will definitely stay there again. Went up with my friend to catch up with family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joegibraltar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the lovely comments you made about the Mitre and especially about our staff. I actually do remember chatting to you on a number of occasions and am delighted that you were happy with your stay.
As you said, you will be here again and we look forward to seeing you then.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

the location was super right in the centre of things The upgrade has now been started but there is a lot to do.
The staff were brilliant - all very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful I would like to come back again when all the work has been done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. As many guests agree, we do have a fabulous location. Yes you are correct about the hotel being upgraded and refurbishments are taking place as we speak. Thank you for the comments about the staff, we do take pride in the work they do to make our guests feel very welcome.
Look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#37 of 118 in Manchester
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 118 in Manchester
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#85 of 118 in Manchester
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Property: Mitre Hotel
Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing