We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #95 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed over just one night for an early job interview next morning, booked this place due to the excellent location near the Cathedral.

Staff were friendly, polite and welcoming, the room was adequate if not a little careworn, but I got a good nights sleep which was the most important thing.

Breakfast was good for a fiver, decent ingredients used and a good amount.

All in all I would stay here again although I can imagine on a Weekend it could be pretty noisy with bars next door and downstairs.

Room Tip: Friday or Saturday go the Cathedral side, any other day doesn't matter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshiresoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Mitre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

A small group of us visited for lunch whilst having a day out in Manchester. We'd visited before and thought it was good food for a reasonable price. This time we weren't as impressed. We had nachos to start which was a very small portion for the price. The main courses were better but the biggest problem is the staff. The guys behind the bar were very helpful but the waitress was rude and did not smile once. The restaurant wasn't busy but the food took a long time to come out. We mentioned this to the manager who did apologise but think there needs to be quite a few improvements before I'd visit again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mrs_Lees_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned home after visiting the mitre with a groupon voucher for two course meal and a drink each. Apart from having to pay extra for a rubbish meal the service was mediocre (although barman tried his best ) . Food took ages to arrive and when it did was cold . No one was interested . I can't comment on rooms as we did not stay overnight, thank The Lord for small mercies. Manchester is a great place to visit just not this hotel.

Room Tip: Can't comment
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

bought this to treat my sister for a little surprise xmas eve, was very dissapointed, i booked earlier on in the week so they knew we were coming, when we arrived we were told no booking had been made, and told to go and speak to the manager, i did he was nice and then a young lad came in and said the kitchen is closed, we were told to order but you could tell they werent happy, i went to the bar and ordered, i asked to order main and dessert together to save time, i shouldnt of bothered as due to 1 guy taking order at the bar then dissappearing we waiting at least 15mins for our drinks and was then told we had gone over the groupon value and had to pay extra??? after a long wait i was unimpressed by this, i know it was xmas eve but we got passed from pillar to post my sister had the fish and chips which looked amazing i ordered a chicken tikka, this was not what i got, it was a rogan josh very spicy (maybe done on purpose) we both had the chocolate brownie with ice cream, only it got served with strawberry icecream when menu said vanilla, we would of stayed for more drinks, but decided to go else where, if using a groupon be carefu,l not always a bargin, better off going to a weatherspoons at least you know what to exspect
very dissappointing

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We decided to take a chance and book a hotel we have never been to before, we rang up in the day to check on place's to park over night but ended up parking at the car park on the left as you come towards the hotel by the river (25 pound over night)..

We arrived with a warm welcome and friendly staff, we got given our keys & went to the room.. The room over looked the Cathedral witch was beautiful to look out off, the room was clean & very welcoming the only thing i would say is that even with the windows open the heating was to hot..

Overall i would recommend this place to anyone!! a couple of seconds walk to the shopping center, food places & a car park & a brilliant atmosphere.. VERY happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

If you ask my children then this is a really fab hotel. They loved the fact it was old and creaky with narrow stairs. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good. We stayed in the family room right at the top with a great view of the Arndale Centre. The room was fine and the beds were comfortable. The carpet had obviously seen some interesting times but generally the room was clean. The shower was a cold trickle - warmer if you flushed the loo..... It wasn't expensive and for the location was worth it. We would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordelia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitre13, Manager at Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I Went on a shopping trip to Manchester,and thought I would treat my husband with a meal. The groupon deal for the Mitre Hotel looked good. The Hotel looked like a lovely old hotel,and I was so looking forward to this treat.
On arrival I thought I had gone to the wrong Hotel,it looked like a cheap cafe inside,with purple side seating and low round tables. We spotted 2 armchairs in a corner with a higher table,and swiftly moved over. The table was better but the chair arms tended to tie you down a little.
On ordering our food at the bar,we were told there was an extra 5.95 to pay as the prices had gone up since the groupon was published. I don't think for one minute that this was legal, indeed it was not fair,but decided not to argue as we were served with quality wine.
We had to wait for 25 minutes for the soup to arrive,but it was delicious when it did. The main meal however took a further 45 minutes to arrive,after 30 minutes we asked how much longer it would be,and was told 10 minutes. We chose the lamb Henry on a bed of mash and green beans,and we were not disappointed, as it was fresh,hot.and delicious.
If you want good food in the city centre you won't be disappointed. But if you want good service or fast service you will be.
Do not go for the plush surroundings either, the ladies toilets had a block of three. One was out of order, one had 2 or 3 unravelled toilet rolls stuffed down, and one had urine in and on the seat and wouldn't flush.
There were children shouting and running around also, all in all quite a disappointment for us. Need to get things on the level with groupon too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 119 in Manchester
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#33 of 119 in Manchester
1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#74 of 119 in Manchester
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#72 of 119 in Manchester
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £25 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing