We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a cheap city centre stay”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I needed somewhere for 1 night so that I had a base to go out with friends from Manchester, at only £29 it is nothing flash but It was clean, safe and served a purpose. Staff very friendly and at nearly 1/3 of the usual city centre price for a room you really can't complain if everything isn't amazing. Would stay again if I needed to visit just for a night

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Charliechops5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Being a historic building I expected the quirks and inconveniences that usually comes with age - it's 200 years old. Expect nooks and crannies and steep stairs and 'electronic' drainage solutions! But all in working order. The basic ensuite accommodation is inline with the value-for-money prices - it cost me £210 for 5 days.The room included kettle, tea and coffee, television in the room, room cleaned, clean towels and linen every day. The staff was professional, friendly, and available 24 hours; really fantastic service. The location couldn't have been better. Right next to the cathedral, Arndale, and slap-bang in the middle of the city. Transport-wise it's 5 minutes from the metrolink, trains and bus interchange, and loads of parking. If you're looking for excellent location for business or pleasure, budget accommodation, and friendly service this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The building itself is beautiful and full of character. Interior is a bit cheap-looking in terms of décor (glittery pillows, mish-mash of styles that don't suit the exterior really). Our room was no.25 - very small, terrible bed, terrible linens/duvet, very basic. Really thin walls. Stains on walls/ceilings. A stain on the bed linens (ew). There was a kettle with tea and mugs, but no milk/UHT milk packets. 'View' was onto tiles of the roof (not the 'view of the Manchester cathedral' we were expecting from the website!).
The toilets/showers were incredibly basic and in some capacity, unfinished. Examples - the drain fitting in shower wasn't attached to the drain itself, so would float around your feet while you had a shower. Electric shower dials didn't work properly so every 30 seconds or so, water would turn freezing again and would have to play with dials to get it back to luke warm. Linoleum floor covering was warped and buckled, leading to puddles of water in bathroom (stayed all night and into next morning....).
Only positive was the staff we interacted with - friendly and helpful. They were brilliant.
Granted, it was a cheap room on LateRooms, but it was originally priced at nearly £90. There is no way I would pay £90 for a night here, would much prefer a clean, basic youth hostel for the money I paid over this. Would not book again.

Room Tip: Room no. 25 is small, has a terrible view, terrible bed, barely functioning shower. Do not stay in R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

3 of us girls stayed here for 1 night we did not know what to expect because of how cheap it was. The central location was amazing everything you could want within a 5 miniute walk. Check in was easy and quick ,staff very friendly. We a had a triple room ,their was 3 good size comfortable beds, a small shower room everything was lovely and clean. Will definitely be staying here again if coming back to Manchester

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nmarie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed one night. OK it is not Grand but it is cheap. Located right by the Cathedral and the Wellington, the oldest pub in Manchester in a pedestrianised area so no noisy traffic. The staff are friendly, the breakfast was good and the room was as good as can be expected at the price I paid. Good value and clean. The bar is nothing much and I did not go there and the food in the bar did not look exciting but there are plenty others bars and eateries in the city.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Cathedral or the Wellington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived at the mitre hotel after booking on line it had a central location which was fantastic or so we thought! We were told late rooms had cancelled our room and they would put us up in another hotel the crown and anchor to say the hotel was disgraceful was an understatement holes in the carpet no toilet (the one that was there had a whole in the roof where workmen could be heard working!) the shower was mouldy the walls had stains on them the bedding was ripped a total disgrace then on the night we were not able to get into the hotel as the keys didn't open the outside door luckierly a young gentleman was also trying to get in and his keys worked sadly this gentleman had also been fobbed off from the mitre too due to a cancelled booking?! I would not recommend anyone to stay at either the mitre or the crown and anchor

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jembo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

One first impressions, this hotel has character, a great location very near shops, clubs and public transport.

The reception area is upstairs and very camp, but very attractive.
The staff were no end of friendly and helpful.

Wifi in the hotel bar but a bad signal in the rooms and the rooms themselves have seen better days. Wilting wallpaper, not great electrics that aren't attached to the wall and a missing slat in the blinds in the bath room so anyone opposite can see you shower. I had two beds and one was definitely more comfortable than the other. But the room was clean and the bed made up nicely. Plenty of space and a good selection of TV channels. A warm room too.

Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank andys624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#75 of 120 in Manchester
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#33 of 120 in Manchester
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#73 of 120 in Manchester
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#71 of 120 in Manchester
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £23 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing