We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central location and cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #88 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Central location and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stopped in one of the twin rooms here with a business colleague. Pretty tidy rooms, downside is they are no en-suite so don't walk out of the room in the night and forget your key. Staff pleasant, and the bar downstairs is very clean. Have stopped a couple of times and if you are looking for a budget hotel, this one fits the bill but offers a higher standard than that of the well known chains!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    191
    175
    118
    178
See reviews for
76
259
91
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

after reading previous reviews we arrived at the hotel with a great deal of trepidation
the area itself is nice and is in a courtyared bordered by three bars which was very busy but not noisy
reception is up a steep flight of stairs, the staff were quite welcoming and as we were early for check in, they looked after our bags whilst we had a wander through town

on checking in, we were given the bridal suite! which is along the corridor from reception
the room was light and airey and overlooked the catheral. the bead was clean and comfortable
the bathroom was dramatically painted black and red which was a bit of a wow moment
overall we had a good stay,though the staff in the office adjacent to the room woke us at 7 having a loud conversation

now this hotel isnt 5 star nor does it pretend to be, it is an old building which could probably do with several grands worth of investment to bring it up to date, but it is what it is and they are obviously trying to make the best of what they have.
If you go thinking that you are going for a stay in a room above a pub rather than a hotel break
then this would put you in the right frame of mind

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tosherinp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Firstly when I booked, the guy on the phone was extremely polite and helpful.
When we arrived the chap on reception, Ben, was again So lovely and helpful ! Excellent customer service !
The hotel is in a great location !!!
The room was so lovely ! Very light and airy , on a very hot day !!!
If you want new go to the travel lodge ! This hotel is full of character and charm, I fell in love with it !!!!
Totally recommend it !! Thank you for a lovely stay !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a last minute decision to go was a Friday night found it very easy to find right in heart of Manchester near all the night life and shopping we had room 32 right at top it is above a bar so yes was noisy from the street hussle and bussle but u can close ya window to quite it a bit we didn't mind that room was large had 2 singles and 1 double wuth an suite the reception very nice bloke was very friendly and helpful even at 3am when ya tipsy lol when u buzz to get in night staff were nice only dissapointment not enough sockets to charge phones no dressing table struggled straightning hair no socket near mirror shower waste of time quicker to run a bath no air con got very hot didn't have the breakfast option but plenty tea and coffee in room floors very uneven part from that I would defo stay again and recommend to others

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I had a short and extremely uncomfortable stay. Our bedroom was smelly, the room was stupidly hot, the bathroom didn't make me feel clean.

The staff were friendly granted and yes it is a cheap hotel... The pictures ake this place look ok but in reality it's quite bad.

Never again will I choose my hotel on price alone... Pay 130 a night and enjoy a lovely hotel.

Regret!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakeord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Valtimo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent location in the Manchester city centre. Magnificent view to the Cathedral from the room window, The staff was really friendly, welcoming and helpful. Beautifully decorated rooms. Sure, the building was old with squeaky floors and whatnot, but that just adds to the charm of the place! The pubs below quited down before midnight so we slept like babies.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the executive suit, and the room was gorgeous. It was beautifully decorated with panoramic view in a great central location and very clean. The pub right out side was open till 11 but took less then an hour to quieten down after closing (we stayed mid week so may open later on weekends). The staff were friendly too. The only down sides was the amount of stairs,there was no where to hang up towels and the shower head was broken and kept slipping down. Other then those issues we had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.4 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#48 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Property: Mitre Hotel
Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing