We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL rooms, fantastic location & second to none customer service! Will 100% recommend to friends and family!”
Review of Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitre Hotel
Ranked #94 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL rooms, fantastic location & second to none customer service! Will 100% recommend to friends and family!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I don't normally go out of my way to write a review but really felt like I needed to do so for The Mitre! Recently stayed there with colleges for a works night out - We all had such an amazing night! The location is perfect, right in the centre of Manchester so perfect for pre-drinks and a place to sleep after a night out. The staff were really lovely, I really felt like we were given personal treatment. Oh and my room! How can I forget to mention my room! It had been recently refurbished and was absolutely LUSH, I wanted to take the bed home with me ha! Will 100% be staying there again with my work mates, we all had a fantastic night. Thanks again to all the staff :)

Room Tip: The recently refurbished rooms are absolutely stunning and the beds are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    197
    188
    133
    209
See reviews for
82
279
100
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for a friends birthday and booked 2 family rooms for the 'girls'! Rooms were basic although plenty of towels, coffee, tea etc and a big tv ! This is an old hotel so steep stairs and creaky floors were a plenty, it did feel like I was sleeping on a hill and the mattress was lumpy, the bathroom was also a little 'tired' and there was a broken window pane in the bedroom.. I have to say the staff really made up for all these little imperfections and I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel on this alone. Our person to goto on reception was named Ben and he made us all feel welcome, explained what we needed to know very well. Thanks Ben! location wise! it's perfect, on the Shambles square right next to Manchester cathedral, beautiful !

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was very quiet although the hotel was busy. Creaky floors and very stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night and had the best time. The staff were the friendliest and most helpful staff I've encountered in a hotel, in particular Ben, who even took a mirror off a wall for me and my 3 friends to use as there was only one provided in our room.

We stayed in room 5 which was ensuite with a double bed and a separate adjoining room with two single beds. It was really clean and the most amazing location being a 2 minute walk from Manchester Victoria train station!

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all who need something central in Manchester!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caramondanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Read so many bad reviews about the mitre but decided to give it a go anyway , 5 mins walk from station , 5 mins from phones4you arena , bedroom & bed was great , massive flat screen TV on wall , could hav used a chair or stool in the bedroom , breakfast in morn was very nice , food In bar was excellent , staff were very polite & courteous , an we best not forget BEN, did us proud at breakfast & looked after our luggage whilst we went shopping , would recommend this to family friends any day . BIG AL & HORNY VONNIE , WIGAN

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I decided to book a hotel before beginning my search for a flat in Manchester, where I am going to be for the next year and a half for my post graduate studies. I thought it would be best to have a nice place to relax and rest and sleep off 18 hours of travel from Seattle.

The Mitre was fantastic. The staff, specifically Ben, was really helpful and accommodating. He was able to answer all my questions about the city and even gave me some pointers for how to look for a living arrangement. Having worked for years in hospitality myself, I have a pretty high standard for good customer service and he--by far--lived up, or even exceeded them.

The room was nicer than I expected for how affordable the stay was, and it's such a well located hotel! It's right in the City Centre. When I first arrived it looked so busy in the attached pub and surrounding areas, really hopping, so I was a bit nervous I wouldn't get a lot of peace. As soon as I got up to my room, though, it was completely cut off from the noise. Perfect. For a person who had never been to Manchester before I could not have been happier with choosing this place for my first night in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starrymela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

1st visit at the Mitre was more than six months ago and when we got the chance to go again on a Living Social deal i didn't hesitate, it's in a fantastic location and the restaurant were quite happy for all 12 of us to book deals and eat together on a sunday afternoon. We were catered for very well, a waiter took our order instead of us all having to go to the bar and order seperate, service good, selection on the menu and food was fantastic.
Thanks again to The Mitre.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at the mitre hotel. Claire was particularly fantastic on reception she deserves a pay rise. Thank you very much, lots of love JB & AA. Ps Callum was okay at giving directions and he also told us where to go for a good night out. Loved it!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#72 of 118 in Manchester
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.5 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
easyHotel Manchester
easyHotel Manchester
#76 of 118 in Manchester
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#36 of 118 in Manchester
1,092 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre Hotel

Property: Mitre Hotel
Address: 1-3 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitre Hotel is one of the oldest and most loved hotels in Manchester city centre.Located on Cathedral Gates, it is perfect for business, families, romantic trysts or nights out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing