We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castlefield Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$216
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$147
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
197
285
144
50
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
285
144
50
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum of science and industrycanal basinsports facilitiesliverpool roadsports hallcity centreleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomsecure car parkswimming poolhealth clubfriendly hotelgood sizebasic hotelthird floorhen partygreat facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The hotel does not truly reflect the images on the website, when we arrived, the general environment appears dated and attention to detail in terms of repairing paintwork, door handles is poor. The towels provided are something from the 70s and are bizarre colours, instead of the nice white towels one expects in hotel accommodation. I visited a number of rooms as we booked 1800 of rooms over two nights and there was a consistent lack of attention to repair. The hotel car parking that was provided as part of the package could not accommodate this pledge and the security on the gates was very rude, expressing it was not his problem, there was no to resolve the issue.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Sorry you were unhappy with the colour of the towels, which I feel is a very subjective issue, and the door handles although I can honestly say that I have never had anyone return to reception unable to access the room because the key (card) did not work.
With regard to the car parking it is shared with the excellent leisure club and, can,at times, mean a short wait is needed until space becomes free- however your comments regarding the attitude portrayed to you have been acted upon and I apologise for this.
Maintenance, as everywhere else is an ongoing issue and your constructive comments will be acted on.
I am sorry you felt unable to make your comments directly as I know reservations were in constant contact with you both before, and during,your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is fine for a short stay in Manchester. It's clean and comfortable and walking distance to train stations and the city centre. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful. It's in a very quiet area (at least it was very quiet while I was there). The help yourself breakfast was good and the leisure facilities looked good although I didn't use them.

Room Tip: Might be disturbed by traffic noise on 1st floor?
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuJuCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time & trouble to comment.
As you say we are in a quiet area but just 400 metres from Deansgate and all that Manchester offers- a canalside oasis within easy walking disatnce of the attractions of the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The rooms were nothing special, but clean and fine for sleeping in. The walls were a little thin - could hear a door slam down the hall at 3am. However, for location and price they were still very good. You also get free access to leisure facilities (if wanted) which would make the room significantly better value for money.

My only criticism was that breakfast is displayed as served 8.30-10.30 but the truth is if you arrive at 10am you only get what's left - after 10.07 on Sunday no more bacon/beans etc. were brought out. If breakfast really was till 10.30 service shouldn't stop sooner.

Room Tip: On what we saw, they're probably all fine.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Thanks for taking the time to comment and apologies regarding breakfast. You are right to expect the items to be replenished right until the end of service, which is available from 08.00 until 10.30 on weekends & public holidays, and 'discussions' have taken place to ensure that this does not happen again.
Glad you enjoyed the location,cleanliness and access to the leisure facilities. Remember the best price available is through the hotel website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We booked this hotel on the the Trip Advisor reviews, thinking it would be a good base in a quiet area of the city.
It overlooked the canal on one side, and had a quiet side street leading to the car park.(parking £9 daily).
We were in room 301 and sadly sleeping there was an endurance test. The room is small, dark and dungeon like, with one small window that couldn't be opened more than about 6 inches.
Bathroom was small but very clean and adequate.
The hotel has a nice big leisure centre and we used the pool, but it was pretty chilly compared with others elsewhere, but no doubt the cost of oil has meant turning it down a few degrees. The car parking had risen a £1 despite still being the lower price on the website, a minor thing but irritating when told at the desk.
There are tables outside the entrance overlooking the canal, but it isn't pleasant to sit and eat with tubs of dead plants surrounding it, a few annuals would certainly make it look better.
The real problems started after dark, the room was unbearably hot and noisy, and the racket from cars/voices etc carried on until well after 4 am, the first night someone threw something at the hotel and smashed a window again waking us up with lots of shouting.
This was a week night too so the weekends may well be much worse.
Breakfast was served in a rather depressing bar, it was cooked to order, lovely staff but the little things such as no fresh juice let it down.
The second night was as bad, shouting and screaming until the early hours, perhaps we were on a bad side of the hotel but we ended up totally worn out from lack of sleep!
I was so disappointed to see through the open doors as we were checking out the other rooms were all at least twice the size of 301, one had THREE windows and all were much lighter than the one we were allocated.
Sadly we won't be returning, the staff couldn't be faulted, really friendly and helpful but the exterior and bar/restaurant could do with some money spent on them and that room of ours given better lighting or turned into a single.
The situation is good for the Science Museum, nice walks along the canal (trips on the boats too) but staying right in the centre of the city has always proved more peaceful than here..I would certainly advise checking which side of the hotel your room is on, the back may be quiet though the train and tram lines are very close that side.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henryhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Thanks for taking the time to add your comments about your stay. Sorry you were unhappy with certain aspects of it.

Room 301 has one wiindow which is circa 120cm by 85cm and , yes, it does hove restrictors to comply with Health & safety legislation. However, 'dungeon like' is harsh- some rooms have more windows and, indeed, the ones overlooking the Castlefield arena have full length windows with a Juliet balcony. None of the rooms are 'twice the size of 301' but, as with all buildings some rooms are larger than others. Notwithstanding that 301 is a twin bedded room with more than adequate circulation space.

Breakfast is served in a light airy room with full length windows overlooking the canal basin and arena. Fruit juice is served from a dispenser to keep the juice chilled but no, it isn't fresh as in freshly squeezed but it is at least as good as, if not better than, most hotels who empty a carton into a jug in the kitchen!

I am sorry about the noisy passers by and have ordered the plants etc for the terrace -but with the capricious weather was cautious not to buy too soon only to have the plants wither in a cold spell.

I am happy that you thought the staff riendly, the cleanliness excellent and the location good- sometimes a city centre location is noisy and depends on your home location as to how much it concerns you although your particular experience seems extreme compared to other guest feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

in general, a good hotel for the price (£55 +£9 parking) good location with plenty nearby, rooms ok..
a must do-go to hiltons bar cloud 23 the are brill and u can see corro set slighty which is just a cross the road from the castlefield!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel and thanks for commenting on your stay and the value for money prices paid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews