We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and fabulous”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #61 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly and fabulous”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

what a great little hotel this is - only 40 or so bedrooms, a friendly staff team and a great location. My partner and I stayed here over a wet and windy Manchester weekend but we will return. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was provided with a smile and a friendly word.Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cockneysparrow186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
CockneySparrow-sorry about the weather but delighted the oasis that is the Castlefield provided a welcoming base for your stay with us.
As you say- great location overlooking the Castlefield Arena and canal basin just 400 metres from Manchester's main thoroughfare- Deansgate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    255
    131
    50
    30
See reviews for
72
245
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night because we were going out to dinner in Manchester and Christmas shopping the next day. We knew it wasn't a swish expensive hotel but it was perfectly fine and good value for money. Very friendly and helpful staff, good sized room, comfy bed, decent bar prices, plenty of breakfast at the buffet in the morning and very secure free car parking. Also residents get 10% discount on food. Very easy walk to city centre shopping and lots of restaurants right on the doorstep.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barbietowers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Barbie Towers, Thanks for commenting and glad you enjoyed your stay, the location, the on site car park, comfy bed,bar prices and range of breakfast dishes along with a very friendly & helpful team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

a last minute booking having been let down by another city center hotel. the staff were very helpful and friendly. Comfy bed and great breakfast . we made use of the swimming pool and gym, it is huge with loads of facilities, sauna steam room etc.. will stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
125snapper.
Delighted we were able to help and that you found the team friendly,the Y club facilities wide ranging and the bed comfy & breakfast 'great'. we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed with a friend at the Castlefield Hotel for a weekend in October. We were well looked after by all the staff, the breakfast was great and the swimming pool and sauna were fantastic. There is a Spa offering a good range of treatments. Located a short walk from the centre of town, the hotel made a great base from which to make the most of Manchester. The canalside location was an added bonus. First class service and definitely recommended for a return trip.

Room Tip: Canalside quieter than roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniethemoocher826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Minnie, Thanks for commenting- delighted you enjoyed your stay- the spa, pool and club and the excellent location overlooking the Castlefield canal basin and Arena. We look forweard to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I am a business traveller, and chose this hotel because the normal hotels i tend to book were full. I booked a superior room, which was actually quite comfortable, albeit small, until while I was lying on the bed watching TV, I saw a bedbug crawling within the bed after biting me on the leg, stomach and arm. When I moved the cover away, I saw the bedbug crawling over the bed and onto the pillow. I caught it in a glass and kept it by the side of the bed, taking photos of it. This was at 10.00pm, so I called reception and asked immediatley for the manager and a young lady came up, saw the bedbug and apologies profusely and told me to speak to the manager the following morning. I was then moved to a basic room at 10.30pm which was very uncomfortable - 2 single beds pushed together as a double. The next morning, I was introduced to the Operations Manager, who told me that its something I should expect and then, after agreeing to refund me the room cost, said, that I could have a preferential rate for a future stay !!!!!!. I was then given a printout from another manager, basically saying that I should expect bedbugs and if I find any, I should change hotels. I have reported this hotel to Manchester City Council's Environmental Health and the press. The whole experience in this hotel was appauling and the hotel failed to resolve the problem in a way which they could of by valuing me as a customer, rather than justifying the reason why bedbugs are present in this hotel.
I did not sleep at all that night in another room and felt itchy all night. I am considering legal action against this hotel. Do not book this hotel unless you want to risk sleeping in a bed with bedbugs and being bitten by them. This is a dirty hotel, lacking general cleanliness standards and clealy employing managers who lack the necessary skills to manage standards and complaints effectively.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are quieter than the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ianwilliams1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Mr. Williams, As was done on the day we apologise again for the problems experienced.
With such issues we understand that emotions can take over and recall of converstaions become confused. No one told you that you should expect bed bugs - you were told that they are an increasing problem within hotels worldwide and given an internet report highlighting this fact ,as you were reluctant to believe us.The report you were given did give some advice on how to react- we did not tell you to find another hotel and, in a genuine attempt to try and restore your faith in the hotel, offerd a rate to attract you back to the hotel and, as a gesture of recompense against your disappointment ,volounteered a full refund -before any request from you.

The room in question was put out of service and our contracted environmental specialists called to treat all areas of the room.The bed has been thrown away and a new one purchased.
What we were trying to point out was two-fold
1) that we were extremely concerned by you discovery and quite prepared to offer a full refund even though the 'bedbug problem, as any internet search will show, was not of our making.
2)the problem is widespread and increasing and, regardless of the brand used, liable to strike anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My friend and I had booked a room online for one night at this Hotel on return from a holiday in Italy. The outside of the Hotel was gloomy looking and littered with cigarette ends. When we got to our room the carpet and surfaces were dirty and there was an electric wire coming out of the wall without a plastic sheath so the live and neutral wires were exposed. We asked to be moved to another room. The lady from reception came up and showed us into a room next door which she said was fine. After she left we saw how dirty this room also was along with a filthy waste bin in the bathroom and hairs in the bathroom sink - not ours! It looked like nothing had been cleaned at all. After showing the same lady from reception the state of the room, we immediately asked for a refund, received it and left to find another hotel. The standard of cleanliness in the two rooms we saw was totally unacceptable and I would suggest that the manager needs to wake up and take a long hard look at the standard of housekeeping that they are expecting visitors to pay for. If the housekeeping standard is so low, what else might be as well?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Debbie P, So sorry you had cause for such comment. After investigation it transpires that the rooms were serviced by a temporary employee and that, obviously, the work and standard of ,were not checked before you were allocated these rooms
I am not looking to use this reason as an excuse- it is down to the hotel and should not have occurred and my response is aimed to shed some light on the matter as to how this lapse in standards occurred.
From the reviews posted you can see that over 76% rate the hotel as 'very good' or 'excellent' and that your experience is the exception.
Nevertheless we did get it wrong and your comments have prompted stringent internal action to prevent any recurrence -Apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I chose the Castlefield Hotel as I was attending a wedding at the Castlefield rooms and wanted to be nearby. It is clean and comfortable with helpful staff-ideal for visits to the Science Museum and easily within walking distance to Manchester city centre. Breakfast had a wide choice available. I would stay at the hotel again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
LindaS,
Thanks for your comments- as you state we are well located for all of Manchester''s attractions. Delighted you enjoyed the wide ranging choice at breakfast, found the team to be friendly & helpful and the hotel clean & comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing