We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Leighton Buzzard Beds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We only stayed overnight at the Castlefield and it served its purpose. It was easy to find had good safe parking and was located ideally for Deansgate, the Arndale and the Bridgewater Hall.
This hotel is a business hotel a couple of days max if you are staying longer you could find better. It look a little tired neads re-decorating and the carpet in our rooms needs replacing, not the hotels fault but their were three burn marks where some idiot had placed a hot iron on the carpet. But overall its clean and the bathroom is well stocked.
Check in was good and the staff all very nice and helpful.
We had room service of burger and chips which was ok it arrived quickly delievered by a very nice lady and the portion was good. Breakfast was a buffet and again filled its purpose but generally the menu was poor, but in Manchester their is a wide choice of restaurants so you don't have to eat their.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canel not great but better than the road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme_barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Graeme,thanks for commenting-
glad you found the on site car park a good facility along with the location, the friendliness of the team, the breakfast buffet and room service .
Apologies about the burn marks-it is one of the disadvantages of providung ironing facilities in the rooms that not all guests are as considerate as others- we will be replacing a rthird of bedroom carpets in late December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    253
    128
    50
    30
See reviews for
70
242
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

had a lovely room with a lovely view (room 311), though they may want to consider dusting the lamps so people like my bf don't get entertainment knocking huge clouds of dust off! The rest of the room was spotless though. Great location, next to the museum of science and industry and its only a short walk into town. The parking was good - onsite for £9 and no time limit on it the following day.
Not sure the shower was working - I certainly couldn't get it to but just had a bath instead.
Food was ok, basic but fine and it was great that hotel residents get 10% discount. Would recommend it to anyone as a place to stop. The staff were lovely and friendly too. All in all a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had three windows which gave fab views - but this makes it cold ( despite a double radiator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsajs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
tots1968,
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the aspect of room 311- sorry about the lampshade-discussions taking place!.
On site parking is a boon in this city centre location and glad the team were friendly and you enjoyed your food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This full-service hotel has everything you could want including a pool, sauna and gym. Our room was quite large and attractive. The bed was comfortable and good quality toiletries were provided. Our room faced the canals behind the hotel affording us a pleasant view. There is a bar and restaurant at the hotel but we did not use them as the menu did not appeal to us. There are several restaurants on Liverpool Road and many more on Deansgate, a few streets away. The hotel's location, just across the street from MOSI (Museum of Science and Industry) is convenient to local free bus . Three different routes stop at all the city's main attractions. While this bus is slow, it is free and is a way of getting to see the city's points of interest. If you are in search of a good meal, be sure to check out Katsouris' deli/restaurant on Deansgate. This place is not fancy but they serve delicious hot and cold food to eat on the premises or take out. Manchester had a victorian flavor. Despite the cold, wet weather it had a certain charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Imarkman- thank you for commenting.
Glad you liked the rooms, Y club and the location and found manchester to be a good destination. as you say the free bus through and around the city is a bonusas is the adjacent MOSI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

what a great little hotel this is - only 40 or so bedrooms, a friendly staff team and a great location. My partner and I stayed here over a wet and windy Manchester weekend but we will return. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was provided with a smile and a friendly word.Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cockneysparrow186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
CockneySparrow-sorry about the weather but delighted the oasis that is the Castlefield provided a welcoming base for your stay with us.
As you say- great location overlooking the Castlefield Arena and canal basin just 400 metres from Manchester's main thoroughfare- Deansgate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night because we were going out to dinner in Manchester and Christmas shopping the next day. We knew it wasn't a swish expensive hotel but it was perfectly fine and good value for money. Very friendly and helpful staff, good sized room, comfy bed, decent bar prices, plenty of breakfast at the buffet in the morning and very secure free car parking. Also residents get 10% discount on food. Very easy walk to city centre shopping and lots of restaurants right on the doorstep.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barbietowers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Barbie Towers, Thanks for commenting and glad you enjoyed your stay, the location, the on site car park, comfy bed,bar prices and range of breakfast dishes along with a very friendly & helpful team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

a last minute booking having been let down by another city center hotel. the staff were very helpful and friendly. Comfy bed and great breakfast . we made use of the swimming pool and gym, it is huge with loads of facilities, sauna steam room etc.. will stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
125snapper.
Delighted we were able to help and that you found the team friendly,the Y club facilities wide ranging and the bed comfy & breakfast 'great'. we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed with a friend at the Castlefield Hotel for a weekend in October. We were well looked after by all the staff, the breakfast was great and the swimming pool and sauna were fantastic. There is a Spa offering a good range of treatments. Located a short walk from the centre of town, the hotel made a great base from which to make the most of Manchester. The canalside location was an added bonus. First class service and definitely recommended for a return trip.

Room Tip: Canalside quieter than roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniethemoocher826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Minnie, Thanks for commenting- delighted you enjoyed your stay- the spa, pool and club and the excellent location overlooking the Castlefield canal basin and Arena. We look forweard to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing