We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed in Castlefield Hotel several years ago, when it truly was good value for money. Sadly it all looks a bit worn and tired now. I stayed in a twin room which looked ok, but the bath room looked rather worse for wear. There was a mouldy smell to it and to my horror the ceiling was covered in mould! The workmanship was apalling with paint drippings, thick smudgy tile grout and a slowly disintegrating bath tap. I also found it quite noisy at night, with traffic passing and thin walls so our neighbours could be heard returning late at night.
However, it wasn't all doom and gloom. The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful, and a big bonus is the on site car park with big iron fencing, an automated gate and CCTV surveilled at recpetion - at a coost of £ 9 per night though.
The location is right in the middle of picturesque Castlefield and a less than 5 mins walk away from all the shops and restaurants of the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the canal rather than the rather noisy Liverpool rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Ria569, Disappointed with your review as the bathroom ceiling issue is poor and action has been taken.Tap centre ( ceramic bit) is cracked but not disentegrating and will be replaced.
Glad you appreciated the on site car park and the friendliness of the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Fantastic location, good quality restaurants nearby and a 5 min walk to Xmas markets. The castle field hotel is ok. It's modern (sort of) but looks a little shabby! We purchased a king room (304) which for us felt more like a basic double room - the bed was the most uncomfortable one we have ever slept in. The springs were sticking in our backs all night. No pillow or mattress protectors! The windows in the room were very drafty and the noise level was quite high at times. We used the fitness facilities and they were good. Be careful when depositing items at reception as it appears not all staff know the procedure, ie some don't offer receipts and you have to ask for them! Breakfast is ok but the layout could do with being reorganised. The tea and coffee machines are in the middle of the buffet and we had to wait for guests to finish getting their drinks before we could put our eggs on the plate ha ha. NO Tomato or brown sauce - now that is bad - spoiled the breakfast for us! Parking is £10 which is ok, but really it should be free for paying guests. We would stay again for location purposes but book a basic room without breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Topycat, thanks for commenting. sorry about the mattress issue- we have now purchased a new one for that room.
Delighted you enjoyed the leisure facilities. Puzzled by buffet breakfast comment re. layout as starters/juices are first display, mains second display and coffee/tea/toast etc on 3rd display- which we feel is logical.
City centre overnight parking at £10.00 is extremely competitive within the area and, only charging guests who park a car is a much fairer way than raising the room rates for all- as many others do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

away stopping at castlefield hotel really looking forward to staying.arrived booked in was out till 9pm.had a really good day.1pm we wondered what was going on millions of people noise cars,we might as well as slept on the pavement.windows not very good we could hear everything finally 5pm it went quite what now road sweepers.so we only had a few hours.we went down for breakfast help your self tables not set out nice we got our breakfast it was cold couldnt eat it just had toast.the young women came over we told her no reply nothing she just took the pots away.we reported to the desk about the bad night and the breakfast cold and that it is not good and how long as it been there abit risky really.she apoligized and refunded our money for breakfast.the windows she said it was getting done.i couldnt understand two gentlemen who go quite often put up with this they said they ask for a back room when they come.this ios not helping other people they should complain.other than that lovely time.

Room Tip: dont take the front rooms on liverpool road and maybe not eat the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Suzy 1995, glad you had a lovely time. sad you found room noisy and brekfast cold- we are in a city centre with double glazing in all rooms- some of which are roadside and some canalside. Thanks for your tip for regular visitors of which there are many.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The Castlefield Hotel is a modern ,basic hotel which is in a great location to explore Manchester .
We were attending a concert at the Manchester Arena and this hotel is ideal,easily within walking distance.
The staff were very friendly and professional and the buffet breakfast on the Sunday morning was excellent.
Very good value for money !

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank timbo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Timbo 1959,delighted you found the team friendly & professional, the location good for the many attractions of Manchester, and the buffet breakfast excellent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2012 for 2 nights. The overall impression is that the castlefield is a basic business trip hotel, clean and comfortable enough without going over the top on any luxuries. The wifi is free and the bar is well stocked and reasonably priced. The menu is fairly basic, but the hotel is located very near to a host of pubs and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was adequate. Used the conference facilities and found them to be a little disappointing as the room was very warm, leading us to open the windows onto a very busy road outside. The real plus point for this hotel are the excellent health club facilities next door, including gym, pool, spa and free weights. I wouldn't stay here again as there are always other places to try.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Rthom5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Rthom,Thanks for commenting and glad you found the hotel clean & comfortable , the bar easonably priced & well stocked and the gym an excellent facility. surprised regarding problem with being too warm in your meeting room as the rooms are air conditioned. Sorry to hear you would not return but understand the sentiment- but, if visiting Manchester again- better the devil you know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Not much to say on this one, average, limited parking, clean enough. Very odd lift that is no good if you want it from parking level! Staff not great, service not great, food not great but to be fair there was nothing wrong with it just all a bit below par. It was fine for one night but I wouldn't want to have been there any longer.

Room Tip: Hotel located on busy road and between two railway lines so don't expect a quiet night in any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

JO C - sorry not all the facilities met with your approval but you found'nothing wrong with it'
Couple of points-
1)the 2 railway lines- the one behind the hotel is actually the tourist train within the MOSI and runs very infrequently ( high days & holidays) during the daytime only.
2) the lift from the Y club level cannot be used to access the hotel as a security precaution. If someone entered the club and took the lift to the bedroom floors there is no check on their validity to be there whereas, with the lift doors adjacent to reception, we can check use of the lift.
It is also used for access for those less able and operated by key kept at the hotel reception.
Thanks for commenting- I trust the above provides some enlightenment on your hasty comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We only stayed overnight at the Castlefield and it served its purpose. It was easy to find had good safe parking and was located ideally for Deansgate, the Arndale and the Bridgewater Hall.
This hotel is a business hotel a couple of days max if you are staying longer you could find better. It look a little tired neads re-decorating and the carpet in our rooms needs replacing, not the hotels fault but their were three burn marks where some idiot had placed a hot iron on the carpet. But overall its clean and the bathroom is well stocked.
Check in was good and the staff all very nice and helpful.
We had room service of burger and chips which was ok it arrived quickly delievered by a very nice lady and the portion was good. Breakfast was a buffet and again filled its purpose but generally the menu was poor, but in Manchester their is a wide choice of restaurants so you don't have to eat their.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canel not great but better than the road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme_barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Graeme,thanks for commenting-
glad you found the on site car park a good facility along with the location, the friendliness of the team, the breakfast buffet and room service .
Apologies about the burn marks-it is one of the disadvantages of providung ironing facilities in the rooms that not all guests are as considerate as others- we will be replacing a rthird of bedroom carpets in late December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#40 of 120 in Manchester
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#65 of 120 in Manchester
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £50 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing