We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasnt happy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #62 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wasnt happy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here for the lesiure facilties Sauna steam room and sports im a light sleeper all i could hear was road traffic i would stay here again if they give me a room on the quite side. The food is good even though i not ate here its good i could do with a jacuzzi the pool is good

Room Tip: If staying here ask for a room in the quite section
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Garth W, Thank you for your review. Next time we would be delighted to offer a room on the canal side of the hotel.
Maybe you could eat with us and add substance to this review. Good luck with the jacuzzi purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    245
    123
    50
    29
See reviews for
68
236
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just got back from spending 5 nights here and defo would go back again.Our room was spacious bright and clean,Staff were all very pleasant polite and friendly.,Breakfast buffet each morning was always well stocked and choices of items varied over the few days.We didn't have enough time to use any of the leisure facilities but it will be on our to do list next time! Hotel is in perfect location for city centre within 10 min walk to Arndale shopping etc.Still cant believe either that you get FREE bus travel in and around the city with buses every 6 min,bliss!!Overall had brilliant wee break and looking forward to doing it again at the Castlefield.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacq026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Jacq026, Thank you for the excellent feedback relating to your 5 night stay her.Delighted you enjoyed the varied breakfast, clean, spacious and bright rooms and the location with the free city centre buses just 200 metres from the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here because of the fantastic location and the price was good; so for those reasons I would stay here again. The staff were very helpful and really friendly too. The management need to check the rooms more often though because mine was dirty: things like drips of other people's shower gel/shampoo dried onto the bath tiles, scum in the glasses and the carpet badly needed a vacuum. Also mould around the taps and tiles in the bathroom. The bed was comfy but the room as a whole was tired and needed a thorough deep clean!

Room Tip: Ask for a clean one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAnais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
London Anais, Apologies for the shortcomings experienced in your room. The problems highlighted have been addressed and 'discussions' held.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed here overnight while on business and was attracted by the positive reviews, central location, relatively inexpensive room rate and added bonus of swimming pool use. I wasn't disappointed. Yes, the rooms are a bit tired but everything worked and was clean. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. I didn't eat here so I can't comment on the standard of food but there's plenty of local bars and restaurants 10minutes walk away in central Manchester. The room rate includes use of the on site gym which includes a weights room, cardio room, squash courts, running track and decent sized pool with good changing facilities. When on business in Manchester I will definately try to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then ask if rooms not facing the main road are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Victoria Y, Thanks for the feedback.Delighted you enjoyed the location and excellent leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I booked a room for an overnight business trip. The room was basic but clean. Lots of MDF! Shower/bath mixer did not work so had to have a shower of sorts whilst bath running at same time!Chef had gone on holiday and not come back so no evening meals!
Bed was OK but why do they insist on those plastic mattress covers - I only take them off! A noisy night as every so often a group of noisy people gathered on the patio laughing and talking loudly (they may well have been hotel staff on a smoke break!)
Breakfast was not much to write about - I was first down at 7 and food was already going cold! All buffet style even the tea.
All in all it was OK but nothing special. At £50 you get what you pay for. The breakfast at £7 was not worth bothering with - plenty of places around where a hot breakfast can be found and the car parking at £10 was a rip off as plenty of street parking at night (I was not aware of).
Location is excellent - so if you want a cheap night without any extras - its fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cockneyjohn504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the supposition that the noisy people on the patio 'may have been staff' .My supposition, based on a deep knowledge of the property is that, more than likely, they weren't.
Your final sentence says it all "Location is excellent - so if you want a cheap night without any extras - its fine."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here for only 1 night with my son who is 14, he was in the pool and sauna, the facilities are amazing, the staff are extremely helpful and all very nice. breakfast was a feast I would definitely stay here again!! WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Jacqueline T, Many thanks for your 'WOW'. Delighted you and your son enjoyed the excellent on site leisure facilities, including the 18 metre pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights to attend the wedding of some friends who live in the centre. The hotel is ideally located for walking into the town centre or using the free bus service. Our room was clean and quiet being on the canal basin side of the building. We booked based on its location and competitive price, but do feel the room was looking a little tired, and could do with a makeover. Also, no air conditioning, so was very very warm! Unfortunately, breakfast was very disappointing, very watery orange juice from the machine, tinned mushrooms and all a little luke warm from the buffet - so much so we gave breakfast a miss on our second nights stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be overlooking the canal basin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tattinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Tattinger, Thanks for commenting and disappointed breakfast did not meet your expectations. I must take issue with the 'tinned mushrooms' comment as we only use fresh.Thanks for mentioning the 'friendly staff'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful corner of the city, only 400 metres from Manchester city centre by foot. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 20 years. Free wifi and free use of our on site gym comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing