We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facilities, tired rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #62 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great facilities, tired rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yeah sure the hotel looks a bit tired, especially the rooms, but the staff are friendly and the facilities are really good. Great pool, sauna, steam room and an extensive gym and weights room, as well as a full size gymnasium and squash courts. Booked through laterooms and at £109 for one night with breakfast it wasn't the cheapest. Our superior room was sparsely furnished, but it was clean and had a nice view of the canal. This is a good place to stay if you have time to take advantage of the pool and other fitness facilities as we did.

Room Tip: Go Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Ethoscon,
Thanks for the feedback and delighted you enjoyed the on site leisure facilities which are free to all hotel residents. Room refurbishment is ongoing and the next tranche is planned for January 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    245
    122
    50
    29
See reviews for
68
236
29
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for my boyfriends birthday was expecting more due to the good reviews?? We are really not fussy and have stayed in numerous hotels..but the rooms here were very shabby for the money we spent! Very dated..lights didn't work...at night was the WORST! inconsiderate guests pumping music to the early hours of the morning..screaming and slamming doors!!!! Felt like I was Ibiza all over again! :-(! we ha a good time in Manchester but would not stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Jodenalex, Thanks for commenting and apologies on behalf of the other, inconsiderate guests.

Had you reported this at the time every effort would have been made to resolve the situation.
Sorry that we did not meet your expectations which, as you state, is unusual when compared to the vast majority of eviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Where to start?
Okay I'm picky, but here is the list.
Rooms are tatty
Can see the botch job in the bathroom after the last refit.
Mould on mastic
Damaged bath side from water leak.
Toilet to close to the wall!
Shower head didn't work correctly.
Water pressure poor
Cap from toiletries from last occupier left in bathroom
Curtains not quite big enough to cover window.
Mattress very thin and uncomfortable
Cable conduit broken
Corridors tatty, carpet not quite clean.
The hotel facilities are good for the money. However, if you are not much of gym user, this is no consolation.
Generally characterless. Barely decent value at the price I paid, certainly not at 'list' price.

So for a business traveller, if you want a characterless hotel and not bothered about a gym, go stay with Lenny at premier inn as the rooms and hotel will be more together.

For the more descerning traveler, there are lots of hotels in Manchester. Honestly, why stay at this one?

I didn't really interact with the staff, so I can't comment on that, although they seemed pleasant at check-in.

Plus points.
It's just opposite the museum of science and industry, which is great. Although sadly not why i am here.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Rob, Thank you for your self confessed 'picky ' comments summed up in your sentence

"The hotel facilities are good for the money. However, if you are not much of gym user, this is no consolation"

Sorry you prefer Lenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The room was tatty with dirty light switches and burn marks on the carpet. The furniture was damaged and the light shades falling off the lights. The evening meal was very substandard, the steak tasted slightly rancid and the chips were burnt.
The breakfast was better and the staff were friendly and helpful. Sadly they did not make up for the overall grubbiness of the hotel, there did not seem to be one carpet which was not stained or burnt.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere until they get their act together and clean up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Beth, Thank you for the feedback. All comments are treated with the respect they deserve and your comments have been brought to the attention of those concerned.Glad you found the team friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for 6 nights, in a canal view room, and cannot recommend the lovely room and the wonderful staff enough. The room was airy, light and quite spacious, and after staying in Hilton hotels up until then during my holiday from Australia, I think that the Castlefield Hotel certainly can hold it's head up high amongst the "posher" hotels. I would certainly give this hotel more than 3 stars based on the room and the staff.

The only downside I could see was that I thought the hot food at breakfast was fairly ordinary, but there was plenty of cereals, yogurts, fruit and toast to compensate.

Location is great, I would not stay anywhere else next time I visit Manchester.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal View Room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronte000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Bronte, glad you enjoyed your 6 nights and found the location and rooms to your satisfaction with the staff also adding to your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Well the location of this hotel is fantastic! Just off deansgate perfect for shopping and nights out! Secure parking also in the centre of manchester was a big plus! The staff were lovely too, i would stay again because of this and value. The downside was the uncomfortable bed and cleanliness of the room was ok but not perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh7789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Leigh, Thanks for commenting and apologies for the uncomfortable bed- it has now been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to the castlefield and hopefully won't be the last. Great location for eating and drinking and close enough to the shops. I do feel the rooms need a bit of TLC though, although not enough to stop me staying here again and using the spa on site which is a big added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for your review Jackie. Glad you like the spa and, with regard to the rooms, we are continually upgrading and improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful corner of the city, only 400 metres from Manchester city centre by foot. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 20 years. Free wifi and free use of our on site gym comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing