We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i would visit over and over :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed for just one night, found it a lovely place to stay and the room was lovely! Breakfast hit the spot the next morning with plenty of selection! All in all a great place to stay, would reccommend to anyone :)

Room Tip: Always get a breakfast included! brilliant value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeniiBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Jeni, Many thanks for commenting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast selection and would return- we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've stayed here a couple times now and had mixed stays. Both were on a Saturday night. The first time I was kept awake all night by the people in the next room. They were drunk and partying all night. The had other friends in the hotel they were in and out of each others rooms; banging on doors till 6 in the morning. Not the hotels fault but the walls are v thin and the layout of some of the rooms doesn't help. The room I was in (same on both occasions) was a little tired and the bed wasn't that great. However the staff I met were friendly and helpful, the hotel is in a great location opposite mosa, 2 minutes from deansgate, , 5 mins mcr central and castlefield. There is a free bus that you can get on that takes you all round the city centre, I used it to get up to Victoria train station. The hotel also has a car park which they charge £10 for using but its secure and worth doing. It also has the use of the pool and gym underneath. Overall a good place to stay if you can get it at the right price and are aware that there could be noise at a weekend. If you want to impress the other half pay a bit extra and stay some where else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daz_ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Daz, Apologies on behalf of the inconsiderate guests being noisier than acceptable. Please ring down to the Night Team and they will take the appropriate action.
As you highlight, the hotel location is excellent as are the on site leisure facilities and the on site parking which, at £10.00 for overnight in central Manchester, is well below the market rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights room only and overall had a reasonable stay; the hotel is within easy walking distance from the city centre and a short metro from Salford Quays, also the parking is useful and the leisure facilities are pretty good, pool and decent sized gym.

The room was reasonable on the whole if tricky to get the right temperature overnight. My main issue with it was that we'd paid extra for a superior room with king sized bed, but this "king sized bed" consisted of two beds pushed together with a king size sheet and duvet. As such, moving near the middle of the bed or rolling over in sleep resulting in me falling into the indent gap between the two mattresses! Not really "superior", I'd have preferred a double. I was planning to raise this issue on check-out but I wasn't asked how my stay was, and wasn't feeling up to an argument.

Also there was some damp on the ceiling in the room, but I understand from management comments that renovation is planned on this.

One final point is that hotel access via car is somewhat more tricky now due to a medium term road closure that of course my satnav system was not aware about, and as a result I, having never been to Manchester before, got in a bit of a knot trying to find my way in through the last few hundred metres to the hotel in an unfamiliar city. The hotel had sent me two emails reminding me of my "confermation" (sic) which mostly appeared to be trying to upsell evening meals etc. It would have been very useful to mention the road closure at some point in these or another communication, as the Hotel website did not mention it at all.

Overall then not a bad base for Manchester visit, but don't spend money on the superior room, I feel a bit cheated afterwards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

MatthewA3,
Thanks for your comments and sorry you were unhappy with the King size bed arrangement. In common with many hotels, to provide flexibility for double or twin rooms we use 'zip & link' beds in some rooms.

Comments about the road closure will be acted upon as will the mis -spelling on the follow up email which does mention extra facilities but is designed to act as an aide memoire for all guests that have reserved rooms at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stopped at this hotel on the 1st of November for 1 night after booking on the internet. They make a big deal of advertising parking but don't make such a big deal of telling you it will cost you £10 overnight and a further £6 if you stop in Manchester and leave your car there the following day. It is obviously a problem as it is the first question they ask at reception before they make out you are the only one with the problem.
Anyway leaving that aside the hotel has a pool but apart from that everything else is a bit poor when you consider there is Permier Inn nearby which isn't much different in price. Rooms very hot and a bit dirty, breakfast was left under heat for too long and staff are not very attentive or customer focussed. I receptionist made out I had room only and even when provided with the paperwork to show I had booked breakfast said 'OK I can add it now for you' I think she missed the point that having alread booked it I didn't expect to have to inform you of the booking I had made as it was made with you and confirmed hence the paperwork. Also told me she would speak to the manager about the car park issue I raised and then didn't bother. Following this the guy on the desk the next day didn't listen to a question I asked about 3 times or couldn't understand it so gave up in the end.
Would I stop there again or recommend? No and not unless I didn't really like you.

Room Tip: If you have to stop there try and get a high room so when it gets too hot you can avoid noise coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Bernard` B,
It seems your stay got off on the wrong foot due to you not having checked on the details of the on site car parking and the charges which are fully displayed on the website.The matter is raised by reception in order that you are fully aware of the situation and details of access and egress are given.
Apologies for the other shortcomings you mention and the fact that the room was too warm on a November night.All matters have been addressed and your constructive comments will be treated with the respect they deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Not a bad hotel, cost fairly low

Bit of a trek to city shops

Didn't have breakfast so can't comment

Room basic but clean

Waited long time for taxi ordered by hotel almost missed my train, but I guess this is not down to hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Ian T,

Apologies for delay in taxi arriving. Surprised to read about trek to shops particularly as we are just 400 metres from Deansgate in an oasis of calm by the Castlefield canal basin. I suppose it depends on which shops you are referring to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yeah sure the hotel looks a bit tired, especially the rooms, but the staff are friendly and the facilities are really good. Great pool, sauna, steam room and an extensive gym and weights room, as well as a full size gymnasium and squash courts. Booked through laterooms and at £109 for one night with breakfast it wasn't the cheapest. Our superior room was sparsely furnished, but it was clean and had a nice view of the canal. This is a good place to stay if you have time to take advantage of the pool and other fitness facilities as we did.

Room Tip: Go Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Ethoscon,
Thanks for the feedback and delighted you enjoyed the on site leisure facilities which are free to all hotel residents. Room refurbishment is ongoing and the next tranche is planned for January 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for my boyfriends birthday was expecting more due to the good reviews?? We are really not fussy and have stayed in numerous hotels..but the rooms here were very shabby for the money we spent! Very dated..lights didn't work...at night was the WORST! inconsiderate guests pumping music to the early hours of the morning..screaming and slamming doors!!!! Felt like I was Ibiza all over again! :-(! we ha a good time in Manchester but would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Jodenalex, Thanks for commenting and apologies on behalf of the other, inconsiderate guests.

Had you reported this at the time every effort would have been made to resolve the situation.
Sorry that we did not meet your expectations which, as you state, is unusual when compared to the vast majority of eviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#38 of 120 in Manchester
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 120 in Manchester
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £47 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing