We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Sarasota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The staff from the front desk, to the bar, to housekeeping were top notch.
The hotel hallways felt like my college dorm. The spa is geared to work outs, not relaxing. I felt like I was showering in the state pen after my swim.
We were directly across the street from the MOSI. My 3 year old loved it! Also, we walked to the art museum and the highly recommended People's Museum.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiestaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Siesta Mike,

Thanks for commenting and glad you enjoyed the location and staff approach.The on site health facilities have a membership profile very much geared to fitness training and use the facility as such. Notwithstanding that ,those preferring a more relaxed approach have the pool, spa, steam and sauna room to relax in and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    253
    128
    50
    30
See reviews for
70
242
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Good value for money in a good city centre location. Deansgate two minutes away.
My room was adequate, clean and tidy. (TV system was hard to get my head around).
The staff were friendly and helpful.
All that's needed.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TurtlesHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Turtles Head,
Thanks for your succinct and accurate feedback. 'Good value for money, well located, clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff.' We are delighted that we are getting things right and will continue to develop all products and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Room was run down, had iron burn marks in carpet, poor shower, rusted and broken bits in room, curtains that don't fit window so light pours in, uncomfortable bed, unhelpful staff, cold breakfast, forced to pay £10 to park overnight on top of a £75 room charge, totally not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sazzlepink85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Sazzlepink,
Sneaky charges-plural- seems to refer to the sole issue of the widely published and readily accessible information about the overnight charge for the on site car parking but I am sure you fell better about the title than you do about your stay.

Apologies for the shortcomings. Your constructive criticism will be taken on board and acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked this hotel as research showed it was close to the Opera House where we were going that that evening to watch 'Singin in the Rain.' It took us approximately five minutes of a gentle stroll from the hotel to the Opera House.
The Hotel staff were very friendly and informative.
We stayed in room 208 which is adjacent to the main road.
The King size bed was very comfortable. The rest of the room was OK with the usual facilities.
The wifi worked in the bedroom. The only reason I mention this is I have stayed in some hotels when you had to go to the lobby to get a descent signal.
The shower was very weak and it caused my partner difficulty when she washed her hair. A problem I don't have being follicely challenged.
The gym looked well equipped although we didn't use it we did use the pool, sauna and steam room. As good as any other I have used.
The reason I have given this hotel three stars is down to the double glazing (i think). Having had a god night out in Manchester we collapsed into the very comfortable bed only to be woken by the sound of voices coming from people passing by on the road below. In the morning I opened the windows and then closed them and the difference to the traffic noise was minimal.
Check-out was very smooth and I mentioned the noise issue and the receptionist said he would make a note of it.
After paying the £10 car park fee for 24hrs we left to make our way home.
Would we stay there again? Not to sure.
If you want breakfast it will cost £7.50 if you pre-book it or £8.50 on the day. We decided not to bother with the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the road side on the second floor if you have trouble getting back to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Tery2, Delighted you found the king size bed comfortable, the team friendly & informative and the wifi doing it's job! The leisure facilities are wide ranging and provide pampering or 'punishment' depending on your choice.
Apologies about the shower pressure and the double glazing. The maintenance team will be checking both shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed for just one night, found it a lovely place to stay and the room was lovely! Breakfast hit the spot the next morning with plenty of selection! All in all a great place to stay, would reccommend to anyone :)

Room Tip: Always get a breakfast included! brilliant value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniiBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Jeni, Many thanks for commenting. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast selection and would return- we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altrincham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I've stayed here a couple times now and had mixed stays. Both were on a Saturday night. The first time I was kept awake all night by the people in the next room. They were drunk and partying all night. The had other friends in the hotel they were in and out of each others rooms; banging on doors till 6 in the morning. Not the hotels fault but the walls are v thin and the layout of some of the rooms doesn't help. The room I was in (same on both occasions) was a little tired and the bed wasn't that great. However the staff I met were friendly and helpful, the hotel is in a great location opposite mosa, 2 minutes from deansgate, , 5 mins mcr central and castlefield. There is a free bus that you can get on that takes you all round the city centre, I used it to get up to Victoria train station. The hotel also has a car park which they charge £10 for using but its secure and worth doing. It also has the use of the pool and gym underneath. Overall a good place to stay if you can get it at the right price and are aware that there could be noise at a weekend. If you want to impress the other half pay a bit extra and stay some where else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daz_ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Daz, Apologies on behalf of the inconsiderate guests being noisier than acceptable. Please ring down to the Night Team and they will take the appropriate action.
As you highlight, the hotel location is excellent as are the on site leisure facilities and the on site parking which, at £10.00 for overnight in central Manchester, is well below the market rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights room only and overall had a reasonable stay; the hotel is within easy walking distance from the city centre and a short metro from Salford Quays, also the parking is useful and the leisure facilities are pretty good, pool and decent sized gym.

The room was reasonable on the whole if tricky to get the right temperature overnight. My main issue with it was that we'd paid extra for a superior room with king sized bed, but this "king sized bed" consisted of two beds pushed together with a king size sheet and duvet. As such, moving near the middle of the bed or rolling over in sleep resulting in me falling into the indent gap between the two mattresses! Not really "superior", I'd have preferred a double. I was planning to raise this issue on check-out but I wasn't asked how my stay was, and wasn't feeling up to an argument.

Also there was some damp on the ceiling in the room, but I understand from management comments that renovation is planned on this.

One final point is that hotel access via car is somewhat more tricky now due to a medium term road closure that of course my satnav system was not aware about, and as a result I, having never been to Manchester before, got in a bit of a knot trying to find my way in through the last few hundred metres to the hotel in an unfamiliar city. The hotel had sent me two emails reminding me of my "confermation" (sic) which mostly appeared to be trying to upsell evening meals etc. It would have been very useful to mention the road closure at some point in these or another communication, as the Hotel website did not mention it at all.

Overall then not a bad base for Manchester visit, but don't spend money on the superior room, I feel a bit cheated afterwards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
MatthewA3,
Thanks for your comments and sorry you were unhappy with the King size bed arrangement. In common with many hotels, to provide flexibility for double or twin rooms we use 'zip & link' beds in some rooms.

Comments about the road closure will be acted upon as will the mis -spelling on the follow up email which does mention extra facilities but is designed to act as an aide memoire for all guests that have reserved rooms at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing