We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sports facilities”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #61 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good sports facilities”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel, good sports facilities. There's a 10m pool, sauna, steam room, gym and sports hall. The other reviews are right, it is a little dated but that wasn't a problem. I had a corner room which meant some road noise but it wasn't too bad. Great restaurants just a few doors along. I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mollymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
MollyMermaid,
Thank you for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay and the excellent, on site, sports facilities.
The pool is, in fact, 18m long and is the largest hotel based pool in Manchester which, along with the facilities mentioned and the free classes, extensive sports hall and indoor running track, means the sports facility has something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    255
    131
    50
    30
See reviews for
72
245
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my boyfriend on Sun 24th November. The room only cost us £50 for a double. It was a nice big room, very clean. The service was amazing everyone was so friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy! It's only about a 15min walk into town, we would have liked to be somewhere closer but we couldn't pass on the deal. We went to the Y Club (the pool and gym attached) it's not really a romantic place but it it's intended for the general public and all the lovely old guys we met. We're not fussy though and it was nice to swim about and chill in the sauna and steam room with the oldies :) only criticisms would be that, as others have said before, the rooms need updating in certain areas, only specific places however, I found the decor very modern. Also we had no idea how to figure out the shower had a bath in the end which was lovely. Lovely stay, would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Marie W, Thanks for your feedback and glad you found the bed comfy, the room very clean and the team friendly & helpful. The leisure club is a member facility and not open to the general public and, yes, there are some characters in there!
Apologies about the shower controls and you will be happy to know that we have acted on this and put a simple diagram above the shower control so all are aware of how the mechanism works. Tlc is continually applied to the rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

when booking this hotel we were quoted 110 euro, when we checked in it was 110 pound and 10 pound for parking. the bed was terrible and no running hot water. thank god it was for only 1 night.
never again

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Mick1167,
We have never quoted prices in Euros, we are still in the Sterling area so am at a loss as to why you would think this.Car parking is shown on booking sites so, again, surprised by your comments.
Sorry to hear you will not be visiting again but, should you change your mind, please contact me directly in order that I can ensure all services and facilities are to your entire satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

we were on the 3rd floor, the room was tired and the full length door/ window next to the bed did not shut / lock so there was a chill and noise from outside. the matress was torn and the room in general needed a bit of tlc.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank arsenaldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Arsenal Deb, Apologies for any disappointment experienced , including the OT result!. Mattress replaced and door repaired. Ongoing TLC being applied. Don't tell anyone but I hope you finish above the other 19 teams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The staff from the front desk, to the bar, to housekeeping were top notch.
The hotel hallways felt like my college dorm. The spa is geared to work outs, not relaxing. I felt like I was showering in the state pen after my swim.
We were directly across the street from the MOSI. My 3 year old loved it! Also, we walked to the art museum and the highly recommended People's Museum.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiestaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Siesta Mike,

Thanks for commenting and glad you enjoyed the location and staff approach.The on site health facilities have a membership profile very much geared to fitness training and use the facility as such. Notwithstanding that ,those preferring a more relaxed approach have the pool, spa, steam and sauna room to relax in and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Good value for money in a good city centre location. Deansgate two minutes away.
My room was adequate, clean and tidy. (TV system was hard to get my head around).
The staff were friendly and helpful.
All that's needed.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TurtlesHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Turtles Head,
Thanks for your succinct and accurate feedback. 'Good value for money, well located, clean and tidy with friendly and helpful staff.' We are delighted that we are getting things right and will continue to develop all products and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Room was run down, had iron burn marks in carpet, poor shower, rusted and broken bits in room, curtains that don't fit window so light pours in, uncomfortable bed, unhelpful staff, cold breakfast, forced to pay £10 to park overnight on top of a £75 room charge, totally not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sazzlepink85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Sazzlepink,
Sneaky charges-plural- seems to refer to the sole issue of the widely published and readily accessible information about the overnight charge for the on site car parking but I am sure you fell better about the title than you do about your stay.

Apologies for the shortcomings. Your constructive criticism will be taken on board and acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing