We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same old story”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #59 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed at the Castlefield Hotel again, may sound boring but I believe "if it ain't broke, don't fix it".
We enjoy this hotel because nothing changes, rooms are good for the price, staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in the right situation for doing what you want.
Had a bit of a problem with the television last time we stayed, nothing serious, but the manager gave us complementary breakfast on this stay as a good will gesture. Now that is customer service.
Still recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good value hotel in Manchester.

Room Tip: It's Manchester, don't expect anywhere to be quiet but this is as good as anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Keyboard Cheshire, Delighted the 'same old story' is a good one!
Our aim is to provide value for money, a warm & friendly welcome and excellent facilities for the price- and I am glad that is what you found again.
We value all comments but do feel that good feedback from returning guests is more objective, meaningful and valuable for all users.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The facilities in the hotel were good and i took advantage of using the pool sauna and steam room. The breakfast was good too, plenty of choice but not kept hot enough for my liking. We booked the executive room. It was ok but nothing i would say special. The bathroom panel could do with replacing. All and all i enjoyed my stay. Not sure if i stay again , the price was £ 80 including breakfast. I chose this hotel because of the secure parking and the Spa. Shame the rooms let this otherwise great hotel down.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nightfever13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Nightfever13, Thanks for commenting & delighted you enjoyed your stay including the on site parking , spa and leisure facilities.This 'great hotel' is continually working on room maintenance and presentation, and your constructive comments are being acted on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel, good sports facilities. There's a 10m pool, sauna, steam room, gym and sports hall. The other reviews are right, it is a little dated but that wasn't a problem. I had a corner room which meant some road noise but it wasn't too bad. Great restaurants just a few doors along. I would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank mollymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

MollyMermaid,
Thank you for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay and the excellent, on site, sports facilities.
The pool is, in fact, 18m long and is the largest hotel based pool in Manchester which, along with the facilities mentioned and the free classes, extensive sports hall and indoor running track, means the sports facility has something for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my boyfriend on Sun 24th November. The room only cost us £50 for a double. It was a nice big room, very clean. The service was amazing everyone was so friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy! It's only about a 15min walk into town, we would have liked to be somewhere closer but we couldn't pass on the deal. We went to the Y Club (the pool and gym attached) it's not really a romantic place but it it's intended for the general public and all the lovely old guys we met. We're not fussy though and it was nice to swim about and chill in the sauna and steam room with the oldies :) only criticisms would be that, as others have said before, the rooms need updating in certain areas, only specific places however, I found the decor very modern. Also we had no idea how to figure out the shower had a bath in the end which was lovely. Lovely stay, would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Marie W, Thanks for your feedback and glad you found the bed comfy, the room very clean and the team friendly & helpful. The leisure club is a member facility and not open to the general public and, yes, there are some characters in there!
Apologies about the shower controls and you will be happy to know that we have acted on this and put a simple diagram above the shower control so all are aware of how the mechanism works. Tlc is continually applied to the rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

when booking this hotel we were quoted 110 euro, when we checked in it was 110 pound and 10 pound for parking. the bed was terrible and no running hot water. thank god it was for only 1 night.
never again

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Mick1167,
We have never quoted prices in Euros, we are still in the Sterling area so am at a loss as to why you would think this.Car parking is shown on booking sites so, again, surprised by your comments.
Sorry to hear you will not be visiting again but, should you change your mind, please contact me directly in order that I can ensure all services and facilities are to your entire satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

we were on the 3rd floor, the room was tired and the full length door/ window next to the bed did not shut / lock so there was a chill and noise from outside. the matress was torn and the room in general needed a bit of tlc.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank arsenaldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Arsenal Deb, Apologies for any disappointment experienced , including the OT result!. Mattress replaced and door repaired. Ongoing TLC being applied. Don't tell anyone but I hope you finish above the other 19 teams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The staff from the front desk, to the bar, to housekeeping were top notch.
The hotel hallways felt like my college dorm. The spa is geared to work outs, not relaxing. I felt like I was showering in the state pen after my swim.
We were directly across the street from the MOSI. My 3 year old loved it! Also, we walked to the art museum and the highly recommended People's Museum.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiestaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Siesta Mike,

Thanks for commenting and glad you enjoyed the location and staff approach.The on site health facilities have a membership profile very much geared to fitness training and use the facility as such. Notwithstanding that ,those preferring a more relaxed approach have the pool, spa, steam and sauna room to relax in and enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#32 of 121 in Manchester
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#29 of 121 in Manchester
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#18 of 121 in Manchester
2,760 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 121 in Manchester
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £50 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing