We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff ,great value,will use again :)”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff ,great value,will use again :)”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My friend and I had an early appointment in Manchester ,so we booked a twin room so to avoid getting caught in traffic.
The room was lovely and bright and had a large double bed and a wide single bed. The room was spotless and the staff were all lovely and very helpful from check in to check out nothing was to much trouble for them and all done with a smile!! A tip some of the bigger hotels could learn.
We will use this hotel again the decor is slightly dated but very clean and well presented and great value for a city hotel. We didnt have breakfast but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2160mill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
2160mill, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. We are delighted you found the team friendly and the room well appointed and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    253
    128
    50
    30
See reviews for
70
242
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The only thing wrong with our hotel room was that there was only two plug sockets...which had the TV and wireless....but we wanted to change both of our phones as well before we left the hotel, also there was the kettle - so at least one more socket would have been great....they were all in the hallway!!
The surroundings were beautiful as there was a camel, a lot of nightlife was also around but not so close you could hear it from the room.
It was great to have access to the heated swimming pool which was amazing and the sauna and steam room as part of our package. Which was a great value at £55. Beds were super comfy, free toiletries were very good. So yes would defiantly go again. 4.5 stars. :) :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank misswaffle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blade4ever, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
MissWaffle123,
Glad, glad, glad that you are happy,happy, happy!

For your information, there is a mini socket tower fixed to the dressing table in each room so that various electronic devices can be charged.

Delighted you enjoyed the canal side location and the proximity to Manchester's nightlife along with the extensive leisure facilities available to all guests and the comfort and appointment of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at the Castlefield Hotel on 30/31st December where we were meeting friends for New Years Eve.

There were a couple of reasons we chose this hotel, one of the reasons was because of their secure car park which was available at an extra cost of £10 per 24 hours which was a good price and the other because of the swimming pool / leisure facilities.

First impressions of the hotel were lovely, the reception / bar area felt very welcoming and the receptionist was lovely, she even recognised my name from when I booked about 6 weeks before which was nice.

Our room overall was very nice, a good size and was clean. The only thing I would say about the room was the windows which were very drafty and I could hear traffic from them and the lighting was quite poor, I had a bit of a nightmare trying to do my makeup before I went out!!

We did not have breakfast as we met our friends out of the hotel and with regards to meals, we didn't eat at the hotel but we saw a couple of meals coming out and they looked lovely.

The hotel was set a little but out of time which was fine. It was within 10 mins walk of Deansgate Locks so we visited these bars on our first night.

Because we stayed on new year eve, the hotel was closing by 12pm on New Year's Day so when we checked in, we were told we had to move our car out from the car park before this time. As we were paying for parking per 24 hours, we had timed out check in with the time we wanted to leave on the following day (because of parking), had we have known this beforehand, we would have travelled up much earlier on the day of arrival.

That set aside, we had a very enjoyable visit to Manchester and the hotel made this more enjoyable. We would stay again when we visit next time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blade4ever, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Sam D, Many thanks for reviewing the hotel.The only 2 occasions we close the car park early are Christmas day & New Year's Day so apologies for the inconvenience.We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and, for your information, we are replacing lights in bedrooms and bathrooms in order to give better lighting levels.
We look forward to welcoming you back- and, hopefully, we will recognise your voice again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for the w/e with a friend as a Jan break and to see a show in Manchester. Great central location for the theatre and shopping. Room was clean and tidy with a slight maintenance issue with the toilet flush and no toilet brush (hotel policy on enquirying?). Went out for the day and returned at 3.30pm and room had not been serviced. Staff were busy doing change over rooms first. But reception staff were great and brought up new supplies of milk and coffee to see us through to housekeeping arriving. Slight smell of chlorine in the corridor and room (307) but soon got used to it. Reception staff, bar staff (especially Graham) and housekeeping were all delightful and very helpful as we were first time visitors to Manchester. Great to have use of the pool and sauna after a busy day shopping. Had dinner on the first night as tight for time on arrival and to get to theatre on time. Basic menu but had the cottage pie and it was delicious and home made. Very filling and great value. Buffet breakfast on the first morning - not hot enough for me but my friend was OK with it. Freshly served to order on our 2nd morning as not many guests staying and was lovely and hot and again served by Graham still smiling considering he was also on duty the night before. Would def use again for location and staff attitude. Had great stay.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from leisure facilities as the smell of chlorine was noticable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blade4ever, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Mary P,
Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay.We are delighted that you found the team to be willing and helpful and that you enjoyed the location & on site leisure facilities.
Sorry about the chlorine smell, this is the first comment we have had re. this matter and I will investigate further.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here over the Christmas period to visit the German markets. The hotel was nice and clean, with everything you would need,The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Great location for the city centre. The health club was also nice and clean with great facilities, the spa treatments looked amazing, although i didnt have time to try any!! Overall, a great hotel. would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blade4ever, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
RuthieT,

Many thanks for your review relating to your December visit. We are delighted you found the hotel, clean, the team friendly and the facilities of the health club so good.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I didn't really want it even give this "place" a one!!!

NO HEALTH CLUB as advertised.
On check in, we were told that the club was closed. This is the only reason we booked this hotel for the price of £130 for a three star accommodation. We were told we were emailed 3 days earlier. Now bearing in mind this was 3 days before NYE ...that is a joke. On checking a copy of the email, it actually said " enjoy our complimentary club etc" in bold, then underneath it said restricted Christmas opening times, with a link to a website. Not a clear message . The duty manager said she wanted to email earlier but told by the manager not to. We were given the optioning of cancelling there and then but at 2pm on NYE there was nothing within our budget available. We're given a free breakfast worth £7.50!!!!

Managers response: "you were told......... You could have cancelled.......The club facilities are not part of the price" ( lol at £130 a night for a 3 star hotel it should be) .... You paid for accommodation only"..... " you never queried the opening times after you were sent the email(doh, that's because it wasn't clear!!!!)

GROTTY ROOMS 1 star quality

Rooms were cold, with a real draught from the balcony door and window. Balcony door was chained up and catches broken off. Bath sides were peeling off. Kick plate was rotted. Toilet too close to wall to sit down. Throughout the carpets were dirty and worn. Paintwork in corridors and bedrooms were chipped badly

Managers response: " the bedroom carpet wasn't dirty ... The bathroom was clean...... You never complained( after a disappointing check in - what was the point)

DISGUSTING COLD BREAKFAST

The food was put out on the counter in plastic ice cream tubs in ceramic pots standing in water, presuming once hot. Heat lights not working properly. Consequently food was cold. I did have stomach pains approx 18 hours after eating. I think presentation was against health standards.

Manager response: " food not in plastic tubs..... You never complained ( why bother, we couldn't wait to get out!!!)

The cafe area was in the foyer, as was the bar. No atmosphere. I have been in better low end Ibis and travellodges. Bar closed by 1230

I gave the manager an opportunity to respond to this before posting. His email response was very rude and defensive. He really did miss the point and was never once apologetic

Avoid this hotel, it's a total rip off with staff that don't care.

The bed was nice though

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanineLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleGirlie, Res Mgr at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
The benefits of Trip Advisor allow everybody to make comments about their stay. People use this in differing ways and, when a complaint from a guest contains a 'threat' to publish their remarks on TA we treat the complaint with the respect it deserves.

I believe further discussion has taken place and that a substantial getsure has been made to alleviate your disapppointment, much of which was disputed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the Castlefield during the Christmas break, having stayed several times before. Must admit to being a little concerned at one or two recent reviews. However, these must be ignored as the hotel remains a gem in the centre of Manchester. Nothing is too much for the staff, the location alongside the Castlefield canal basin, next to the Museum of Science and Industry and only a 5 minute walk from the central shopping area, make this the place for my partner and me whenever we come to Manchester. Added to this are superb gym facilities and a friendly bar with some nice real ale and decent food. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleGirlie, Res Mgr at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Ianc, Thanks for your review and the comments within it. Sometimes it is difficult to rationalise reviews and we become most concerned about some of the feedback.

It is good to see that you, as a regular visitor, and posibly with a more objective and measured viewpoint, are satisfied with what we are doing.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing