We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here last night for a night out in Manchester. Good hotel all we needed. Large double room with everything we needed. Very clean, free WiFi, even ironing board and iron we aslsdo had a very decent breakfast. Full use of leisure facilities swimming, steam room etc included in the price. We paid 60 plus 15 for breakfast. The hotels deco does look a bit dated however I was not put off by this as the hotel was very clean and all staff especially the lovely lady on reception were all very helpful and accommodating.

We will definitely be coming back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redblackdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
RedblackDeb,
Thank you for your feedback and the kind comments.We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    249
    125
    50
    29
See reviews for
69
240
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

When I booked this hotel it had one of the best ratings in the area. Since then a lot of the other hotels have improved. It just shows how Trip Advisor is raising standards. However I find the hotel to be very good. The car park was easy to access and is very secure. You have to go up steps to get to reception which was difficult with a full suitcase. The welcome was excellent and very friendly. The room is quite large compared with most city centre hotels and clean. We asked for a king sized bed which we got with pocket springs which were firmish and comfortable enough for me. The bathroom is just right and clean. There is a nice view over the Castlefields area from the third floor and as the road was closed off at the end when we were here it was quiet. The benefits of this location is that the hotel is close to Deansgate and with excellent access to all the delights of the city centre, it is more economical and the sports facilities are excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Sarah M,

Delighted you found the hotel to be 'very good' and enjoyed your stay. As you say, the hotel has a great location and excellent sports facilities along with all the attributes you rightly expect from your time away.

Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Came to stay for my husbands birthday. Paid for a superior room overlooking the canal. We got the overlooking the canal but I don't think we got a superior room! Very small & basic! There was still other peoples empty toiletries in the shower & no bath towels. Had to call reception to get some.
Paid for breakfast when booking the room,this was just ok. Not very warm & the juice was meh!
We went to a restaurant that was 2 buildings down so location was brilliant. Just think it needs a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaBarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
LisaBarl.

Thanks for reviewing the hotel and apologies for the housekeeping error. Your constructive criticism will receive the attention it deserves, just after I have discovered what 'meh' means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here in March for a weekend break and loved it. The car park had a bit of a queue but seemed secure and was a good price compared to the NCP. Check-in went smoothly and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The room was fairly basic, Premier Inn quality (which is a good thing!), clean and tidy. We liked the shower in particular, plenty of hot water.

They don't make enough of the leisure facilities - this isn't a normal hotel fitness centre it's a full-on members gym that we had free access to. That includes the excellent pool, gym and even the classes. Great value for money.

The hotel is on the edge of the city centre, within easy walking distance of the shops and attractions but in some sort of urban heritage area with old Victorian architecture and canals. We didn't eat in the hotel as the area is full of bars and restaurants.

A great stay will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room on the canal side which had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
London Dave 32,
Many thanks for the feedback and the comments contained within. as you say, the leisure club facilities are far superior and more extensive to the normal hotel set up. Allied to the excellent location the hotel is a good, convenient base for the many attractions of Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending a tradeshow. A nice welcome from friendly staff. Room was basic but clean except for the bathroom. Needs a deep clean to get rid of the mould. Only other complaint were the pillows as they look nice and big but as soon as your head hits them they flatten to nothing. The fitness suite and pool sauna steam room more than make up for it. Breakfast was fine,So all in all a 4/5.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hammered70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
hammered70.

Thank you for your feedback and delighted that you found the welcome good and the gym and pool facilities to your satisfaction.Apologies about the bathroom sealant. This has been 'attacked'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in a King room for one night midweek to attend a concert at the MEN.
Basically think Travelodge but with better facilities and a gym.
Pros:
About a 10 min taxi from Picadilly station.
Lovely staff on reception/bar.
Nice bar area.
Good sized room.
Very clean.
Comfy bed/black out curtains
Free wifi in room.
Plugs are next to the mirror (but see below).
Fab pool/gym/squash courts/cardio room/weights room/sauna/steam (pool was lovely and warm!)
Cost- minimal

Cons:
We turned up and couldn't get into the car park as it was full of gym users. Also once you're in the car park queue you can't get out of it although you've no guarantee it'll move for an hour or so!
The room was a bit battered in places. A broken lampshade etc but to us for one night it wasn't of importance.
The biggest issue was the lack of plugs! There were only 2 plugs in the whole room!! That's right, just two and neither were next to the bed??? (So couldn't charge mobile next to bed/use as alarm). Plus both were already in use!!
One had the wifi box plugged in it and the other had the TV.
So if you wanted a cuppa you had to sacrifice either the wifi or TV! Same for drying hair/straightening hair so it didn't go down well with my other half!!

Overall: a good value hotel. I'd bring a plug adaptor and arrange to arrive at gym/car park off peak time but I would definitely stay here again. A better than good budget hotel.

We didn't eat in hotel so can't comment on food.




  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleLass1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Front Office Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
CarlisleLass1969,

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. all your constructive criticism has been noted and will be acted upon. Apologies for the wait for the car park, this is an unusual occurrence and sorry you were inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Me and my partner have stayed at the castle field a couple of times now and it is a lovely hotel, great staff, good beer and a lovely English breakfast just what you need after a night out in manchester. Rooms are well decorated with a television and bath tub which we didn't get to use along with the gym and swimming pool. Good value but taxis are needed to get around as it is abit out the way. Overall we would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dil_prescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dil_prescott,
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel and delighted you enjoyed the beer from the selection of real ales provided, along with the welcome & breakfast.Depending on where you are visiting in Manchester, or how far you want to walk, you may want to use a taxi but, with the hotel just 400 metres from Deansgate, Manchester's main thoroughfare, the heart of the city is within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#59 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing