We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old Trafford tour”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
glenrothes fife
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“old Trafford tour”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My son and I stopped at the castlefield for two nights as we were going to old Trafford for the man.utd tour. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, booking a taxi for us to man utd ground as it was our first time in Manchester. They also explained to us about the tram and bus services in the area as well as providing a map of Manchester with all the key points on it. Our room was very nice with a shower over the bath which made a welcome change to some hotels where it is just usually a small shower. Our room overlooked the road and you could hear people coming past from pubs etc but this did not disturb us at all. The breakfast was very good and had a choice of continental as well as cooked so catered for all tastes. The meal prices were good for evening meals with a good selection. They have a nice leisure centre which we did not have time to use which is free of use for guests. The hotel is just round the corner from the train station (deansgate) and straight across the road from the museum of science which is free entry. Our room had extra pillows and also an iron and iron board as well as tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. I especially liked the hair and body wash machine on the bathroom wall next to the shower. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay at the castlefield hotel again.

Room Tip: Apparently the back of the hotel is quiter as it overloks the canal but was not put off the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildcat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    253
    128
    50
    30
See reviews for
70
242
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stopped here for a girls night out and was very pleased with this hotel. Upon arrival I checked into the locked and gated car park, which felt very safe to leave my car, collected my ticket and walked round to the main entrance.

The staff were all incredibly friendly when we checked in. When we got into the room it was very inviting, clean and warm. There was standard complimentary bath products as you would expect but the hotel went that little further as when I realised I hadn't remembered my phone charger gave me a complimentary one for the duration of my stay.

After a very late night out drinking we struggled to pack up all our item in time for check out however when we rang down to reception they were understanding and gave us an extra hour.

The pub was only a short walk from Neighbourhood and a few other bars we went to that night and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay from start to finish.

I would happily return to Castlefield.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for my friend's hen party, we can't fault the price or the staff at all. We stayed on a busy Saturday night and started the hen do off with a gin tasting masterclass arranged by the hotel in one of the conference rooms. This was really well priced £125 which was shared between 9 of us. We each had around 5 gin based drinks which we all had a chance to make.

The room that it was in had a small leak from the ceiling which was a little worrying, but as soon as we mentioned it to the reception staff they got a maintenance guy to look at it.

The bedroom and bathroom were clean (I stayed in a twin room). I didn't have a shower, but my room mate did and said that the pressure was pretty low and difficult to wash her long hair.

Breakfast the next day was sufficient, they had a good choice of a cooked breakfast, cereal and toast. It was all pretty good again considering the price.

If you're staying in the hotel you can also access their leisure facilities, they have a spa, gym, pool, sauna and steam room, all of which seem to be pretty good.

I would definitely recommend it if you're not looking for a luxury getaway, it's a little out of the city centre, but very close to the Museum of Science and Industry, Deansgate train station and a tram stop.

Room Tip: The road can be noisy so ask for one on the canal side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fuerteventura
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed from4/4-6/4 for a hen weekend.hotel in excellent position.close to bars and restaurants.rooms are clean,bathroom could do with an extraction fan.breakfast is fantastic. Staff are really friendly and helpful especially Dave and Veronica.I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and I intend to return. Many thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzydeb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dizzydeb15,

Thank you for commenting and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your remarks have been made known to all concerned and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable 3 days here room was basic ( as most hotels are) but very clean cannot complain about the amenities supplied, staff were very good,extremely happy and knowledgably about the area. breakfast was good self service and a good choice. Only cloud was we had Fish and Chips in the hotel the Haddock was excellent but the chips were totally inedible we pointed this out at the time and was offered apologies only

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
GordonJF,

Thank you for your feedback and the comments therein regarding the cleanliness, team attitude & breakfast. Apologies about the chips, we use fresh, not frozen potatoes and, normally they are well received but, obviously not this time. Once again, apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enderby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night due to a family occasion, thank god it was only the one night....considering we paid extra for an upgrade, it was the smallest bed I have ever seen...looked more like a 3/4 rather than a double, the room smelt of vomit, was dirty round the edges and the towels in the bathroom.....well what can I say.....I,ve washed my dog with better! Nice gaping hole in the broken tiles in the bathroom, so after a crap nights sleep I was looking forward to my breakfast only to be disappointed again, I hate cold food!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Lynn S,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the disappointment experienced. Your constructive criticism will be given the attention it deserves and every effort made to prevent the problems you mention happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here last night for a night out in Manchester. Good hotel all we needed. Large double room with everything we needed. Very clean, free WiFi, even ironing board and iron we aslsdo had a very decent breakfast. Full use of leisure facilities swimming, steam room etc included in the price. We paid 60 plus 15 for breakfast. The hotels deco does look a bit dated however I was not put off by this as the hotel was very clean and all staff especially the lovely lady on reception were all very helpful and accommodating.

We will definitely be coming back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redblackdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
RedblackDeb,
Thank you for your feedback and the kind comments.We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing