We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Midland(Manchester)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
212
293
148
50
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
293
148
50
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum of science and industrysports facilitiesliverpool roadcity centreleisure facilitiesgym and swimming poolsecure car parkhealth clubgood sizefriendly hotelrooms are basicsteam roomthird floorwould stay againhen partygreat facilitiesfull english
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

(May 2014): We booked three rooms here and arrived at the reasonable time of 5pm - when there was a massive queue for the already full carpark. On asking reception where we could park they said to come back at 7pm as that is when they stop sharing with the leisure centre. This was not an option as we were attending a wedding party for the rest of the night. Reception staff were completely unhelpful and bordering on rude - we ended up parking at the YHA down the road. Here you can only pay for 12 hours - a return for another ticket at 5am?! Considering their website advertises "an on-site car park with fenced parking for 54 cars...£10 per 24 hours" were were disappointed that lack of parking had not been made aware to us or an alternative solution offered. (On another note - rooms were of a poor standard, with cracked plug sockets and peeling paint). I very rarely feel the need to review using Trip Advisor but this was unacceptable. Would not recommend. Certainly not worth £75 a night - probably better off at the YHA down the road(!!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jess2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Jess 2008,
We are extremely sorry that your stay did not get off to the best of starts due to the car park being full on your arrival. There is normally a rapid turnover of vehicles and the wait is normally short, and this happens very occasionally. and there is both on street and YHA parking, which is adjacent to the hotel car park, immediately around the hotel if you are so pushed for time, but this is very rarely needed.

I appreciate that this coloured your view of the hotel and empathise with your obvious frustration.Your constructive comments will be acted upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Central location with parking for only £10. We could walk to all meeting venues in central Manc from here. The reception staff are exceptional, helpful, warm and pleasant without overdoing it. The room had a bath which was a bonus (I always feel a bit cheated when only a shower). Comfy bed, good night's sleep. Yes the furnishings are functional but they were clean and the room was big with everything we needed (hairdryer, kettle, telly, extra socket) and plenty of mirrors which lots of hotels are stingy with. Breakfast was spot on too with veg sausages on offer with all the usual offerings. Of particular note were the mushrooms - plentiful, well seasoned and cooked properly. Again, lots of more expensive hotels do a rubbish job with mushrooms. We didn't have time for a swim but we will both definitely book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ours was a corner room with an extra single, we didn't need it but the info may be useful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaTWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Checked , lady and gent on reception very polite and professional . Rooms are reasonable , clean . Breakfast is okay quite a large selection . Nice and quiet hotel . Would visit again . On this occasion I didn't take advantage of the pool . Would return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank claud39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We picked this from the laterooms web site, it was within walking distance to the attraction we were attending. It was just as well it was on offer as when we checked in at 5pm we were told the pool and spa were closing at 6 as it was a bank holiday!!!! The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was more than enough. The room was clean but cold, the onsight car park was oversecure in my eyes and had a charge also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyF486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After reading many reviews on this hotel I wasn't surprised when we received a warm and friendly welcome. The check in was quick and easy. When we got to our room it was clean and a decent size. Reminded me of the rooms in the Travel Lodge. As I've said before, don't book a 3* hotel and expect a 5*. What was great is it had an iron and ironing board in the room. Overall it was everything you need for a short stay.
So now the bad part....Unfortunately we probably booked the coldest weekend in May ever! Obviously this wasn't the hotels fault and it was extremely cold for the time of year, but our room was freezing! We could not get the heating on, so we just got ready and went out for a few drinks. When we returned back, we were so cold and just wanted to get back in the warm...but our room was even colder than when we left. It felt like one of the windows was open (it wasn't). I rang down to reception to ask if we could get the heating on and I'm not sure he understood what I was asking, but I didn't understand what he replied. However we didn't get the heating on! I had to put extra clothes on to sleep in! I was informed the next morning by the very nice and friendly Receptionist that the heating is turned off at a certain time of year, which I totally get, but it didn't help me have the most comfortable stay. I think she said a few people had mentioned it and she was going to log it. Bit disappointed to have paid £85 to be freezing though. However, this is obviously a one off and everything else, especially the location was great. I would stay again, but a big reason I would is probably because of the location and friendliness of the staff. The room apart from the cold was fine, I just don't think I would have gone back if it was miles out of the city centre!
The breakfast was really nice, had everything you need and the staff yet again were very helpful and friendly.
We had some treatments in the health place below the hotel. We took a special package of £42 which included a massage, facial and light lunch (included a sandwich or salad). It was probably the best massage I've ever had and even if I don't stay at that hotel, I will certainly book some treatments there.
So overall the hotel is slightly dated but taking the coldness away, everything else makes up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews