We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for one night & for it's location”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #63 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok for one night & for it's location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel needs some TLC and a good clean. But otherwise it's ok for one night stay or for a business trip, but def not for pleasure. Staff were nice enough and the room a good size. Big full length windows. But see photos of how dirty it was....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    253
    128
    50
    30
See reviews for
70
242
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

good location, especially for MOSI and Coronation Street, and 5 mins from Deansgate. Rooms kept clean and comfortable, the only thing is there was no sound-proofing in the rooms, you can hear the people in the next room on the loo!!!

Bar was very well priced and breakfast was excellent for the money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel for a weekend with a group of lads for a "stag" weekend.

The staff were pleasant and friendly.

The rooms were better then expected, clean and large with a nice size TV and nice bathroom.

The lounge area was large with lovely comfy big leather seats to rest in, with a nicely poured pint of ale.

The only downside was the hotel bar closed at 2:30am on the Saturday morning and was closed around 1:30am on the Sunday morning and the male employee on shift on the Saturday morning didn't seem pleased to be serving us at 2am. (Non of our party were majorly drunk and were not rude to him at all) so maybe he just wasn't in the mood or a bit tired.

The breakfast was absolutely brilliant with a buffet style self service with a huge array of choice.

I seen a review earlier mentioning the mushrooms. The mushrooms had a gorgeous seasoning and were perfectly cooked. The hash browns were to die for.

All in all I would fully recommend staying here with excellent value for money and nice friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Samplb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Samplb,
Many thanks for the feedback and delighted you enjoyed your visit and the facilities of the hotel including the real ale, comfy sofas and well seasoned mushrooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A group of 21 of us have just spent the whole weekend at this hotel and have no complaints. I think the walls of the rooms were a little thin as you could here everything in the rooms around us. Being on a crazy hen weekend some wanted to party longer than others.ha! But not a big issue. the hen had booked for a beauty treatment which she very much enjoyed, another had her nails done. I kept being a nightmare and locking our key in the room but the staff were always polite and helped me out. Breakfast was fine and plenty to choose from. Maybe too much milk in the eggs tho. We all had a great time. Thank you very much for putting up with us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zmuscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Zmuscroft,
Thank you for the feedback and delighted you all enjoyed your visit. The very best of luck to the bride to be for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

(May 2014): We booked three rooms here and arrived at the reasonable time of 5pm - when there was a massive queue for the already full carpark. On asking reception where we could park they said to come back at 7pm as that is when they stop sharing with the leisure centre. This was not an option as we were attending a wedding party for the rest of the night. Reception staff were completely unhelpful and bordering on rude - we ended up parking at the YHA down the road. Here you can only pay for 12 hours - a return for another ticket at 5am?! Considering their website advertises "an on-site car park with fenced parking for 54 cars...£10 per 24 hours" were were disappointed that lack of parking had not been made aware to us or an alternative solution offered. (On another note - rooms were of a poor standard, with cracked plug sockets and peeling paint). I very rarely feel the need to review using Trip Advisor but this was unacceptable. Would not recommend. Certainly not worth £75 a night - probably better off at the YHA down the road(!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Jess 2008,
We are extremely sorry that your stay did not get off to the best of starts due to the car park being full on your arrival. There is normally a rapid turnover of vehicles and the wait is normally short, and this happens very occasionally. and there is both on street and YHA parking, which is adjacent to the hotel car park, immediately around the hotel if you are so pushed for time, but this is very rarely needed.

I appreciate that this coloured your view of the hotel and empathise with your obvious frustration.Your constructive comments will be acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Central location with parking for only £10. We could walk to all meeting venues in central Manc from here. The reception staff are exceptional, helpful, warm and pleasant without overdoing it. The room had a bath which was a bonus (I always feel a bit cheated when only a shower). Comfy bed, good night's sleep. Yes the furnishings are functional but they were clean and the room was big with everything we needed (hairdryer, kettle, telly, extra socket) and plenty of mirrors which lots of hotels are stingy with. Breakfast was spot on too with veg sausages on offer with all the usual offerings. Of particular note were the mushrooms - plentiful, well seasoned and cooked properly. Again, lots of more expensive hotels do a rubbish job with mushrooms. We didn't have time for a swim but we will both definitely book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ours was a corner room with an extra single, we didn't need it but the info may be useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaTWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Checked , lady and gent on reception very polite and professional . Rooms are reasonable , clean . Breakfast is okay quite a large selection . Nice and quiet hotel . Would visit again . On this occasion I didn't take advantage of the pool . Would return

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank claud39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing