We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #59 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed hear for 1 night as a couple, for her birthday; upgraded room with view over the canal.

The view was nice and can not moan about that but the hotel corridors and room we stayed in seemed really quite dated. The room wasn't unclean but could do with be refurbished; although the entrance and bar was very nice - looked to have just been done up.

The location is nice, 5/10 minute walk to Print Works/Bars Restaurants but overall pretty average. Would recommend looking at other hotels rather than this!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel because we were attending the UNICEF Soccer Aid Charity Football Match. The location of the hotel is perfect if you wish to visit Old Trafford, it's just a quick taxi ride away (£6.20) or you can take the Tram. The Hotel offers parking which is an extra cost on the price of the room (£10 for overnight). The room we had was spacious and clean with the reception staff being very polite, tentative and knowledgeable of the local area. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious, we could not find fault.

Negatives- If you are a light sleeper you will hear everything in the corridor, for example when the the connecting door's close shut. The price of the room is on the steep side.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really good location for me, close to the centre and shopping and virtually across the road from the Museum of Science and Industry (one of the best ever museums). The staff are really great, especially Jo on reception who was so helpful and cheerful - nothing seemed like too much trouble for her. The room was larger than most in this price range, but was a little 'tired' although exceptionally clean, with a well stocked tray of tea/coffee/chocolate, plenty of milk, etc and biscuits. The food in the restaurant was good - sensible range of breakfast items. My only complaint would be that the portions at dinner were too big for me - certainly very generous and good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel58Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel has a great central location just off city centre.
It is surrounded by bars and restaurants and has full facilities of gym, pool, etc.
The rooms are nice and clean and roomy.
Staff are always helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumberlandsnorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel needs some TLC and a good clean. But otherwise it's ok for one night stay or for a business trip, but def not for pleasure. Staff were nice enough and the room a good size. Big full length windows. But see photos of how dirty it was....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank missjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

good location, especially for MOSI and Coronation Street, and 5 mins from Deansgate. Rooms kept clean and comfortable, the only thing is there was no sound-proofing in the rooms, you can hear the people in the next room on the loo!!!

Bar was very well priced and breakfast was excellent for the money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel for a weekend with a group of lads for a "stag" weekend.

The staff were pleasant and friendly.

The rooms were better then expected, clean and large with a nice size TV and nice bathroom.

The lounge area was large with lovely comfy big leather seats to rest in, with a nicely poured pint of ale.

The only downside was the hotel bar closed at 2:30am on the Saturday morning and was closed around 1:30am on the Sunday morning and the male employee on shift on the Saturday morning didn't seem pleased to be serving us at 2am. (Non of our party were majorly drunk and were not rude to him at all) so maybe he just wasn't in the mood or a bit tired.

The breakfast was absolutely brilliant with a buffet style self service with a huge array of choice.

I seen a review earlier mentioning the mushrooms. The mushrooms had a gorgeous seasoning and were perfectly cooked. The hash browns were to die for.

All in all I would fully recommend staying here with excellent value for money and nice friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Samplb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Samplb,
Many thanks for the feedback and delighted you enjoyed your visit and the facilities of the hotel including the real ale, comfy sofas and well seasoned mushrooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#32 of 121 in Manchester
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#29 of 121 in Manchester
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.6 mi away
Princess St. Hotel
Princess St. Hotel
#18 of 121 in Manchester
2,759 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 121 in Manchester
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £50 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing