We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Midland(Manchester)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
212
293
148
50
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
293
148
50
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum of science and industrysports facilitiesliverpool roadcity centreleisure facilitiesgym and swimming poolsecure car parkhealth clubgood sizefriendly hotelrooms are basicsteam roomthird floorwould stay againhen partygreat facilitiesfull english
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My Mum and I stayed here on 19th June 2014 on our first trip to Manchester. We came to Manchester for the Coronation Street tour and this hotel was prime location for this (a 5 minute walk). It also sits directly opposite from the Science Museum and close to the Sky Tower of the Hilton Hotel. We visited the Spa on the afternoon for some treatments and the dark haired beautician was fantastic - extremely qualified, gentle and very friendly. Prices at the Spa are also very reasonable. No complaint there at all. There was also a pool and gym but we didn't use them.
We ate out so I can't comment on the restaurant/bar food.
The world cup was on the night we stayed so it did get a bit loud but no big deal.
Reception were very friendly - all of them! Great service there.
As for breakfast, there was plenty to chose from including a cooked English breakfast, cereals, fruit, yogurt, juice and a coffee/tea machine. My only complaint would be to have some fresh cheese and bread as it was processed wrapped cheese which wasn't great and was warm.
Rooms were nice with everything you'd need including an ironing board and iron. The shower can be a little difficult as it gets very hot. Just be careful not to scald yourself - check before you get in to adjust the temperature.
All in all, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you go during the World Cup, stay on a higher floor rather than a lower to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaLouise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If I could give this place no stars I would. This is possibly the worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time. We paid £115 for the room for one night (parking and breakfast not included). The walk from the carpark was depressing as we waded through the litter and cigarette butts. There was a wedding on when we arrived and so a cloud of smoke from many smokers standing immediately outside the hotel entrance wasn't pleasant.
The room was very poor. tatty and grubby. It desperately needed a good clean and the broken light fittings and mouldy bath seals all needed replacing. When we looked at the bed, first impressions were that it hadn't yet been made up as there was only one very thin sheet on top of the stained mattress. We thought that this was maybe the mattress protector but then realised that no, this was actually all there was between us and the disgusting mattress. The furniture in the room was in a bad state. When I sat on the bed it squeaked terribly and the chair in the room was so wobbly we decided not to risk sitting on it.
The bathroom wasn't much better and I think they choose to have brown towels as they hide a multitude of sins!.
We were attending a function in Manchester later that evening and to be honest, if we had had time and could have found a room in another hotel we would have moved straight away. As time was short and we needed to eat something before we went out we thought we would risk room service. We were told the kitchen was shut to residents due to the wedding!!!!! (perhaps this was a blessing in disguise) I suggested that they should have told us this at the time of booking if possible and at the very least when we checked in. We were offered free parking and a free breakfast in compensation but after a rough nights sleep due to noise from the road (had to sleep with windows open due to no aircon) we decided to pass and left. The room was more like student accommodation than a hotel room and was a total rip off at £115. My advice is to pay a bit extra and not dread going back to your room after a night out or book early at the Premier Inn (If we hadn't driven in, we would have taken a taxi straight home after our event)

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed hear for 1 night as a couple, for her birthday; upgraded room with view over the canal.

The view was nice and can not moan about that but the hotel corridors and room we stayed in seemed really quite dated. The room wasn't unclean but could do with be refurbished; although the entrance and bar was very nice - looked to have just been done up.

The location is nice, 5/10 minute walk to Print Works/Bars Restaurants but overall pretty average. Would recommend looking at other hotels rather than this!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel because we were attending the UNICEF Soccer Aid Charity Football Match. The location of the hotel is perfect if you wish to visit Old Trafford, it's just a quick taxi ride away (£6.20) or you can take the Tram. The Hotel offers parking which is an extra cost on the price of the room (£10 for overnight). The room we had was spacious and clean with the reception staff being very polite, tentative and knowledgeable of the local area. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious, we could not find fault.

Negatives- If you are a light sleeper you will hear everything in the corridor, for example when the the connecting door's close shut. The price of the room is on the steep side.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really good location for me, close to the centre and shopping and virtually across the road from the Museum of Science and Industry (one of the best ever museums). The staff are really great, especially Jo on reception who was so helpful and cheerful - nothing seemed like too much trouble for her. The room was larger than most in this price range, but was a little 'tired' although exceptionally clean, with a well stocked tray of tea/coffee/chocolate, plenty of milk, etc and biscuits. The food in the restaurant was good - sensible range of breakfast items. My only complaint would be that the portions at dinner were too big for me - certainly very generous and good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal is nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel58Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews