We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
233
304
150
53
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
304
150
53
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews museum of science and industry sports facilities liverpool road city centre leisure facilities gym and swimming pool secure car park leisure club good size rooms are basic steam room hen party would stay again budget hotel full english old trafford buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We checked out many hotels within Manchester and this suited our needs as it was close to the Coronation Street tour and Deansgate. After staying at the hotel I am surprised at the negative reviews as we found the hotel brilliant. We had no problems parking the car and liked the fact that it was completely gated and nobody could get in. The walk from the car park to the hotel was pleasant and Hannah (I think that was her name) on reception couldn't have been more helpful. The family room was a good size and the bed was huge. As a wheelchair user there was plenty of room to get around and the bathroom was big enough to get my chair in and shut the door if needed. Our room overlooked the road but it certainly didn't stop us getting a good nights sleep and wasn't noisy.

We walked around Deansgate but decided to eat at the hotel and I am so glad we did as it was delicious. Graham who served us was very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. He also served our breakfast and he's an asset to the hotel. All in all I will certainly be using this hotel again should we come back to Manchester and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Allison201071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of manchester! Close to restaurants, casino, bars, clubs, cinema, bowling and corrie tour! got this hotel at good price of £67 for 2 of us and we were expecting it to be poor for such a great price on bank holiday and pride weekend, but boy were we wrong. Could not fault the hotel or staff! will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misszoeg1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights (Monday to Thursday morning) and absolutely loved Castlefield hotel. The staff are lovely, Martina is a gem, as is the tall girl on reception and the guy from the Lake Districts who rides into work on his bike. Room was fantastic, breakfast was absolutely marvellous, and evening meals delicious. Swimming pool and changing rooms spotlessly clean. The view towards the science museum (from our room) and the view towards the canal (at the restaurant) are beautiful. The hotel is within easy walking distance for Coronation Street Tour (which was amazing) and The Arndale Shopping Centre. My only tip - don't venture to LEGOLAND, don't bother with the Trafford Centre, just enjoy a chill out at the hotel with lovely amenities around and abouts. Thanks Castlefield. xx

Room Tip: Our twin room faced the museum, apparently the double rooms face the canal. Both lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good location off Deansgate, opposite the science museum and near Coronation Street tour.
Clean and comfortable rooms with usual facilities but bathroom dated.
Friendly and helpful staff with no problems during our stay.
Added bonus with access to the leisure club and swimming pool.
Stayed over on a Sunday night so probably quieter than other nights.
Overall would recommend as an alternative to other city centre hotels.

Room Tip: high floor with canal view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my partner visited this hotel this weekend, we had originally just booked in for Friday night but the hotel was so good with amazing staff great food at fantastic prices that we stayed a further two nights. The Leisure Club was a great bonus to take some me time and relax. The location could also not have been better with views of the canal and the barges walking distends to some great sights and tram and train links to. We would like to thank the hotel for there great hospitality and we are already planning our next visit this time with our little boy as I know he will love it to see use all soon Kind Regards The Brodies x

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carolann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews