We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff is what saves this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The staff at Castlefield hotel is what makes this place reasonable to stay in.
However it is not the nicest of hotels with a 3* mark on it. The hotel facilities are so old. The room i stayed in felt more like a 2* with the door completely marked up and chipped wood from the door panel that had somehow been bashed away. The bed was OK but nothing special, to be honest i have stayed in nicer Premier inns and travelodges. The room lighting was odd - having a major on and off switch which seemed to control all lights in the room, you couldn't use just the lamp over the bed for example unless you had the full overhead room light on.
The wifi was abysmal, my 4g on my phone had to do most of my internet search as my laptops connection to the passworded Castlefiled wifi was as slow as the days of dial up.
However the thing that annoyed me the most was the stupid location of the car park - The car park is a gated feature which is an outside extension of the leisure centre - the only way to get into the hotel from here is to leave the car park with your printed barcode that you receive when parking the car and walk up a big set of outside stairs or an interior set of stairs in the leisure centre - which you can only get to by leaving the car park and walking alongside the canal first. I had a heavy suitcase to carry and a couple of bags and struggle with a bad back from a prolapsed disc from a car crash last year, There was not a single person to help with baggage and it made me wonder how other guests manage if they park there should they be an elderly person, disabled or a mother with children and a push chair and baggage for example.
I also realised in the night i needed something from my car but decided as a single female it wouldn't have been safe to go to the car alone as it is outside and down from the hotel down by a dimly lit canal with not much residential action nearby should i have needed any help. so i waited till the morning - and when checking out asked to be sure if there was lift to the car park, i got pointed towards the interior stairs and dragged my suitcase down the flight of stairs to try not to aggravate my back.
This is an extremely poor system which needs to be addressed. Again the staff were so friendly which made me feel better about my brief overnight stay however i would have been uncomfortable and annoyed should i have booked a room at Castlefield hotel and had to stay longer. This hotel is a means to a nights basic sleep and some food in the morning but nothing more in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sunseamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We checked out many hotels within Manchester and this suited our needs as it was close to the Coronation Street tour and Deansgate. After staying at the hotel I am surprised at the negative reviews as we found the hotel brilliant. We had no problems parking the car and liked the fact that it was completely gated and nobody could get in. The walk from the car park to the hotel was pleasant and Hannah (I think that was her name) on reception couldn't have been more helpful. The family room was a good size and the bed was huge. As a wheelchair user there was plenty of room to get around and the bathroom was big enough to get my chair in and shut the door if needed. Our room overlooked the road but it certainly didn't stop us getting a good nights sleep and wasn't noisy.

We walked around Deansgate but decided to eat at the hotel and I am so glad we did as it was delicious. Graham who served us was very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. He also served our breakfast and he's an asset to the hotel. All in all I will certainly be using this hotel again should we come back to Manchester and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Allison201071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of manchester! Close to restaurants, casino, bars, clubs, cinema, bowling and corrie tour! got this hotel at good price of £67 for 2 of us and we were expecting it to be poor for such a great price on bank holiday and pride weekend, but boy were we wrong. Could not fault the hotel or staff! will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misszoeg1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights (Monday to Thursday morning) and absolutely loved Castlefield hotel. The staff are lovely, Martina is a gem, as is the tall girl on reception and the guy from the Lake Districts who rides into work on his bike. Room was fantastic, breakfast was absolutely marvellous, and evening meals delicious. Swimming pool and changing rooms spotlessly clean. The view towards the science museum (from our room) and the view towards the canal (at the restaurant) are beautiful. The hotel is within easy walking distance for Coronation Street Tour (which was amazing) and The Arndale Shopping Centre. My only tip - don't venture to LEGOLAND, don't bother with the Trafford Centre, just enjoy a chill out at the hotel with lovely amenities around and abouts. Thanks Castlefield. xx

Room Tip: Our twin room faced the museum, apparently the double rooms face the canal. Both lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good location off Deansgate, opposite the science museum and near Coronation Street tour.
Clean and comfortable rooms with usual facilities but bathroom dated.
Friendly and helpful staff with no problems during our stay.
Added bonus with access to the leisure club and swimming pool.
Stayed over on a Sunday night so probably quieter than other nights.
Overall would recommend as an alternative to other city centre hotels.

Room Tip: high floor with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my partner visited this hotel this weekend, we had originally just booked in for Friday night but the hotel was so good with amazing staff great food at fantastic prices that we stayed a further two nights. The Leisure Club was a great bonus to take some me time and relax. The location could also not have been better with views of the canal and the barges walking distends to some great sights and tram and train links to. We would like to thank the hotel for there great hospitality and we are already planning our next visit this time with our little boy as I know he will love it to see use all soon Kind Regards The Brodies x

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carolann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is lovely and very convenient location to the Coronation St Tour and museums. the staff were great and went out of their way to supply us with gluten free food making changes to dishes to make this possible. All the staff were friendly helpful. Room was clean and had everything we needed. It is a hotel that we would have no hesitation in staying in again. We ate dinner at the hotel as the prices were very reasonable and the food delicious. Breakfast had lots of variety.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dittyannie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Public Relations Manager at The Castlefield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you made the time to share your experience. All your relevant, constructive comments will be made known to the team to ensure that we continue to progress and develop standards and services for the benefit of all guests.
Glynn
Hotel PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#38 of 120 in Manchester
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#63 of 120 in Manchester
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlefield Hotel

Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing