We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Industrial archaeology on the doorstep”
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #61 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Industrial archaeology on the doorstep”
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed for one night at this hotel because of good reports from previous Tripadvisor respondents. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well placed and the staff we met were all really helpful, friendly and spoke English with an English accent! We travelled by rail and found that it's a half an hour walk from Oxford Road Station because only local trains stop at the nearer Deansgate Station.

The location of this hotel is amazing to anyone with a smidgen of interest in England's heritage. There's the Castlefield Basin within 100 yards (think Duke of Bridgewater's canal - the first commercial canal in England), the Museum of Science and Industry just across the road (think world's first passenger railway station), the Opera House is exactly 10 minutes away on foot (think Northern Ballet) and the Granada studios are within half a mile .. er, well perhaps the exception proves the rule.

The hotel's website is misleading in that it appears to offer only a continental breakfast. As the staff pointed out when we asked, this is inaccurate and the price includes a full English breakfast.

We shall definitely stay at the Castlefield again when next we visit Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldcardholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    255
    131
    50
    30
See reviews for
72
245
29
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Decent enough basic hotel near Deansgate. Bed was a bit small and not all that comfortable. Room was too warm and radiators couldn't be turned right down.

Clean and functional room & bathroom with excellent shower. Wi-fi a bit up & down. Suitable for a leisure user but for a business user could be a pain.

Open air parking at £8 per day seems a bit OTT to me. Reception staff very helpful and polite. Bar staff same. Looks like a base for hen & stag dos and I can see why; position good, relatively cheap rooms (Manchester is expensive for hotel rooms) and what looked like a lovely heath spa/pool/club.

It was ok - I'd have preferred to stay in the Ox but it was full.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stayed here 2 nights for concert at MEN. No problems with parking (£8 per day), check-in very friendly, room nice and big, warm, plenty of storage space, bathroom a little tired but clean and tidy. Hot and cold breakfast included in £65 per night charge. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Really couldn't fault the hotel and would stay here again without hesitation. Was a little concerned at reading other reports on the quality of the beds but we didn't find any problems with these at all. In fact, they were extremely comfortable in the room we were in and the pillows were great. All in all, a fantastic, well located, comfortable hotel, especially considering the low nightly rate which includes a self service hot and cold buffet. Guests have free use of the fitness centre adjacent to the hotel, however we didn't have time to try this out!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston lancs
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The one thing that let this lovely hotel down was the atrocious beds! we had booked in to see a show at MEN which is about a half hour stroll through deansgate, shopping aplenty during the day and use of the facilities (pool, sauna and steam room were great) left us absolutely knackered and in need of a good night sleep, unfortunately not. every time we moved the springs pinged a tune or rather a symphony, if you dont have aches and pains and serious backache problem before you sleep on these beds you will have after one night. We had a lovely room overlooking barges on the canal and the hilton monstrosity, lovely food in the hotel and the excellent fresh cooked breakfast to individual specification couldnt, unfortunately, make good the tiredness caused by missed night sleep. Staff were friendly and helpful and cheap car parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziPrestonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed at the hotel for one night when we were going to a gig at the Manchester Evening News Arena.

On arrival, we checked in very quickly and were given a pass for the car park which we paid £8 for. Our room was on the 3rd floor but the lift meant this was no problem at all.

The room was fine, clean and had a full bathroom suite, plenty of storage, TV and tea/coffee making facillities. The beds weren't the comfiest in the world and the room was a little dark if I were to be picky but that is me lookingfor things to moan about there!

The hotel is smack bang opposite the Museum of industry and science, which is free to get into and good for killing a bit of time, it's interesting too.

A walk to the MEN (in high heels) took us approximately 25 minutes, we did get a cab back as my feet were killing after standing through the gig, but if I was wearing sensible shoes we could have easily walked it.

There are quite a few, bars, restaurants and shops within easy walking distant and the location of the hotel really is a plus point.

The communal areas were good, we had breakfast which was pretty good- full english with toast as well as a selection of yoghurt, fruit, cereal and juices.

We didn't use the Y Club but it did look good and if we had had more time, we would have definately tried out the pool!

Overall, the Castlefield is a great little hotel, very clean with good service in a good location for a short break in the city.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#59 of 116 in Manchester
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlefield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful and historic corner of the city centre, within easy reach of the shopping centres, theatres and attractions that Manchester has to offer. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 26 years. FREE WIFI and FREE use of our ON SITE GYM with 18m SWIMMING POOL comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. So whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing