We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“full of youths”
Review of Chorlton Park

Chorlton Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hardy Golf Club in the park is awell maintained 18-hole course with a club house.
Manchester
Level Contributor
292 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“full of youths”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

it is ok but ive been chased home through this park many times by gangs of kids. very little for kids, tonnes of dogs. i would avoid it. they need more police round there for sure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank daveyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have been here loads of times. I only live 15/20 mins walk away. Great day out if you want a quick walk. Lots to see, birds, trees, flora/fauna that kind of thing. A great kids play area and usually an ice cream van. really good place to go for a couple of hours of the country in the city.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chorltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“some good things come out of motorways...”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The park was made when stone was needed for the nearby motorways (M56 and M60).
the good bit is now its a very nice walk about 40 minutes around the lake and the River near by ..the Fishing is great (i been told ) as is the Bird life. and fishing spots are to be found all around the lake . If there is one down side it would be that it needs a cafe or resturant. (like nearby Sale Water Park).well worth a trip

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hutch9964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Herradura, Spain
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great family park”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I live near Chorlton Park and have visited it regularly for almost 20 years. In fact when my daughter was small I felt like we lived in this park:after nursery and school we would come here and every weekend we were in here as well.

It is great for families with kids with all the usual swings, slides ( including an under 5s area) etc but also it is good for walking and cycling, ball games, dog walking, jogging etc and there are tennis courts, a bowling green and a "trim trail". There is also a small stream that runs through the park.

Next to the park there is a KFC and MacDonalds and you are also very near to Beech Road with its interesting shops ( and another park) and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of Chorlton for other restaurants/ eating places/shops.

In July every year, there is usually a really good festival in the park but I think 2011 was the last year due to problems with public order issues.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank rollergirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect for joggers and families.”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Good selection of swings and kids play area.
Easy to walk into centre for drinks meal etc.
Good for dog walks.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cockpitqueen747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chorlton Park also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chorlton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing