We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for me...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Ranked #51 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for me...”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the University of Manchester in early July 2013. The hotel had air conditioning, free wifi, in room tea service, decent breakfast, easy access from two different train stations, reasonably comfortable beds, very soundproof windows, reasonable walk to the center of the city and to a variety of attractions, plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and a nearby car park. It is a budget hotel, but it perfectly nice and well equipped....and well staffed with employees skilled at customer service.

A few tips or observations:
1. Oxford Road Station is the closest rail station (5 min walk), but it does not have lifts while it *does* have lots of stairs. If you have heavy bags, you might want to choose Piccadilly instead (10-12 min walk). Don't pay attention to the Google directions if you're walking, walk down Granby Row for a more direct route to the hotel.

2. The bed is pretty darned firm...too firm for me, but I nevertheless got a good night's sleep each night I was there.

3. I was on the train side, but once that window was shut, I could barely hear more than an ever so slight rumble.

4. I was there for 4 nights. Only one night was there a glitch with the air conditioning when it did not work well.

5. The Indian restaurant (East Z East) next to the hotel was very good and a very nice restaurant (not a place to pop in with jeans and a t-shirt!)

6. The free wifi was perfectly good enough for what I needed; there was no need for me to purchase the faster connection.

7. Yeah, the mushrooms were still tinned and the eggs were a bit crumbly. But the breakfast was fine....I was pleasantly full each morning when I went off to my conference. The staff were attentive, refilling items that were out. Yes, fresh sauteed mushrooms and maybe some tomatoes would have been great...a veg meat option, too, but again, I thought the breakfast was okay.

Great value...If I have a conference at the uni again, I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRDProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest:
It is great to have such a positive feedback from a senior contributor,about your last stay with us! I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    544
    336
    107
    54
See reviews for
101
417
176
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here on sat 6th July for a night out in manchester. Hotel is in a great location for canal street 2 min walk. Parking £4 over the road weekends. Breakfast was great lots of choice. Staff friendly and helpful. Only complaint think the rooms need lick of paint and new carpets. Reception facelift looks great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest: I hope that you had a lovely weekend.Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedbacks about your last stay with us in Manchester. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we have noted the comments you made, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Very well located for Oxford road and canal street, 2 mins walk from Oxford road station. Piccadilly within 10 mins walk. Staff very friendly and help. Only one drawback to the whole stay was how hot the rooms where. His hotel doesn't have air conditioning and it was unbearable last couple of nights tryin to sleep. Otherwise though, comfy bed, great pillows and not a bad bathroom if not a little dated

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedbacks about your last stay with us! I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stopped in the Ibis for a one night stay on business,the staff were very attentive and excellent customer service. The room was a reasonable size, slightly dated but excellent value for money.
The breakfast was well cooked and presented although I thought the lay out was slightly back to front plenty of choice and plenty to eat. On the whole a surprising well presented hotel.

Room Tip: Slightly noisy with the window open but a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedbacks about your last stay with us! I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here to attend an event at the etihad stadium. It is an ibis hotel and is of the standard expected. It is clean, rooms fair size, comfortable beds and shower room is fine ( certainly bigger than some basic hotels have stayed in.).
Reception is light and comfortable with bar and lmited meal list but was freshly cooked and fine,
Plenty of food available at breakfast and no limit on what you can eat/drink.
Short walk from Piccadilly station, would consider again for stay in central manchester

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your last review about our Ibis hotel! I will share with the team and I hope to welcome you back very soon! Thank you again, Emilien Felix - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

stayed here with my daughter after seeing Robbie Williams so a late night, very helpful staff about even after 2am! Very clean, quick efficient check-in, no problems at all. Definitely would return. Value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor no problems but we were only in and out really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in posting a review about your last stay! I am delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back very soon! Many thanks, Emilien Felix - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#47 of 117 in Manchester
1,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Property: ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing