We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Ranked #49 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked one night. Never stayed in an Ibis hotel before so guessed would be like Travel lodge. Booked 2 rooms. When checked into hotel, we were given rooms on the 2nd and 4th floor. Not ideal but this wasn't a problem for us. However, was surprised to find that bathroom in each of the rooms were wet rooms/disabled toilets. None of us have any disabilities so really surprised at this. The door to the toilet in our room was a big sliding door and made a right racket on opening and closing. The 2 towels left on the bed were grubby (possible they just hadn't been collected for cleaning?). The cups on the tray needed a proper wash as had marks round the rims. Our room was in need of painting and in the room on the 2nd floor the carpet wasalso badly stained in 2 patches and needed a good deep clean or replacing. Sure this must all be on the hotel managers to-do list! On the plus side:- pay parking close, not too far to walk into town, plenty of entertainment nearby, beds very comfortable, room temperature OK, reception staff friendly and a pub at the top of the road that did a fried breakfast for £3.00.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your last experience with us. I am most disapointed to hear your first Ibis experience was not up to your expectation, but we hope you will give us another opportunity in the nearer future. Many thanks - Emilien Felix, Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Helenmc78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H3143, Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the University of Manchester in early July 2013. The hotel had air conditioning, free wifi, in room tea service, decent breakfast, easy access from two different train stations, reasonably comfortable beds, very soundproof windows, reasonable walk to the center of the city and to a variety of attractions, plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and a nearby car park. It is a budget hotel, but it perfectly nice and well equipped....and well staffed with employees skilled at customer service.

A few tips or observations:
1. Oxford Road Station is the closest rail station (5 min walk), but it does not have lifts while it *does* have lots of stairs. If you have heavy bags, you might want to choose Piccadilly instead (10-12 min walk). Don't pay attention to the Google directions if you're walking, walk down Granby Row for a more direct route to the hotel.

2. The bed is pretty darned firm...too firm for me, but I nevertheless got a good night's sleep each night I was there.

3. I was on the train side, but once that window was shut, I could barely hear more than an ever so slight rumble.

4. I was there for 4 nights. Only one night was there a glitch with the air conditioning when it did not work well.

5. The Indian restaurant (East Z East) next to the hotel was very good and a very nice restaurant (not a place to pop in with jeans and a t-shirt!)

6. The free wifi was perfectly good enough for what I needed; there was no need for me to purchase the faster connection.

7. Yeah, the mushrooms were still tinned and the eggs were a bit crumbly. But the breakfast was fine....I was pleasantly full each morning when I went off to my conference. The staff were attentive, refilling items that were out. Yes, fresh sauteed mushrooms and maybe some tomatoes would have been great...a veg meat option, too, but again, I thought the breakfast was okay.

Great value...If I have a conference at the uni again, I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRDProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest:
It is great to have such a positive feedback from a senior contributor,about your last stay with us! I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here on sat 6th July for a night out in manchester. Hotel is in a great location for canal street 2 min walk. Parking £4 over the road weekends. Breakfast was great lots of choice. Staff friendly and helpful. Only complaint think the rooms need lick of paint and new carpets. Reception facelift looks great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest: I hope that you had a lovely weekend.Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedbacks about your last stay with us in Manchester. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we have noted the comments you made, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Very well located for Oxford road and canal street, 2 mins walk from Oxford road station. Piccadilly within 10 mins walk. Staff very friendly and help. Only one drawback to the whole stay was how hot the rooms where. His hotel doesn't have air conditioning and it was unbearable last couple of nights tryin to sleep. Otherwise though, comfy bed, great pillows and not a bad bathroom if not a little dated

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedbacks about your last stay with us! I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter_Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stopped in the Ibis for a one night stay on business,the staff were very attentive and excellent customer service. The room was a reasonable size, slightly dated but excellent value for money.
The breakfast was well cooked and presented although I thought the lay out was slightly back to front plenty of choice and plenty to eat. On the whole a surprising well presented hotel.

Room Tip: Slightly noisy with the window open but a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedbacks about your last stay with us! I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon! Jorge Otero -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#47 of 120 in Manchester
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £37 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing