We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things were better than others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Some things were better than others”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for three nights in November, and chose the hotel mainly for its price.

The best parts of this hotel are:

The breakfast (4/5) and the location (3/5)

While the worst parts (in our experience) are:

The service (2/5) and the check-in (1/5)

Let us elaborate on those last two. When we arrived around 8 AM, on a cold, rainy November day, the receptionist at first seemed very bothered by our arrival. He then even suggested that we leave the hotel and come back in the afternoon, since they were fully booked. Approximately 30 minutes later, he was relieved by a colleague, who immidiately got us a room. So, unfortunately, the behavior of one particular receptionist kinda ruined our whole arrival.

On the first day we hung out the "DND" sign, which was snatched by someone during the night, resulting in an unwanted visit from the maid. We kindly asked the reception to call the housekeeping and tell them we didn't want to be disturbed on the following day. Anyway, as we got up for breakfast the next day, we asked yet another receptionist to do the same thing - which he said he would. Some 30 minutes later housekeeping was banging on our door, asking if we needed cleaning...

Apart from these annoyances, it was a pleasant stay. It should be clarified that some of the staff members were extremely polite and helpful, while others... Well, see above.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on h3143-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    547
    336
    107
    54
See reviews for
104
421
176
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is about 4 minute walk to the gay village, and so a perfect location if this is the area you are visiting. It is also only about 10 minute walk to the main shopping area.

The rooms were clean and was great that they offer free wifi on all of their rooms. The staff were helpful and the reception and bar was very nice.

I thought the price per night was reasonable and would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Manchester Princess Street. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed in the middle of November. Hotel is clean and staff is friendly. Bed confortable. Even my room windows faced the street it was quiet. Breakfast is ok, not a huge varitey, but enough to start a day with. Location is good. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the town and there are railway stations as close by too. Only minus is that in some mornings the room felt a bit too cool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the the Hotel Ibis in Manchester Princess Street. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Generally not bad. Comfortable bed tatty room thou. Needs a bit if a refurbishment. The lobby has been done and looks great but don't be fooled ! Saying that slept very well. And the staff are very very helpful. And also the hotel offers free wifi.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Exellent hotel for what you pay,staff are great ,nothing is a problem to them.
I have stayed here many times and always found it comfortable.It is only 2 mins into town. Breakfasts are good value , and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Its no problem to staff if you need extra towels,pillows etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 59John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here between 1st-3rd november. Brilliant hotel, clean, cheap and fantastic location. All the staff were friendly and couldnt do enough for you. Chelsea was fantastic, friendly, happy and made time to have a conversation with you. Will definatley be staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Property: ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing