We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A budget hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Ranked #54 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A budget hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We chose to stay here as the deal seemed good via Expedia.
On arrival the price of the room had dropped from £89 (which we prepaid) to £59.
We were advised that overnight parking in the public carpark opposite was £2 - which we thought was a great deal, usually you pay £16+. When we left the carpark the day after it was £10 - incorrect advice from the hotel reception.
The beds in the rooms are comfortable enough, however the upholstery was dirty and stained and there was rubbish on the floor under the bed.
The bathrooms are odd - they're like plastic units that have been dropped in to the rooms then plumbed in. Too much plastic, a door with gaps that doesn't shut, a shower that floods the floor and a toilet that didn't flush properly.
And the bedroom smelt of feet.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    501
    322
    107
    54
See reviews for
97
392
168
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This IBIS hotel is conveniently central, but in a relatively quiet area (not a noisy place). Good rooms (in no nonsense IBIS style) with good beds at a very attractive rate. Breakfast is very good. The service is excellent: Warm welcome and friendly help with phone charger, printing boarding pass and luggage. This is a perfect deal for those who are looking for a central location and a reliable place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondneim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Reseption: Very helpful handing out map, lending adapter, ordering taxi with a smile.
Restaurant: Nice breakfast, delicate, clean, varied. A bit crowdy at 9am.
Room: A bit cold. When we started the heater it smelled awful. The aircondition in the bathroom was poor. As a result the air in the room was bad.
Overall a nice hotel

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I just checked in today at noon was put into a handicap (as I'm not needing one) room facing princess street (it's cute). Came back after wandering the city to have a shower. The washroom for a wheel chair the shower floods the whole floor. Its 1am I'm wide awake cause there is a club out side my window (doesn't close until 3am) called down to front desk but phone doesn't work. They came up only to tell me they have a smaller room with a double bed. But I booked and paid for 2 twin bed room. Not happy that I have another night here

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The very basic hotel chain, if you do need a short breakup with reasonable price.

The reception was jammed and manned with only one person who tried to manage the bar also and keep up friendly touch for customers. Room was very basic, didn´t expected anything else. The breakfast was meager.

Location a bit down, need some walking to the center and for public transportation. The Canal Street is nearby. Very average and basic experience of stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lari70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H3143, General Manager at ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.
Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel

Property: ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Address: Charles Street | Princess Street, Manchester M1 7DG, England (Formerly Ibis Manchester Charles Street Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel is located on the corner of Princess St and Charles St, 5 minute walk from the heart of Manchester City Centre. Located next to the Manchester Conference Centre, the BBC & the Universities, the hotel is an excellent base whether visiting Manchester on business or for leisure. The Nightpsots of Canal St and bustling China Town are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Manchester
Hotel Ibis Manchester
Ibis Manchester
Manchester Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing