We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed here for a hen weekend and was pretty pleased with this hotel. It's in a good location - a few minutes walk from the station. reception staff were helpful (kept us supplied with gallons of iced water!)- reception is bright and airy. room was fine - I had a double to myself which was great, but some of the twins looked a bit small for two. Room was clean and had a nice bathroom. It was a little noisy and a bit hot - I couldn't get the air-con to work. breakfast was great - £7-50 for a really good choice and available til midday which was a massive bonus. It's nothing flash but for a basic, decent hotel this is really good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogogaijingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    662
    326
    113
    64
See reviews for
150
525
192
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

for a business traveler, it is so inconvenient if the hotel does not have free wifi. I mean, seriously, it's the year of 2012, which hotel is still using WIFI as a unique additional service to guests? Free WIFI has been widely adopted by almost all the hotels as a must for guests. To be honest, the Manchester IBIS is one of the rare IBIS that still charges for WIFI. As I said, everything else was fine, but for the WIFI issue, I refuse to give it a five-star.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason Ying L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester City Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

In regards to internet usage fees, we appreciate that it might be perceived as expensive; however, it is the best available solution in order to provide our guests with a fast and reliable connection. I hope that you were aware of our free internet computer desk that we have available for all of our guests in our reception area.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Ibis Manchester City Centre.

Kind Regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stopped here in March to catch a gig at Nite and Day Cafe, big clean room, friendly front desk and parking across road, excellent for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedwardWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

basically you pay for what you get. Its a 5-10min walk from station but very easy to find, just next to novetel hotel to . we arrived early so they let us leave our bags till later on so we could have a look round manchester till check in . room was very clean and tidy. The bed was really comfy to stay in and the bathroom was small but had a really nice shower. our room was facing the main street but we heard nothing when we went to bed , was actually very quiet. Didnt have breakfast their , didnt look a big choice to be honest so we went to yates for a fry up which is just down the road and it was much cheaper. The indian next door to the right is fab! i loved it , great value for money perfect food they put big chunks of chicken in the curry so makes it better. not badly priced but it was great. very hard to find a link of restaurants or bars nearby , we found a massive link the next day in exchange square near selfridges and co . We went to hard rock cafe for lunh and it was absolutley fab, gorgeous food amazing atmospehere. well worth it ! Overall ibis is great for one or two nights but if your looking for something more luxorious i would look elsewhere . Great loacation and friendly staff ( foreign though!). they were helpful and let us leave our bags after check out time so we didnt have to carry them round manchester all day.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are probably more suitable if you are staying on a weekend as can get noisy on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonia12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have Breakfast at the hotel we provide a full english breakfast that includes Bacon, Scrambled Egg, Sausage, Beans as well a selection of ham, cheeses, yoghurts, Cereals, breads and Tea/Coffee or fruit juices at only £7.50. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

stayed here for a night after a coldplay gig .got there at 1pm and were pleased to find our room was ready so we could get on our way to the queue . the chap who checked us in was friendly and helpful.the room was ok and had a strnge futuristic toilet and shower room (the shower was nice actually ) all in all ok for a nights stop over .

Room Tip: drinks expensive at the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Immaculate room. Good soundproofing on busy street. Cheerful staff willing to help with directions etc. Wifi available for a price. £10 per 24 hours. Or you can pay a higher room rate and get it 'free'. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#42 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Property: Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing