We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Ibis in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #53 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions usually booking early to get a good price, usually less than £50.

The public area is very nice with a modern look. Check in efficient and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are the standard Ibis design, good bed, TV with a few extra channels, small desk and shower room; all very functional and reasonably comfortable.

Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection of cooked and cold items.

In my view good value and standard.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel, Portland street can be a little busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for your kind comments toward our staff. As all our guest feedbacks, I will pass yours to our team.

Hope to see you again staying with us at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catnmouseuk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. Although we booked a twin room good six months in advance on arrival we were told they didn't have twin rooms so me and my friend would get a double room with an extra bed. The extra bed turned out to be a tiny bed right under the windowsill where you could easily bang your head plus draught was coming through the window so we decided to share the double bed instead. Double bed was large enough, however we were still rather annoyed about the fact twin rooms were not available.

The room was clean although a little dated. In fact all we could smell was bleach, that's how clean it was. Bathroom with a walk in shower looked like a space ship hub, modern and clean.

You don't get much in the room. There were two towels (one each), no hair dryer. Coffee/tea making facilities left something to be desired as there were two sachets of sugar, two sachets of coffee and one tea bag.

One thing we noticed was room getting VERY hot at night. With no air conditioning the only option was opening the window, however it opened onto the Portland street so even at 4am traffic was really busy and noisy.

Overall not too bad for one night stay as location is perfect, yet it's pretty obvious the hotel is economy class.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gugute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and please accept my apologises for the room inconvenience. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginanorris5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2012

we stayed here for four nights in june 2012. The location was excellent and is in walking distance of the city centre, china town etc. They require payment for the room at check in so this worth bearing in mind. The staff on reception are not very helpful in my opnion and didnt seem that clued in in terms of where places were located with in the city. The room was ok but faced portland street and was noisy 24/7, i would suggest asking for a room at the back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickydyson716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Booked for three nights but only stayed in the room for 45 minutes while I arranged another hotel. The room needs updating but that was not the problem. The bathroom stank of urine; the phone did not work and had a very old telephone number on it, which I tried to call from my mobile to speak with reception only to be told it was the wrong number ; the room was drafty though the window appeared to be doubleglazed. The kettle did not work. The staff were polite but nonchalant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandynesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester City Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies and we are looking forward to wow you at your next visit.
Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Nice clean hotel, above the budget and below expensive. Got 1 night with breakfast for 2 people for £84. Subsidised parking close by at £6. Bedroom was adequate, bed was new and comfy, bathroom was a pod wet room. I thought it was going to be noisy as close to the Manchester village but was very quiet (usual noisy guests you always get but quiet bt 11pm).
Breakfast was eat as much as you want continental but also had full English, excellent value for money. Will go back for our next trip.

Room Tip: No extra for early checkin or late checkout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

My team and I always welcome positive feedback from our guest. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Manchester Portland Street. Also, I was really glad that you had a great night sleep in our new beds.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £37 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing