We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel with a super bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #46 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel with a super bed!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed at the IBIS as I was attending a conference in Manchester and thought the conference hotel was too expensive. The room is basic and to be honest a bit clinical and depressing which goes for the rest of the hotel. My colleague and I wanted to go for a beer in the hotel bar (which doubles as the hotel’s restaurant) but found that this lacked complete atmosphere and looked rather like a work canteen. The bathroom is a separate unit within the room but works fine although the water pressure is a bit weak but very clean which goes for the rest of the room as well. Small telly but a very comfortable bed that match if not exceed bed I have slept in at 4 or 5 * hotels. Breakfast was good. Overall the hotel was fine for a short stay but I think I would have found it depressing to stay here for more than a couple of days!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    668
    329
    115
    64
See reviews for
150
530
194
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

One nights stay for a friends wedding at the town Hall. Perfect location, excellent staff all in all pretty faultless, room a bit tired but it is due a refurb. Found out Midland Hotel, far superior was £15 cheaper and included breakfast,but cest la vie.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichaelWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I am sorry I got my dates mixed up and booked the 05/12/12 and 06/12/12 when I should have booked the 05/01/13 and 06/01/13. Therefore I paid for 3 rooms each night when I didn't stay there and have just realised thanks to you so I have just rebooked the rooms.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacquicostigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you very much for sharing with us your feelings about the reservation problem you had to face. I understand that you have unfortunately mixed the dates when booking. Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to talk with our front office staff upon check-in.

I am looking forward to welcome you in ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed one night at this Ibis. An initial problem with the reservation was compensated by the cheerful determination of Receptionist Maria to get it sorted (which she did). All staff friendly and helpful. Hotel spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The food was good, only minor black mark was that there was no HP sauce at breakfast! (or I couldn't find it). It is not a luxury hotel, but it is not a luxury price. It is very good value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

On arrival, we were greeted by two ladies who spoke very poor English. Went to room to find it tiny. Two very narrow single beds and a bathroom you could hardly turn around in. When opening shower door it hit off the toilet almost breaking the glass. Shower head was broken but it was however fixed as soon as we told staff. Although the hotel is generally very clean, the carpet in the room was well stained and sticky in parts. There are better hotels in the area for around the same price so wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantonasbigbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester City Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies and we are looking forward to wow you at your next visit.
Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Ok, so I get that this is a budget hotel. Accepted. However, when compared with similar priced budgets like Premier Inn just a short stroll down the road on Portland Street, this is poor value.

The reception and bar/breakfast area is deceiving - it is modern, recently refurbed and nicely fitted out. Staff on check in were pleasant but nothing more.

Went up in the lift to my room (Whilst the staff member watched me struggle/ignore me to activate the lift using your key card) and got out on the third floor. I can only describe this as a concrete clad back of a supermarket type service area. The corridors were wide and large with no decor, just white painted concrete walls. When I say concrete walls, I don't mean in an urban, trendy way, I mean 1960's tower block. It was just unwelcoming as a place to sleep. In need of a repaint and general modernisation.

Hey-ho, I thought - its just a corridor. Oh no, as I walked into my room, it resembled something like a prison cell where the white concrete wall theme continued. It echoed, felt very un-homely and I noticed a dull square of painted concrete where a picture once was (now ripped off of the wall). The woodwork was chipped and damaged and the curtains hanging off their rails.

Wi-fi does not exist and the hardwired connection/TV internet did not function at all. No freeview - only the basic 5 channels.

I arrived late so asked for a pizza from the bar that I would collect. 15 minutes later I was told they have no pizzas left so I went next door to Subway.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and room clean. Bathroom was an odd pod like area in the corner - good size and the shower was powerful. The comfort of the bed and the decent shower saved this review from being a "terrible".

Massive queue on check out - no sense of urgency from the staff - one of whom were dealing, worryingly, with a pest contractor!!!

I'm due to stay here again on business next week - I will certainly arrange for this to be re-arranged

Good location - Ok for stag do's etc but if you're travelling alone or on business etc and appreciate a tiny amount of home comforts in a budget hotel, opt for the Premier Inn down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis Manchester City Centre Portland Street, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.

I am sure you will be glad to hear that we have planned a "Stair case & Corridor" refurbishement by the end of 2012 / beginning of 2013 alongside with some rooms refurbishement.

In relation to the service provided by our team, I would like to confirm that actions are being performed in order to avoid any reoccurences.

Guest welfare is very important to us. Therefore, we do have indeed a contract with a pest contractor visiting our property on a periodical basis as a preventive action. Thanks to those checks and preventive actions being undertaken, we never had to face any pest issues since the hotel opened in 2001.

On a positive note, I was very happy to hear that you had a good night sleep in our new beds. And that you appreciated our shower facilities.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Manchester City Centre Portland Street and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Came to manchester for the football with my partner stayed in ibis before they have changed the beds had a great nights sleep got a quite room on the back of the hotel the breakfast has been updated and looks great hotel clean and tidy as normal staff so frendly bar was busy at night got served quickly staff remembered me from my last stay nice touch the same guy andy was on the bar from my last visit and he remembered us very frendly and welcoming staff member had a great night at the bar because of him had a great stay again keep up the great work

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyallly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
I would like to thank you for leaving a very nice comment about your stay in Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street. I was very glad to hear about the service provided to you by Andy with that personal touch. We, as a team take a particular pride in recognising previous customer.

We are looking forward seeing you again in Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Property: Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing