We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New Union Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Le Ville Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Rembrandt's Annex(Manchester)
View Hotel
REM Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
456
740
368
129
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
740
368
129
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsportland streetcentral locationq parkcomfortable bedmain roadshower roomwould stay againpalace theatreshort stayone night staycar parknight's sleeppiccadilly stationnoiseearplugskettleconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,009 - 1,014 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Have been here a lot of times and this ibis is very good.
There are new beds who are much better than the old ones .
The breakfast is also very good and the staff are very helpful.

The Bar is nice and you can buy snacks to all night long.

The strange thing is everytime i have been here one elevator has been out of order =)

Friday and saturday nights it can be very noisy from Portland street so if you don't want any noice in the night please ask for a room to the Backyard.

I will be back for sure then it is a great Hotel with many Manchester City fans from Scandinavia who stay here =)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you so much for your loyalty to ibis.

I was very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Furthermore, I would like to thank you very much for you nice review.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and I am looking forward to welcoming you back at ibis Manchester Portland Street very soon.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have just had a very disappointing stay at this Ibis hotel. The hotel itself it the usual Ibis style, so the rooms are small but functional (the beds are very comfortable) but this was let down by poor maintenance - the curtains in my room were broken and didn't close properly and the standard of the décor was poor and there was a strange food smell in the corridors which I think emanated from a local Indian restaurant.

Check-in was a bit chaotic, I was the only person there at the time but the receptionist didn't really seem to know what she was doing and failed to notice that I had prepaid for breakfast and tried to charge me for it again. I decided to eat in the hotel on my first night as it was late and I was tired but again service was very slow (and I was the only person in there!) which meant the meal was unnecessarily drawn out.

Breakfast was OK, usual Ibis fare, but the staff were very poor at cleaning the tables so when I arrived I had to clear a table myself in order to sit down.

I appreciate that the Ibis chain is a the more budget end of the market but I have stayed in quite a few over the years and this one just fell quite short in the customer service department.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street.
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I would like to confirm that we have taken note of your comments which we have since addressed.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
1
Reviewed 4 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Walking in to a hotel room with an open window always makes me suspicious - and I was right to be. Over the course of the next couple of hours the unmistakable smell of urine steadily increased to the point of being offensive.

Other points:
- great location
- breakfast overpriced at £8 extra
- corridors very reminiscent of student hall accommodation
- friendly staff
- clean room
- usual hypocrisy about not washing towels to save the environment (i.e. profit), but disposable plastic cups etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedfordboy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

In the meantime, I am pleased to see that you found our Team to be friendly and our hotel to be well located.

Accor's sustainable development strategy, PLANET 21, which was launched in April 2012, defines 21 commitments and ambitious goals the hotels must meet by 2015 and includes a program to inform guests and employees and encourage them to contribute to reinventing hotels, sustainably.
In addition, in May 2013, Accor Hotels in UK launched their agro-forestry partnership with Pur Project to mark the first anniversary of PLANET 21. So far, thanks to the laundry savings generated by the Plant for the Planet program, Accor hotels have funded the planting of 3 million trees worldwide.

Yours sincerely,
Jeremy Vrancken
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews