We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for a night in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #49 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value for a night in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Well located close to Piccadilly. Welcoming reception. Room clean and in good condition. Only on 2nd floor and street facing but still not too much noise. Very comfy bed. Adequate bathroom. Able to still get a drink at 2am without any fuss. If you just need somewhere to rest your head at good value, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldLanghoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Kind regards, Clare Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    644
    320
    111
    63
See reviews for
147
507
186
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pontefract
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for christmas market visit, perfect location for this.

Very basic rooms, wouldn't say immaculate but Ok.

Park in the NCP car park. I was advised it is a 5 min walk, took us about 2 minutes. Great value at £6 for 24 hours, just take your parking ticket to the hotel for validating.

Would probably stay elsewhere if we were to visit the market again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maxwell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted you enjoyed your visit to Manchester and enjoyed the Christmas Markets. I'm sorry that you experienced problem with noise at the hotel, had we been aware we would of been happy to accommodate you to another room.

Thank you once again for your feedback and hope we can welcome you again in the the near future.

Kind regards, Clare Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on 30th November. Chose this hotel for its central location - we were at a concert at the 02 Apollo.
The hotel has a 12pm check in/out, which was great. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful - even telling us which bus to get to the 02 Apollo - which incidentally was incorrect! We got told to catch the 43 bus, on Princess Street. The bus driver on the 43 said we needed the 192, from the bus station, which we then walked back to.
Our room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom smelled strongly of bleach, which was obviously clean, but the smell at times was a bit overpowering. We did consider asking to change to a different room, purely due to the bleach smell.
The bed was comfortable enough. But the noise from the traffic outside, with sirens going off from either police cars or ambulances, along with the drunken shouting of late night revellers, gave me a restless nights sleep. I did actually have earplugs in, and still heard the noise outside!
Overall, a nice clean hotel, good location.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I must apologise that you were given incorrect information regarding the bus services and have passed this onto our Reception Manager. I was happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and had you have called to reception we would of been more than happy to moved your room. Unfortunately this weekend was very busy in Manchester and the noise from street is beyond our control however, the hotel does have double glazing in the bedrooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and hope you will visit us again.

Kind Regards, Clare Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent location for a stay in manchester. Nice friendly welcome as you enter. Went to my room, Nice as it was homely and relaxed. Bathroom contains a toilet, sink and shower. Overall a good hotel for the price I paid and did the job. I would recommend to others

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I was delighted that you had a comfortable stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Clare Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights - very reasonable price £60 a night - clean, tidy hotel, friendly check in from the staff. The bed was very comfortable, and room had everything I wanted. Staff kindly provided proper milk for my coffee (cant do the little UHT cartons). Only suggestion would be a make up mirror somewhere on the desk area (as that's where the power socket was), as had to use the main mirror to do my make up and therefore sit on the floor..... you can tell this room was designed by a bloke!

First nights sleep was perfect - however second night (22nd November) was really bad as we were disturbed by other guests making an awful lot of noise during the early hours. To be fair the hotel dealt with it, called the police and had the people thrown out, but it still meant I had a bad nights sleep

Didnt have breakfast so cant comment on that. Very centrally located and good position. Great for visiting the xmas markets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the noise you experienced on your second night however as you may be aware this is not usual standards.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Ibis Manchester City Centre and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards
Clare Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

From first Hello to last Goodbye the staff were first class. The modern design suits us, and 24hour meals and drinks was a bonus.The room was spotless as was bathroom. Beds comfortable and room modern, and spacious for the price. Free Wi-Fi in room was good.Special deal with NCP £6 for 24hours in Manchester, excellent. All in all a very happy stay here, and we will be using Ibis hotels in the future.

Room Tip: We were in a room facing onto the main road and didn't hear any traffic noisies at all, so I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments regarding the level of customer service experienced during your stay. I have passed your comments to the team who are delighted to learn that their efforts have been appreciated. I was also happy that the room was comfortable and the facilities were suitable for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street again very soon.

Kind Regards
Clare Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#38 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Property: Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing