We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #50 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for one night over the weekend, we arrived around 10pm and staff were helpful and friendly, making sure we are well looked after for our stay. However when we arrived to our room we found blood on a seat cushion and when we started unpacking someone swiped their card in the door and opened it, when I went to look outside no one was there which freaked us out, in the end we locked the room door when ever we were inside, we didn't have another problem like that again.
In the evening we went out for a concert and didn't get back till four in the morning, even then the staff were friendly and willing to help whenever needed. In the morning we checked out and left our things in their bag room so we could have a search around the shops, the hotel seemed to only be a 10 minute walk to anywhere we wanted to go, so it was situated in a good location with China town only two minutes around the corner.
Great stay, definitely will be staying again if we need too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeVictoria9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear JadeVictoria9,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future Please be assured, we treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Lobby pleasant modern. Rooms so so basic very unusual bathroom, like that of an aeroplane. Corridors old very tired not at all nice. All very clean absolutely no complaints here and you will have a fairly enjoyable if soulless stay here. Breakfast actually very good indeed. Food quality high. For 60 quid it's around right. It's central you will sleep here with peace and feel clean. It's just as basic as it gets. This is standard ibis no idea what a ibis budget could have less spec wise than this. Would I stay again. Yes.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheFirrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear TheFirrs,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the ibis Manchester Centre, Portland Street. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed for one night as I was attending the Healthcare Expo at the nearby conference Centre. It is well placed for the conference centre but room was small and nowhere comfortable to sit apart from on the bed.






  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mary P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the ibis Manchester Centre, Portland Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the seating in the room, which we are addressing.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Booked for visit to Manchester University. Highly recommend the hotel and the adjoining Piazza car park. Bit difficult to find car park entrance but well worth it. Nice IBIS welcome, good room, like the 24 hours bar and food/snacks that IBIS do. Breakfast venue and service lovely. Not that we needed much after the 'all you can eat' Chinese Buffet across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Paul D,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Measha C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#31 of 121 in Manchester
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#41 of 121 in Manchester
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £43 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing