We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #50 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here for a business conference for 3 nights in March. Friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable bed were plus points. Breakfast was good with plenty of options.
Only negative was an extreme feeling of being ripped of when I was charged £1.50 for a standard Mars Bar which I needed in a hurry when my sugar levels went down.
I didn't use the bar for drinks so I don't know what the prices there were like but if the Mars is any kind of indicator.............
The hotel is in a central location and half price parking is available in a multi storey next to the hotel which is shared by Novotel and others.
A good visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the ibis Manchester Centre, Porltand Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the price of the chocolate bar, which we will forward to the relevant department for consideration.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Good staff, clean and the rooms are fine, you know "what you pay for is what you get" type of budget room. Only on this occasion, I was totally ripped off. I stayed on Friday 3rd April for £83.00 (ouch) and Saturday 4th April for a whopping £145. When I responded to the Accor Hotels online customer satisfaction form, complaining of their very high prices, they replied that they were busy that weekend and their prices fell in line with similar hotels. My advice to Ibis is for them to stop copying their competitors and start differentiating themselves, in what is, a very competitive budget hotel market. Please remember this was a booking for a very, very basic room, on a room only basis. Although for a budget hotel it was OK, I would not recommend this hotel to my friends, business partners, or TripAdvisor travellers, all the while Ibis (or Accor) clearly have a strategy which is all about exorbitant profiteering, rather than giving their customers reasonable value. It's a shocking way to go about their business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Peter L,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with the rate available during your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and as previously advised, we do closely monitor our rates in effort to offer the best value.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

stayed in this hotel in January for 4 nights I consider this hotel as a budget one .Rooms are very clean and good size and comfortable . Breakfast was divine for the money you pay for . very helpful staff . I really consider this hotel if your staying for short of long time I definitely stay in this hotel when I visit Manchester again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyperegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear mandyperegin,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Having arrived at 11.30pm after a day of travel, the staff were utterly brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern & clean. Breakfast was great too, a brilliant stay all round!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank daddysgeekygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear daddysgeekygirl,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Spent only one night here unfortunately.. Beautiful hotel, room was spotless and comfortable! staff were very friendly and helpful! Hotel was centrally located and easy to get to. Would definitely stay here again. Price was very reasonable also

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colleenk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Colleenk1,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 970Ismail
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing