We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for short stays in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #48 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent, centrally located for all Manchester city sites. The rooms are the usual Ibis set out and are very clean. Appreciated the air conditioning. There is a car park to the rear of the hotel and the hotel does a deal on the price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of restaurants nearby especially china town. Ours was a mid week stay so the hotel at night was nice and quiet, don't know about week ends though. Would definitely recommend this hotel for short breaks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhtlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for the positive comments.
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time with us.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good central spot for the stag party. Rooms were clean, we had twin rooms, plenty space, showeroom/toilet was clean, tv had maany channels. Staff at the reception were very good and patient dealing with 10 lads checking in under 1 booking and arranging rooms etc.

Didnt have the breakfast because it was a bit expensive approx £10, but there was a decent place up the street when you head left out the door, up the street about 2 blocks and turn left. Place on the left hand side of the street with 2 shrubs in pots out front, that was £5 for full english, plenty extra toast and free tea or coffee if you ask for it when you order it (cant remember the name of the place though).

The residents bar was poor, you could stay in the reception for as long as you wanted but the bar at reception closes early! the beer there wasnt that good but at 3-4am it was ok!

There were loads of cross dressers staying at the hotel, they were funny enough!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobnoxious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for the review.
We always welcome feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
May I just mention that we offer a large Buffet Breakfast (English & Continental) for only £7.95. You may want to try it on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel as they allow pets which is a must for us. The rooms are well laid out with a kingsize bed and a pod like area, where the toilet and shower are located. As we stayed in July and the weather was good the air con was essential and kept our room cool. Our room was ready early which was a bonus a I only expected to leave the luggage when we arrived. Will stay here again friendly staff and good value.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Chippy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your great comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday in January.

Terrible room on the end row of rooms with a thin wall that backed on to the lift so when people were arriving back at all hours on our floor we could hear their loud conversations.

The breakfast was the most horrible thing I've ever had, the beans looked like they'd been under a heat lamp that wasn't even hot all morning they were cold and had a layer of skin growing on top of them. Told the woman on reception and she took them in the back stirred them up a bit and warmed them in the microwave then brought them back out!!! The scrambled egg was like rubber and looked like it had been sat their for hours as well!!!

The only good thing was the location makes easy access to Manchester centre for shopping etc, car park is quite a distance from the hotel as well so have to wheel luggage down the street only about 5mins but wouldn't be good if elderly or had a lot of luggage.

Have never stayed in an Ibis again since this one as the experience was so bad, always go for Premier Inn now!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iMacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts about your stay In January at our Hotel.
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience while staying with us and that we failed to live up to your expectations. Please be assured that we are looking into the matters mentioned and we are fixing the issues accordingly. May I mention that a few months ago, we have improved our Breakfast Buffet selection to offer a wider and fresher range of products.
I hope you'll give us another chance and that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Regards
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent staff and manager,very well received on arrival.Room to Ibis standard and very peaceful location considering city centre spot.
Car park adjacent was convenient and with the Ibis rate was a bonus.
Would definitely stay here again.Thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
2  Thank rellis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your fantastic comments. I am deligted you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Manchester Centre and hope you will visit us again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent a weekend in this hotel. The location is central and within walking distance to all of Manchester's main attractions, restaurants and great bars. The rooms are spotless and are cleaned on a daily basis. The reception staff are very friendly and helpfull. I would definitely return to Manchester and stay at the Ibis on Portland street!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yipsandyeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your great feedback i am delighted that the staff gave you a warm welcome to the hotel, I'll be sure to forward your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you to Ibis Manchester Centre again in the very near future.

Kinfd Regards
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,861 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £47 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing