We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel!”
Review of Diamond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Lodge
Ranked #64 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The hotel room was quite small and old fashioned but tidy and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's handy enough to get the bus into town as well and there's a cinema next door. There's an average restaurant and bar downstairs as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

Booked this though booking.com, was worried by some of the reviews but need not of worried. As I said in the title got of the train at piccadilly train station but route outside station every ten minutes take you to outside the hotel. Booking in was fast and efficent given room 212 facing front main road. Room was small but had everything you needed penty of tea coffee and biscuits these were replaced daily, bedspreads rather than quilts but we were warm in fact hot at night. Bathroom was ok but could do with re-grouting plenty of hot water. Stayed for three nights could hear road noise but live on a main road so did,nt bother me or my husband, could hear people arriving at night but that also did not bother us. The let down for us was breakfast. The food itself was plentiful its just you need a microwave to warm it (sorry to tell you at the hotel its always cold). Overhaul I would stay at this hotel again location is excellent, room good, facilities good, food could be better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Quiet hotel 5 minutes from the Center by taxi. Spacious rooms and attentive service and breakfast is very good

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

There is no lift in the hotel and I had a suitecase! I searched for the lift but was told there was none and then realising I would struggle, the receptionist carried my suitecase upstairs to my room. The room was fine and had everything that I needed. The television reception/tuning was poor. The breakfast was well presented but the person responsible for the food was a bit short when she was asked for things. All in all - good value.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor if you have luggage and if you don't want to hear people in the rooms above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woowoo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

On arriving in our room, we were disappointed to find that the bed, which I think may have been 2 singles pushed together, was in fact on the skew and the actual bed base itself dirty and ripped - there was no valance and the dirt and rips were plain to see. The general standard of cleanliness was low.

After asking to be moved rooms (which they did do without fuss) we were given a 2nd room, which was better, but still not clean enough.

The tiles in the bathroom were black with mould in parts and inside the shower hose where it joins the head, so full of mould and mildew it was unacceptable. The toilet seat was fixed on a skew, or so we thought, until it was sat on and moved and the resulting dirt from under where the plastic hinge cover had been, turned your stomach.

Blankets on the bed, not a duvet, covered over by a patterned bedcover which had stains on. Also there were hairs in the bed on pulling back the sheets.

We ended up having to buy bleach to clean the loo.

Breakfast was ok, but having obviously been served buffet style since 06.30 (we went down at 09.20), it wasn't fantastic and could definitely have been hotter. The worst bit though was that the tables had not seen a clean in between residents and we were left to sit at the best of a bad lot. Covered in the previous peoples spills and cups etc.

On leaving, the lady (manageress possibly?) - told us that if we were not happy with the level of cleanliness when we arrived we should have said! We did! We changed rooms infact! Although apologetic, we were given no sort of recompense, other than a mere £6.00 off our bar bill (which was only £11 anyway).

As I say, you don't expect high levels of luxury, but cleanliness is a basic - I would never stay again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahandcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for one night recently, paid £59 bed & breakfast. Excellent value. Great modern budget hotel, lovely decor, clean, good sized room. But for us the bed was rather too hard! Very friendly, helpful receptionist. Our room faced the main road but with windows shut it's fine. Lovely breakfast - really good to have that included in the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendra1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

stayed here as it was included in a package to see man utd . locations not bad. the greyhound track directly across the road from hotel is a great night out. hotel is brilliant value for money

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoose4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#60 of 120 in Manchester
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
865 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#59 of 120 in Manchester
64 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodge

Address: Hyde Road | Belle Vue, Manchester M18 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing