We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel cheap & cheerful”
Review of Diamond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Lodge
Ranked #66 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I always have a open mind about reviews what i might like others might not, this hotel was good better then i thought. we stayed here for coldplay gig at eithad stadium . i was not going to be stuck in traffic for hours like i was with take that concert,so booked this with walking distance in mind like andrew jason said only took 50mins to walk seems longer cuz its long roads but it quicker then stuck in traffic.check in young lady was very helpful ( she told us the way to walk to gig ) & very cheerful room was ok by standards decor was a bit iffy , bedding could have done with quilt not blankets. clean towels, hairdryer, flat screen tv, tea & coffee in your room, room was clean and tidy and roomy.good night sleep no noise The gent on night duty at reception was very pleasant even let you bring food back.staff in the morning sun 10th june could do with getting some tips off sat staff for being friendly .. Breakfast was better then i thought scramble eggs bacon sausages & beans toast. cereals or fruit tea and coffee .good hotel for dog racing just opp the hotel so no worrys about driving just leave your car at hotel and walk... i would stop again at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARROWBYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Inexpensive, basic lodgings with good breakfast included in cost. Relatively close to etihad stadium and city centre.
Poor sleep due to the smallest double bed I have ever slept on. Lumpy mattress, felt like i was sleeping on a hill.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daz2397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I was a little worried about htis hotel before we arrived but the hotel was a lot better than i thought it was going to be.It is a cheap hotel so dont expect all the delights of a top hotel,its ideal if you just want to get your head down somewhere for a night or two.The check in was great with a very helpful and attractive young lady,as was the directions to the room.We paid £49.00 for two people and i didnt know that included breakfast so i was over the moon when i was told it did.The rooms are big,warm,clean and the decor was in a ok state.Bathroom was again big,everything worked fine and lots of clean fresh towels.The bed was a little uncomfy as the idea of blankets instead of a duvet was little heavy for me,but again what do you expect from a cheap hotel.There was no noise at night,a nice flat screen tv to watch in bed with freeview tv.The breakfast was ok too,no problems there either.We stayed here to go to the eithad stadium to watch coldplay,its about 50min walk and the walk was very boring and it took us ages to find a cash point(nearest is in the petrol station).All in all i was statisfied about the hotel but i would find somewhere closer to the stadium if i was to go there again but thats not the hotel at fault.nice little gem of a stay for the price.

Room Tip: does not matter where you stay,its only three stories high and its shaped like a diamond so you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

If you're planning a night at the dogs and you want a good cheap hotel just a 2 minute stagger away after a few beers you can't go wrong here.
room and hot buffet breakfast for 60 quid for a family of 4. Rooms when we have stayed (3 times) have been clean and fresh, staff are freindly and helpful. what more do you need? If you want want a luxurious place, then pay more and stay somewhere else, but we think it's hard to fault for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Dont get me wrong, the room was clean in terms of surfaces and bed. But the minute we opened the door an awful smell of a combination of sweat and smoke filled our lungs! I don't know if all rooms smell the same but it was terrible.

But as you get used to it , everything is fine, bed was ok bathroom was below average as it also smells ( a kind of smell that doesn't go no matter how much you clean it ).

Parking was great large number of parking spots available.

Staff were friendly, and breakfast was good.

It was only 44 a night so very good value for money.

PS if you want to go to the city center take your car it is cheaper to park there than to take a bus, we spent £10 on a bus ( two people) but if we had taken the car it would have been 4 or maximum £5 for a three hour parking.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here for the Manchester derby in April 2012. The hotel is perfectly placed for MCFC's Etihad stadium, it took us less than 15 minutes to walk to the ground. If you are going for the same reason I would recommend walking along the main roads and avoid cutting through the Gorton estate, it was very intimidating and we took a lot of flack in our City shirts. The hotel itself is clean and the staff are very friendly. Check in was swift and we were given clear instructions for our stay. The hotel bar isn't as expensive as some have suggested, but then again be are used to southern prices, and the breakfast was more than adequate for what we had paid, cooked and cold options (plus it was a buffet so all you can eat). All in all a good stay and we are going to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I couldn't ask for much more for £44 per room. We booked 3 rooms (a twin and two singles). Although the interior hasn't been renovated in some time all of the rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and efficient; we had our keys within a couple of minutes of arriving. Free wireless is an advantage. Breakfast is included but you get what you pay for; if I returned to the diamond lodge I would skip the hotel breakfast and pay for better quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#60 of 120 in Manchester
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
2.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodge

Address: Hyde Road | Belle Vue, Manchester M18 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing