We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent, cheap and cheerful apart from the noise.”
Review of Diamond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Lodge
Ranked #63 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed 24 November 2013

helpful staff, beds and rooms ok for a budget hotel the biggest problem being the noise. We stayed for friday and saturday night. Friday was ok, apart from the traffic but Saturday was horrendous. Screaming, shouting and very loud music coming from across the road. It went on for hours. The loud speakers from the track were pointed straight at our room. Pollution at its worst. My parter had a hmigrane so really spoiled our stay.
if you want a peaceful stay then choose another hotel. This one is at the wrong side of manchester.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Used the is hotel as a base for visiting the Manchester velodrome . It was a good choice . Very low price , not luxury but great value for money. Also an easy 5/10 minute drive to the velodrome or any other event in Sport City (like the Etihad Stadium). Staff could not have been more helpful. I usually prefer rooms above ground floor but on this occasion we got a ground floor room adapted to take a wheelchair (they we don't need this) , advantage being that it was very large. The double bed was a little small and quite hard. If we go again I would ask for two singles.

Room Tip: If you want a large room, ask for one of the wheelchair adapted rooms on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for a one nighter whilst visiting the Apollo. (Hotel is only 2 miles away so ideal.) Hotel is a budget brand but for £45 incl a good breakfast is great value.
Interior is similar to Premier Inn and bed comfy with a topper.
Some areas of the hotel need a little attention. Radiators were dusty and blanket on our bed needed replacing. Had a meal which was surprisingly good and good value. Also there is free wifi so a good deal.
Room was OK but ask for one not backing onto the A57 as it is a little noisy (traffic)
If management just tidy this up a little it would, for the money be a 5* stay....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are very nice and clean and comfortable. Very good wifi.

Shame about the location, when we looked at booking this, it said 10 minutes from Manchester but what it does not say is that it is on the wrong side of Manchester.

When you walk to the train station, it does not feel very safe and there is no electronic board or announcements to say that the trains are not turning up but just did not show up and there is no staff, no lights and very unsecure. We went down there and as 2 females it was not very nice to have a group of lads walk down to where we standing.

The buses are very crowded and it was not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My partner an I stayed at the Diamond Lodge Hotel recently. The hotel is directly opposite Belle Vue Dog Track...

The hotel is busy and enjoys a client / corporate catchment.
The hotel has one oddity, you can have a fried egg with your evening meal but not with breakfast.

Breakfast is all you can eat with a great selection of cooked and cereals etc but you cant have a fried egg..you can plead beg or complain but no fried eggs at breakfast..

The rooms are clean and well appointed with ample hot water in the bath room.

The hotel owners, Mr and Mrs Smith have a long proven history in the hotel and hospitality trade and this reflects today in the Diamond Lodge..

The hotel represents good value for money

Room Tip: Any room..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip1956776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. I have to say the stars of hotel are the 2 ladies than run breakfast... They are FAB !!! and the night porter, BUT the reviews are right about the reception staff, they are cold and distant in attitude. They need a good course in customer service. The biggest issue was the FREE wifi, it never worked properly, and that would make me stay somewhere else next time !!!, Apart from all that great value.

Room Tip: All the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a very very basic hotel ideal location for transport links, bus services to the city centre (15mins away). Man City's ground is 5 mins away, but note at the weekend if Man Utd are at home this hotel is used by Irish traveling fans who do not leave until Sunday. It is a very noisy hotel with running up and down the corridors, screaming shouting etc. It is cheap for a reason. Rooms at the front of the hotel are on a very busy main road so expect to hear traffic all night, sirens etc. It is clean, but the rooms are on par with as some people were saying prison cells. There is a restaurant food again basic and well interesting nothing looks edible. Breakfast is in with the room cost and not bad. Self service, hot bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, toast etc. Juices and hot drinks are available. Those using the hotel for odd night not football related or on a hen/stag party all complained. People were even allowed to smoke weed outside the front door on Saturday night, my partner couldn't believe it. THIS HOTEL IS AN EXPERIENCE, BUT YOU PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET. Will not be returning for any reason.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the very busy main road or you will listen to heavy traffic and sirens all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#62 of 121 in Manchester
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#57 of 121 in Manchester
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
2.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 121 in Manchester
891 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodge

Address: Hyde Road | Belle Vue, Manchester M18 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing