We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful...you get exactly what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Little Northern Hotel
Chester, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful...you get exactly what you pay for!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at The Little Northern Hotel earlier this week after seeing Fleetwood Mac at Manchester Arena. I received a call from Maria while we were on the train on the way (half expecting a 'we are over-booked' scenario!) just checking we were coming and what time. When we arrived, it turned out she was checking because she had many people asking about a room and didn't want to turn away business if we were in fact not coming - fair enough! We were given room 203 on 2nd floor, which we were told was the nicest room (turns out it was because it has a window!). Anyway, the room was small, BUT it was spotlessly clean, en-suite shower room was also very clean and we had towels and a TV remote. Karaoke was in full swing when we arrived, which made for a fun atmosphere in the pub. Very little noise could be heard from our room, which was good. All in all, if I needed somewhere central for an overnight following a gig, I would more than likely stay here again. If all you want is somewhere clean to sleep and shower the next morning it's perfect...but if you expect luxury, don't bother!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms probably quieter, and make sure you ask for a room with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    24
    13
    26
See reviews for
7
36
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The word 'Hotel' probably should be removed from the title in my eyes because this place is nothing more than a hostel and a bad one at that.Any hotel ive ever stayed in has had toilet/shower facilities IN the room whereas the twin room i stayed in didnt,instead they were across the hall in another room.The room itself was basic,no bedside lamp,no tv remote(at reception,and deposit needed..!) Wall sockets were away from the bed,this may sound trivial but not when trying to use your phone while in bed.All in all this place was not worth £45 per night,better facilities at the nearby backpckers hostel for half the price.Sorry but i have nothing nice to say about the LIttle Northern.P.S. there are no towels provided either,no even a hand towel.Joke.

Room Tip: make sure you have a toilet/shower IN the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_j_leahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

donegal ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights bank hol sun to tues. Lovely place great location 2 mins walk to pic gardens shops and 2 mins opposite direction to the tram and bus station. Basic rooms but clean and tidy exactly what we were looking for. Lovely staff very helpful. On the day we were leaving our flight wasnt to the evening so they let us leave our luggage while we went shopping. A bit noisy on the sun night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is in a very good position in the northern quarter. the atmosphere in the pub was friendly the food i had was quite good pub food . The room was clean and the staff were also friendly, i would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Well we only stayed there for 3 nights so I think it was ok. We stayed in a 1st floor room but except Friday night (which was our last) the noise from the pub didn't go on after 12 o'clock. The room was clean but the only thing the cleaning staff did those 3 nights was to empty the trash bin once because I asked. Most of the staff was very good but a little bit unprofessional which caused some misunderstandings. Very helpful on the other hand and kind. We enjoyed our breakfast a lot. The location is very nice. There are a lot of things to see and do around. The street in front of the hotel is a little bit crowded at nights (I guess that is because of the summertime) and since it was very hot these days we had to sleep with our window open (there was no air conditioning) and that was a bit of a problem especially on our last day where we were awakened every 5 minutes until about 3 past midnight.
To sum up, a bit loud but that was to be expected because of the pub downstairs, great location.

Room Tip: As we stayed at a 1st floor room I think it's wiser to ask for a room in the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrsini28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Not been to the millstone pub for years, (pub fronting the little northern hotel). Meeting some friends from work for a few drinks, we were supposed to be only having one in there and moving on. What a great pub. Decided to stay there all afternoon. The staff, the beer, the customers, the atmosphere etc were brilliant. Didn't try the food but that looked nice as well. Even the landlord came to us, shook our hands and thanked us for using his pub. Absolutley brilliant old fashioned beautiful well run pub. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Manchester. Belts.

Room Tip: Did not use the hotel but the pub is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed here 1 night as was at robbie Williams concert. When we got there we were taken through to what used to be the dining room to pay and sign in etc, i have to say at this point we were wondering if we had done the wrong thing as the room was quite untidy etc but once we were shown to our rooms we were very pleasantly surprised it was basic but very clean and tidy and value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful and if i was to go back to Manchester i would use this hotel again. Breakfast was served in the bar and cooked to order when you came down so well worth paying the extra for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloverobbiewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#42 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hatters Hilton Chambers
Hatters Hilton Chambers
#22 of 77 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lower Turks Head
Lower Turks Head
#6 of 27 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abel Heywood
Abel Heywood
#7 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Northern Hotel

Property: The Little Northern Hotel
Address: 67 Thomas Street, Manchester M4 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Little Northern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Little Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing