We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Lodge Manchester City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Central
Ranked #36 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed at hotel in Blackfriars Road for Concert at Arena
Booked 4 months in advance (As soon as confirmed Concert Tickets) and got a great deal - £35 per night when people booking on the day were payiny £106 - £110
Location is excellent for City Centre nights out and Phones 4 U Arena

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Check-in was efficient, key drop off on departure. Choice of rooms offered to me when I arrived. The room was large and very clean, the bathroom was spotless and I have to say I found the staff very pleasant and courteous, even offering to give me something to take with me for breakfast on my departure day as I was leaving well before the breakfast would be served.

The dining and bar area are functional although not to everyone's taste as are bright, shiny and with lots of hard surfaces. If you want plush furnishings, cosy nooks with wood panelled walls and open fires etc ...you will need to go elsewhere and be prepared to pay the added cost, but as I was only there for 2 nights on business, it worked for me.

Yes, it's bland and, as with most business models these days, you get what you pay for (which, to be honest, is very cheap for the location). Everything that you need and you pay for anything and everything over this. £36 for bed and breakfast in a city centre location gives you all you need by way of somewhere clean, spacious and secure to sleep. This represents very good value. WiFi at £3 for 24 hours was reasonable, in my view.

Note, however, there is no air-conditioning and the corridors and rooms do get very warm. If you have the windows open, it can be noisy.

All things considered, I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms to the rear, being north facing, remain cooler (although they are still warm !)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good location, food in bar and general service, room very clean, no AC in room let it down as it was a hot day/night, windows open not an option due to traffic noise outside (was aware of this before booking)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Positive: free internet,close to Shopping/centre and reasonable car park (£7/day), friendly staff.

Negative:
Lifts smell of urine; offensive odour in the room and bathroom smell of public urinal. Room was hot and despite opening windows - it remain hot, no temp control. very noisy exterior, expect no lie in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Manchester Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review AnuRo. We are very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your room. Unfortunately, not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however a number of fans are available from reception on a first come first serve basis. Furthermore, our staff are required to ensure that all areas of the hotel remain clean and smell free so it is regrettable to learn of the smells you encountered during your stay. Regrettably, it is also not always possible to fully reduce the noise that our guests might experience in their room. However, we make every effort to minimise the noise that might be heard from outside the hotel by having insulated walls and double glazed windows. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, and had a brilliant time in Manchester.The room was large,modern and very clean,with everything you would expect.The bed was amazing! I have never slept in such comfort. The only fault we had was the traffic noise.Our room was at the front facing a very busy road and because of the hot weather,we had to leave the windows open,which meant we could hear the traffic most of the night.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor so maybe a room higher up or facing the side,cverlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Pleasant hotel close to a wide selection of bars and entertainment all within easy walking distance. Hotel itself had a very good bar and a good selection of food was on offer but regrettably didn't try but may do on my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Overall not a disastrous stay but I've stayed in better travelodge hotels!

+ perfect location - close to city centre, Transport, restaurants and bars
+ decent breakfast
+ decent size room
+ friendly reception staff

- room was way too hot. Asked for a fan and was given this by the reception staff.
- view was of car park.. Didn't mind this too much but it did get noisy
- although room was clean, the bathroom floor could have done with a clean

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#92 of 120 in Manchester
964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
#65 of 120 in Manchester
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central

Address: 11 Blackfriars Street | Townbury House, Manchester M3 5AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Manchester
#38 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Hotel Manchester
Travel Lodge Manchester
Manchester Travelodge
Manchester Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing