We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #1,668 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Always busy, great reasonably priced drinks, a really good vibe! Good mix of music and people
Staff are lovely and helpful.
one of Manchester's best

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marlyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Aggressive bouncers! ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Appalled that me and my friends booked a VIP table on bank holiday for a friends birthday and paid over £400 for it!

Two girls came over and sat in our booth, when my friend, who's birthday it was, asked one of them to not sit there (as she was suspicious she was drinking our drinks also) she said "I will sit where ever the f*** I want" so it escalated quickly - The girl threw a drink all over my friends new £200 light blue dress so when I had confronted her why she did that her friend got involved, but I turned away. I'm not a fan of confrontation. Then next thing I know I've got a drink poured on my legs!

I wasn't happy about this at all and asked her why did she do that? Then she threw another drink at me! The bouncers saw that there was a problem, I tried explaining, but next thing I know I'M the one getting dragged out, by my arm, where I now have a bruise. And my two guy friends tried helping me, but both ended up with black eyes from the bouncers getting aggressive! Then we had got thrown out and not allowed back in? Then next thing, the other 10 of my friends got asked to leave by the bouncers?! After spending all that money we had only had two hours in there!!!!!!

When we had got thrown out, me and my two friends got talking to a bouncer nearby from another club and he said they had lots of complaints about the bouncers in Sakura.

I've been to Sakura 3 times before and never had a problem, always been a good night and good events but definitely never visiting there again because of the bouncers and I suggest to any one don't go! And if you do, don't spend lots of money there because once they've got your money they don't care about you!!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank pinklady412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The new managerial staff are horrendous, a five year old could do better than them, very biased even though we were spending a lot of money at the bar. Avoid where possible, not even worth the disgusting behaviour and unhelpful people that work there, i will not be attending again or associating myself with thieves which get away through staff, highly unprofessional. The manger is not helpful what so ever, please do not go to avoid being upset with theft.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank socialtulip2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gone incredibly downhill!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I used to go here a lot as my friend was a promoter for one of the nights but I didn't go for a while and decided I'd go for my birthday in August. What a mistake that was!

To begin with I had a drink spilt all down my brand new duck egg grey silk dress - we didn't get off to a good start.

Alongside us were a large group of burly men with they're Thai brides who were dancing like it was a strip club. It felt awful to be there but we were determined to have a good time.

We then moved downstairs where it got even seedier, it was really awful! I had arranged VIP for the night, I had emails to confirm it but when we got downstairs they claimed they knew nothing and it was too full. Sorry but you'll turn people away when there's a minimum spend in there? They must be immune to the recession!

I really wouldn't go again, we ended up cutting the night short which was such a shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vgreen188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Music Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Friendly staff, cheap drinks, good night had by all, 2nd visit and will certainly come again, we didn't eat so can't comment on food, we never paid so must have been early

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnseyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing