We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“U get what u pay for”
Review of Crown & Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown & Anchor Inn
Ranked #18 of 27 Manchester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“U get what u pay for”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Paid for 2 twin rooms got twin and 2 singles
Shared bathroom
Someone in another room throwing up all night in shared bathroom could hear them as only 2 rooms away
No mirror in rooms did have tea n coffee facilities and a tv
1 room had no curtains and was light very early
Staff were pleasant
Breakfast was ok but have had better
Was defiantly an experience
Bed was hysterical defo couldn't do 2 nights

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    18
    14
    25
See reviews for
6
13
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

In future I will check trip advisor before I book. Although there wasn't a great deal of choice at the time of booking. I did not think 90 pound in a little B and B would be this budget. Price definitely out ways this accommodations standards. Overall the whole building is tired and shabby looking. Carpets up the stairs in need of replacing or a good clean. The stench of chip fat was that unbearable we couldn't even stay for the included breakfast. Had to queue for the shared bathroom. Felt dirtier after the shower then when I got in.
Bed linen was clean although decorative cushions were stained. One little touch and the beds whizzed across the floor. Staff were helpful and friendly. Although being greeted by a female staff member in her pyjamas asking if we would like breakfast was not appreciated.
Overall a very unpleasant experience. Will never make the same mistake again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarties5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My friend and I arrived here and were greeted with the aromur of chip fat and farts.

The breakfast is not worth getting up for its the foulest thing i've ever tasted and I vomited that morning in the bin which tasted better. The bed was at best average. The staff seemed friendly enough, we made the best of a bad situation. Don't even bother using the communal shower you will come out dirtier then when you went in, and it you want to take a dump in peace you have no chance as you are sharing this bathroom with every other guest. Go to the Arndale for a one instead.

Trust me pay the extra tenna each and stay in the Crowne plaza, you'll not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_LC_law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

came here a few weeks ago and apart from the gorgeous sunshine coming into our room and the amazing breakfast... couldn't complain!!
lovely friendly staff
superb food
cheap beers n wine
open late
24hr access
not sure what else to say, oh the room was big for 2 of us, close to the bathroom so almost en suit.. and quiet considering its location

Room Tip: excellent staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms have nice laminate flooring (much better than the usual british carpet), keeping the room tidy and clean. However substantial works are still needed all around to improve the overall quality of the rooms/toilets (eg. dim lights, small sinks, no toilet paper/towels holders etc). The pub is nice and the breakfast is essential: it also comprised cooked breakfast on request. With more attention on details it would improve substantially.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ologram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in november, lads weekend away... u get the drift.

The hotel is ideally located in Manchester, on arrival was greeted by a friendly lady who guided us to our rooms. The room is what it is, a bit basic, needs some tlc, everything you need is provided. I got the impression that not much care was given to the living quarters, however the bar area is very nice and regularly busy with local.

Shared bathroom was clean, but like mentioned in other reviews can be quite slippery. The showers arent the most powerful in the world and it was a bit hit and miss whether you got hot water or not.

If your looking to do Manchester central on a budget then this is the place to stay, there are plenty of pay and display car parks locally too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights12-13 January - rooms are above the pub. Was greeted by a friendly lady on arrival who told me how to reach my room.

The room was basic, a bit old fashioned but fine for what a bloke needed for two days at the football. Didnt have time for full breakfast on the first day so the cook rustled me up a bacon toastie which was appreciated, day two I missed breakfast by ten minutes so didnt get to sample it.

All in all it was okay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#67 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Anchor Inn

Property: Crown & Anchor Inn
Address: 41 Hilton Street, Manchester M1 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown & Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing