We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband and I just spent one night for a family birthday. The hotel has a fab location just a few steps outside the door and you are in the centre of town. Great for bars restaurants and shopping. The hotel was clean and new looking. The room was good although the bed was not comfortable. The free breakfast is basic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great for a one night only stay.we parked at the NCP Printworks car park covered and secure and very close to the hotel charging £15 for 24 hours parking would recommend this. Would use this hotel again for a similar one night stay defiantly.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teresamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for the good comments on your stay at the hotel I am pleased you and your husband found the hotel well suited for the shops and bars and that the team were friendly & helpful. We hope to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    597
    157
    39
    11
See reviews for
193
440
54
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

stayed for 2 nights ,nice clean rooms staff very friendly ,brkfast was ok for what we paid ,booked with travel republic was cheaper than booking direct on their site ,parked car down across the road about 2 min away from hotel at 6.oo for 24 hours there was one for 4.80 but this was full , hotel only about 5 minute away from all the attractinos wether your going shopping or for a night out ,we visited the german x mas market this was well worth seing , would return to this hotel again i

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cofisdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed the christmas markets we hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

me and my husband stayed for two days, everything was brilliant great location to shops and night life .Lovely room everything you need very comfy,great staff very helpful.Free breky read other reviews and all the say is no bacon is this a major thing mmmm No, they have everthing else. All in all a really lovely hotel will def be back xx

Room Tip: ask for a room on floor 8 lovely views xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janesmyth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
I was thrilled to read your "brilliant" review and will ensure it is passed on to the team, I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay and we will welcome you back soon hopefully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

A new hotel very close to Arndale center for all your shopping. I have stayed twice in this hotel in the last year and I was very impressed by this new hotel. The rooms has a very good size, it smells new and the breakfast area and the lounge has a good size. The breakfast is standard Holiday Inn Express food in the UK with sausages, eggs, bread some cheese and youghurts. If you need some better breakfast , there are cafees and restaurant just outside your door or you can go 300 meters down to the Arndale center. They have a free PC in the breakfast room which work well. There is a small SPAR corner shop just outside your door where you can by your milk, sweets, biscuits , sandwiches etc,. I didn't have any problems with noise and I am certainly coming back to this hotel for future stays in Manchester.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0rwegianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your excellent feedback on the location and our free hot breakfast here at the hotel I am pleased you enjoyed your stays and we hope to see you again for a 3rd visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I stayed with my 8yr old nephew for one night 1st November in a twin room on the 2nd floor(room 207) . Great location for the Manchester arena. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, the room spotless , powerful shower and very comfy beds. We also had access to free Wifi for £52 for the night. The hotel is in a lovely quiet location and I would love to have given it a 5 star ranking except for the noise in the room which at first I thought was the air conditioning system but when I turned it off in the room, the noise was as loud as ever. Neither of us had a good nights sleep and had we been staying more than 1 night, I would have asked to be moved. Also had trouble with the taxi firm the hotel promotes, over-charging, they didn't stick to the adviertised rates in the hotel. I did get a prompt response from the manager when I emailed my problems but he said the problems with the air condtioning earlier in the year have been rectified(not in room 207!) and he would speak to the management of the taxi firm (of no help to me). I may stay in this hotel again but only if I bring earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I am glad that you found the team to be helpful and the hotel well located. I would like to offer my apologies for the noise in the room. This is an issue we have had since opening the hotel and we have spent the past year investigating and trying to resolve the rooms affected. I am pleased to say that I am 100% confident the issue has now been identified and all rooms will be checked and if needed fixed by the end of this week. I realise this doesn’t help you and your nephew as you have departed but I hope this encourages you to visit us again soon and recommend us to your friends and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

budget hotel with hot breakfast options..limited but good buffet choice. ...and they let you carry out too.if you ask.....informal eating....no evening meals but willing to let you order from takeaways and eat them in. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance to suit all budgets...and it is express so wouldnt expect evening meals anyway. Rooms comfortable with lovely shower and hotel clean. Staff very welcoming and want to please. Useful taxi phone but make sure the taxi operator knows you have suitcases too....ours didnt listen. Comfy seating area in bar and reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your positive comments & 5 stars , I am glad you enjoyed your stay, I will ensure this is passed on to our teams
We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

First impressions are good. A smart, modern-looking foyer and a friendly, efficient check-in. The rooms are not spacious but they are perfectly adequate. The rooms are clean, well-maintained, have eveything you need and are comfortable.

The biggest let-down was the catering - or lack of it. Unusually there was no evening meal but at least there are eating places close by Breakfast was provided but was limited and of mediocre quality.

It was unpleasant to have to squeeze into what was little more than a corridor for breakfast. After queuing for 10 minutes, I was disappointed to eventually find that the only cooked food was sausages and scrambled egg. The breakfast experience was distinctly rough-and-ready and reminded me of a factory canteen or, bearing in mind the large number of students and young travellers, eating in a uni cafeteria.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your comments on the hotel. I am sorry that you found the breakfast disappointing our free hot breakfast is an area that we are continually trying to improve, as you noted the area is quite limited if we have a high occupancy and I think you may have stayed when we had a large university group in house. I hope this doesn’t put you off trying us again in future as the rest of your stay was so positive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#48 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing