We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Positives:
Locations
Quietness
Cleanliness
Service
Lots of TV channels
Luggage storage

Pros
No real storage space
No iron
Hairdryer (fixed to the wall)

Please note: the pictures attached are of an accessible room.

I've stayed at this hotel over a dozen times in the last 4 months whist working in Manchester. I was working less than 500 yards away hence why my company booked me in this hotel. As for the location, it was perfect for what I wanted but it’s also situated in the trendy Northern Quarter part of the city. As a single female often venturing out alone I always felt safe as there are always people milling around. The restaurants and bars nearby have lots of character and the Arndale Centre is 3 minutes walk away - perfect if you want to pass sometime in the evenings whilst working away from home.

The hotel is generally quiet (although I only stayed here from Mondays to Wednesdays) and you hear little noise as its set back behind other buildings on Miller Street. The hotel reception is always efficient and happy to assist with any extra requests you may have.

The bed is comfortable and includes a kettle, desks and TV with Freeview. It’s a shame that there is no storage space in the rooms (wardrobe or cupboards) for clothes but I just hung up my clothes on the hangers provided. The rooms also do not include an iron or ironing board, essential for those creased up shirts. I did borrow an iron once but then started wearing my shirts on my first travel day and then packing clothes which didn’t need ironing for the remainder of my trip!

The breakfast is good value considering it’s included in the price of the room. It is basic but adequate. There is always seating and plenty of the different foods on offer (croissants, cereal, fruits, bread, yoghurts and typically English breakfast (eggs, beans and sausages).
I would certainly stay here again but when comparing this to the Crowne Plaza (which I stayed in once when the Holiday Inn was fully booked), I’d pay the extra £x a night to stay at the Plaza. Please see my review of the Crowne Plaza for more details.

Room Tip: I found the top floors were the quietest. Floor 8 is the highest floor in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gacallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    605
    161
    40
    11
See reviews for
198
443
54
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I needed a room for a gig at the arena. The location was good, infact it's just behind its upmarket cousin (The Crowne Plaza). It's ideal for the trendy Northern Quarter and of course the Arndale shopping centre.

The rooms although small are well appointed with a fresh modern feel and most important of all they are spotless.

The breakfast is usual express fare of sausage and scrambled eggs, but substantial enough to last until lunch.
It did feel abit like a school canteen queuing with your tray, but really what is wrong with a trip down memory lane.

All in all a great hotel and. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetwind1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

booked this hotel for a weekend break and from arriving till leaving could not fault 1 thing !! we would book this hotel in future !! we paid £ 140 for a double room or 2 nights you would pay double that normally for a hotel of this standard !! the breakfast was spot on and the staff at the hotel were exellant !! thanks holiday inn for a great stay !!!!!!!

Room Tip: 7 th floor good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spenny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for one night to see The Script at the MEN Arena. We were very impressed. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us directions to the Arena which is a 10 minute walk away. It was also very close to the Arndale Centre, which was useful when we only had a limited amount of time in the city. The room itself was on the eighth floor of the hotel (there are lifts with glass panels, the view from them is great), and was extremely clean and very comfortable. Again, the view from the room was fantastic. The breakfast room was light and airy and the choice was good. In fact it was the only Holiday Inn in which I have stayed at where the toaster actually worked and was fast! So all in all I would well recommend anyone to use this hotel for a city break or a trip to the arena. Car parking is close by, we used the Euro Car Park in Addington Street, £4.80 for 24 hours and is only a very short walk to the hotel from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Got the room booked for £68 for two od us including breakfast. Glad we booked early as not only were Girls Aloud in concert that night but Manchester United were playing in one of the European games, so when someone asked for a room they were told it was double the price.

The room was lovely. The shower is HUGE, the bed was very comfy.
The staff were very helpful, and when I asked if the vegetarian sausages at breakfast were gluten free, the lady I asked volunteered to find out and asked if there was anything else gluten free that I would like.

She then bought me some bread out so I could have toast. bonus!!

Room Tip: Book in advance and dont leave having breakfast until after 9am as it gets very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Sweetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here with my daughter to see One Direction at the Man Arena. It is a 10-15 minute walk to get there. There are some restaurants and, bars in the neighborhood. Across the square is a Spar supermarket, always handy for some soft drinks or something to eat in the evening. The rooms are clean and the staf is very friendly.
But when I arrived at 10 past 2, my room wasn't available yet. No problemo so I bought myself a beer and my daughter a juice.
It was also evident that 2 elevators for an almost sold out hotel wasn't enough. I'am not used waiting a couple a minutes for the elevator to arrive. Neither am I used to ask for a cup at the coffee self service because there weren't any cups left. And that they were out of croissants for almost 10 minutes, that was a problem for my daughter, not for me,,,,,
So, a nice hotel, nice people, nice rooms, but some loose ends that may irritate someone sometime.

Room Tip: Try the upper floor (8). Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy_Dune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we were in town for a football game. The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was spacious, we stayed in a double with a sofa. It was very nice that breakfast was included, plenty of selection: juice, coffee, pastries, eggs, sausage, beans, yogurt, cereal, fruit. It's about a 5 minute walk to the shopping mall. There are plenty of places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk. There is a bar in the hotel if you don't want to venture out. The staff was very nice and very helpful in directing us where we needed to go. We took the train and then the tram in from the airport for 5 pounds each and then a taxi back to the airport for 20 pounds. I would recommend this hotel and if we ever return to Manchester, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmaldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you for your great feedback on the hotel, I am delighted that you found us suitable for your visit to the football and that we are able to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing